A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Computers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Presario 5000 RAM



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 13th 04, 10:54 PM
Bob Levine
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Presario 5000 RAM

I've got a neighbor who owns a Presario 5000, model 5003US. I just
upgraded the machine to XP from ME with a clean install. Runs much
better now, but he also bought a 128 meg PNY memory module for it at
Staples to upgrade the RAM from 128 to 256.

When I installed it, the machine started to boot and got to about 160
megs and the monitor just lit up like a Christmas tree with all kinds of
funky colors. I thought maybe the RAM was no good so I had him return it
but the replacement is doing the same thing.

It's 128 megs of PC 133 RAM. Any clues as to what's wrong?

Bob
  #2  
Old October 14th 04, 02:34 AM
HH
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Bob,
The 5003US shupped with PC100 SyncDRAM and some Presarios are finicky about
using PC133, especially mixed with PC100. Never much cared for PNY memory
anyway. Most of the Memory-related issues we had with Presarios of that
period was with PNY memory. Almost never with Micron/Crucial, Samsung or
Corsair. Try:

http://www.crucial.com

HH

"Bob Levine" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
I've got a neighbor who owns a Presario 5000, model 5003US. I just
upgraded the machine to XP from ME with a clean install. Runs much better
now, but he also bought a 128 meg PNY memory module for it at Staples to
upgrade the RAM from 128 to 256.

When I installed it, the machine started to boot and got to about 160 megs
and the monitor just lit up like a Christmas tree with all kinds of funky
colors. I thought maybe the RAM was no good so I had him return it but the
replacement is doing the same thing.

It's 128 megs of PC 133 RAM. Any clues as to what's wrong?

Bob




  #3  
Old October 14th 04, 03:38 PM
Bob Levine
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

HH wrote:

Bob,
The 5003US shupped with PC100 SyncDRAM and some Presarios are finicky about
using PC133, especially mixed with PC100. Never much cared for PNY memory
anyway. Most of the Memory-related issues we had with Presarios of that
period was with PNY memory. Almost never with Micron/Crucial, Samsung or
Corsair. Try:

http://www.crucial.com


Kinda what I figured. It seems that the PNY 133 isn't backward
compatible for some reason.

Thanks for the feedback.

Bob
  #4  
Old October 18th 04, 11:44 PM
Lonely Planet Boy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I doubt it is the ram, usually incompatible ram won't boot at all...........

"Bob Levine" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
HH wrote:

Bob,
The 5003US shupped with PC100 SyncDRAM and some Presarios are finicky

about
using PC133, especially mixed with PC100. Never much cared for PNY

memory
anyway. Most of the Memory-related issues we had with Presarios of that
period was with PNY memory. Almost never with Micron/Crucial, Samsung or
Corsair. Try:

http://www.crucial.com


Kinda what I figured. It seems that the PNY 133 isn't backward
compatible for some reason.

Thanks for the feedback.

Bob



  #5  
Old October 22nd 04, 10:31 PM
Bob Levine
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Lonely Planet Boy wrote:

I doubt it is the ram, usually incompatible ram won't boot at all...........


It didn't boot. It got just past the 128 meg point in the POST and the
screen went haywire. I had my friend exchange it for PC100 RAM and it
runs great now.

Bob
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QUES: What is the difference between a Presario 5000 (5WV250) and a Presario 5000 (5002ca)? Homer Compaq Computers 1 August 23rd 04 10:26 AM
Presario 5000 modem for Win98 needed! AberTech Compaq Computers 11 August 16th 04 03:14 AM
Presario 5000 processor upgrade johnny Compaq Computers 2 January 28th 04 10:58 PM
driver video presario 5000 Skip Dj Compaq Computers 0 December 3rd 03 09:07 AM
Linux on a Presario 5000? donut Compaq Computers 0 August 13th 03 09:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.