A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Shut down PC remotely



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 10th 03, 08:48 AM
vvian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Shut down PC remotely

Does anybody know how to shut down a PC (running win2k) remotely from
another PC (running win xp)?

Thank you very much!


  #2  
Old September 10th 03, 05:29 PM
Phrederik
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Send it the BLASTER virus! : )

Try looking in the help for the "SHUTDOWN" command, or enter "SHUTDOWN /?"
in a command prompt.

"vvian" wrote in message
...
Does anybody know how to shut down a PC (running win2k) remotely from
another PC (running win xp)?

Thank you very much!




  #3  
Old September 10th 03, 06:53 PM
Piotr Biela
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi vvian

Does anybody know how to shut down a PC (running win2k) remotely from
another PC (running win xp)?

Thank you very much!



Try:
- "Poweroff" tool from http://www.stefan-kuhr.de/poweroff/main.php3
- shutdown.exe, part of Windows 2000 Server ResourceKit
- Sysinternal's psshutdown.exe (www.sysinternals.com)
.....
- or www.google.com ))))

best regards
Piotr PABB Biela



  #4  
Old September 11th 03, 12:24 AM
Vanguard
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It's been too many years, but I remember a free utility called VNC that
let you remotely access a host. Since you can access the host remotely
then I would suspect you could run through the Start - Shutdown menu
(provided the popup window is still available to make the select to
Shutdown and execute it).

--
__________________________________________________ __________
** Share with others. Post replies in the newsgroup.
** If present, remove all "-nix" from my email address.
__________________________________________________ __________


  #5  
Old September 11th 03, 02:57 AM
BuDMaN
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Vanguard" wrote in news:3pO7b.312015
[email protected]:

It's been too many years, but I remember a free utility called VNC that
let you remotely access a host. Since you can access the host remotely
then I would suspect you could run through the Start - Shutdown menu
(provided the popup window is still available to make the select to
Shutdown and execute it).


I've installed this software last week and it's been working fine so far
(I haven't tried to shutdown yet though). Anyway, it's a good suggestion.

--
BuDMaN

E-Mail: budmanpe at yahoo dot com dot br
http://kbobr.tk (Banda Larga no Brasil)
  #6  
Old September 11th 03, 04:24 AM
vvian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you, Phrederik.

I tried it and it worked. I'm an idiot in pc network.

^.^... Thank you very much.

"Phrederik" 在郵件 news:zjI7b.3624$Y%[email protected]
中撰寫...
Send it the BLASTER virus! : )

Try looking in the help for the "SHUTDOWN" command, or enter "SHUTDOWN /?"
in a command prompt.

"vvian" wrote in message
...
Does anybody know how to shut down a PC (running win2k) remotely from
another PC (running win xp)?

Thank you very much!






  #7  
Old September 11th 03, 04:26 AM
vvian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you, Vanguard.

Since I am an idiot in managing pc network, I am afraid I don't know how to
use VNC and I am not going to install it.

But, anyway, thank you very much.

"Vanguard" 在郵件
news:[email protected] 中撰寫...
It's been too many years, but I remember a free utility called VNC that
let you remotely access a host. Since you can access the host remotely
then I would suspect you could run through the Start - Shutdown menu
(provided the popup window is still available to make the select to
Shutdown and execute it).

--
__________________________________________________ __________
** Share with others. Post replies in the newsgroup.
** If present, remove all "-nix" from my email address.
__________________________________________________ __________




  #8  
Old September 11th 03, 04:27 AM
vvian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you, Budman.

Since I am an idiot in managing pc network, I am afraid I don't know how to
use VNC and I am not going to install it.

But, anyway, thank you very much.


"BuDMaN" 在郵件
中撰寫...
"Vanguard" wrote in news:3pO7b.312015
[email protected]:

It's been too many years, but I remember a free utility called VNC that
let you remotely access a host. Since you can access the host remotely
then I would suspect you could run through the Start - Shutdown menu
(provided the popup window is still available to make the select to
Shutdown and execute it).


I've installed this software last week and it's been working fine so far
(I haven't tried to shutdown yet though). Anyway, it's a good suggestion.

--
BuDMaN

E-Mail: budmanpe at yahoo dot com dot br
http://kbobr.tk (Banda Larga no Brasil)



  #9  
Old September 12th 03, 01:25 AM
Cyde Weys
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

vvian wrote:
Does anybody know how to shut down a PC (running win2k) remotely from
another PC (running win xp)?

Thank you very much!



ssh in as root, then type the command "shutdown -h now"

Ohhhh wait, you said a Windows machine. Nevermind ...

 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.