A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

GeForce FX 5200 - SimCity 4?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 25th 03, 02:34 PM
Simon Howson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default GeForce FX 5200 - SimCity 4?

Hi,

I am looking to upgrade from an 64 MB All-In-Wonder 8500 DV, I have planning
to purchase a Digital Tuner card, so I no longer need an all in wonder type
card. I was considering getting an 128 MB Asus Geforce FX 5200 Video Suite.
However, I am wondering will this give me any better performance when
playing SimCity 4 Rush Hour? Does anyone play SimCity 4 Rush Hour with a
GeForce FX 5200 card? If so are you happy with the performance?
Unfortunately the Radeon 8500 suffers from slow scrolling, I am hoping to at
least get rid of this problem. I am looking at the 5200 because it is very
cheap, and considering I don't play many other games it looks like a good
choice value wise. I can't really justify spending much more than AUD$150
(US$80) on a new card.

Thank you,

Simon Howson


  #2  
Old November 25th 03, 07:23 PM
Dark Avenger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Simon Howson" wrote in message ...
Hi,

I am looking to upgrade from an 64 MB All-In-Wonder 8500 DV, I have planning
to purchase a Digital Tuner card, so I no longer need an all in wonder type
card. I was considering getting an 128 MB Asus Geforce FX 5200 Video Suite.
However, I am wondering will this give me any better performance when
playing SimCity 4 Rush Hour? Does anyone play SimCity 4 Rush Hour with a
GeForce FX 5200 card? If so are you happy with the performance?
Unfortunately the Radeon 8500 suffers from slow scrolling, I am hoping to at
least get rid of this problem. I am looking at the 5200 because it is very
cheap, and considering I don't play many other games it looks like a good
choice value wise. I can't really justify spending much more than AUD$150
(US$80) on a new card.

Thank you,

Simon Howson


May I blink for a few seconds *blink* *blink* *blink*

Mmm the question is yet up there... ah

Umm the FX5200 is damn slow! And I don't think you will get an
improvement in playing SimCity 4... maybe the 128Mb member allows up
to keep more of it in the graphic memory but that's all. The FX5200 is
fast like a 40 year old rusty bike with sport spoilers!
  #3  
Old November 25th 03, 09:43 PM
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

ps have you downloaded the latest patch? it speeded up considerably but
still not perfect

"Simon Howson" wrote in message
...
Hi,

I am looking to upgrade from an 64 MB All-In-Wonder 8500 DV, I have

planning
to purchase a Digital Tuner card, so I no longer need an all in wonder

type
card. I was considering getting an 128 MB Asus Geforce FX 5200 Video

Suite.
However, I am wondering will this give me any better performance when
playing SimCity 4 Rush Hour? Does anyone play SimCity 4 Rush Hour with a
GeForce FX 5200 card? If so are you happy with the performance?
Unfortunately the Radeon 8500 suffers from slow scrolling, I am hoping to

at
least get rid of this problem. I am looking at the 5200 because it is very
cheap, and considering I don't play many other games it looks like a good
choice value wise. I can't really justify spending much more than AUD$150
(US$80) on a new card.

Thank you,

Simon Howson




  #4  
Old November 26th 03, 02:51 AM
Slash
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Tue, 25 Nov 2003 21:42:47 -0000, "Paul"
scribbled:

im using a Ti4800 and still find when there's a lot on screen sim city 4
scrolls pretty slowly, probably bad game engine imo


SimCity 4 is an extraordinary CPU hog - how fast is the computer you
want to put the FX5200 into? The 8500 is a pretty decent card if you
stick to resolutions of 1024x768 or lower for most things, but if you
have a slower processing subsystem or small amount of memory (SC4 also
eats memory like some sort of crazy memory eating machine) it might
not make any difference whatsoever.

-Slash
--
"Ebert Victorious"
-The Onion
  #5  
Old November 26th 03, 09:07 AM
Dark Avenger
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Slash wrote in message . ..
On Tue, 25 Nov 2003 21:42:47 -0000, "Paul"
scribbled:

im using a Ti4800 and still find when there's a lot on screen sim city 4
scrolls pretty slowly, probably bad game engine imo


SimCity 4 is an extraordinary CPU hog - how fast is the computer you
want to put the FX5200 into? The 8500 is a pretty decent card if you
stick to resolutions of 1024x768 or lower for most things, but if you
have a slower processing subsystem or small amount of memory (SC4 also
eats memory like some sort of crazy memory eating machine) it might
not make any difference whatsoever.

-Slash


I had it running with 1 Gigabyte of Memory....and indeed, then yet it
isn't perfect. But my system is nice up to the job

- Asus P4S8X
- Intel Pentium 4, Ghz
- 1 Gb, PC3200
- Ati Radeon 9500 Pro ( then a Leadtek ti4800SE card )

So I didn't had much "scrollies" but going from far vision to a lower
level did take a second or two to do... it's just a heavy game!
  #6  
Old November 26th 03, 09:48 AM
Simon Howson
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Slash" wrote in message
...
On Tue, 25 Nov 2003 21:42:47 -0000, "Paul"
scribbled:

im using a Ti4800 and still find when there's a lot on screen sim city 4
scrolls pretty slowly, probably bad game engine imo


SimCity 4 is an extraordinary CPU hog - how fast is the computer you
want to put the FX5200 into? The 8500 is a pretty decent card if you
stick to resolutions of 1024x768 or lower for most things, but if you
have a slower processing subsystem or small amount of memory (SC4 also
eats memory like some sort of crazy memory eating machine) it might
not make any difference whatsoever.


The system is Athlon XP 2100 (266 DDR), 768 MB RAM.

So will a GeForce FX 5200 be any better than what I currently have?

Thanks,

Simon Howson


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance Comparison: Nvidia Fx 5200 or GeForce 4 Ti 4200 Falcon1209 General 13 October 30th 04 02:26 AM
P4S333 doesn't work with Geforce 5200 or any AGP x8 cards! Oded S. Asus Motherboards 3 December 8th 03 08:42 AM
Asus GeForce FX 5200 Video Suite - SimCity 4 Simon Howson Asus Motherboards 0 November 25th 03 02:47 PM
HELP!!! GEFORCE FX 5200 rob Nvidia Videocards 1 July 18th 03 02:32 PM
Radeon 9100 vs. Geforce FX 5200 Seth Ati Videocards 0 July 13th 03 04:46 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.