A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

PSU missing 12v 4-pin connector 4 CPU power supply



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 15th 04, 10:26 AM
TJ Sackville-West
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default PSU missing 12v 4-pin connector 4 CPU power supply

Suggestions please to rig power for the square 4-pin 12v connection,
missing from the cabling from a CODEGEN 250X-1 250W PSU

Have an MSI KM3M-V mATX board which has the square JPW1 (4-pin 12v)
connector to power the CPU. 2x GND & 2x 12v pins showing.

I don't know why this ATX PSU unit which is only 4-5 years old doesn't
have the square pin for the CPU power supply. Maybe is too old and the
new generation of CPU need direct higher power supply that the 20-pin
socket can provide, but I'm only putting on a Sempron 2400 so I should
be able to tap off 12V from somewhere and run it in with the correct
male fitting.

Thanks
TJ
  #2  
Old December 15th 04, 10:50 AM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 15 Dec 2004 02:26:04 -0800, TJ Sackville-West wrote:

Suggestions please to rig power for the square 4-pin 12v connection,
missing from the cabling from a CODEGEN 250X-1 250W PSU


Get an adapter cable from Molex to the 12v connector.

Have an MSI KM3M-V mATX board which has the square JPW1 (4-pin 12v)
connector to power the CPU. 2x GND & 2x 12v pins showing.

I don't know why this ATX PSU unit which is only 4-5 years old doesn't
have the square pin for the CPU power supply. Maybe is too old and the
new generation of CPU need direct higher power supply that the 20-pin
socket can provide, but I'm only putting on a Sempron 2400 so I should
be able to tap off 12V from somewhere and run it in with the correct
male fitting.

The 4 pin 12v connector was introduced with the P4, after your PSu was
built. BTW, AMD recommends a 300W PSU minimum for the K7 line. But I've
run a couple on 250W nits.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
  #3  
Old December 15th 04, 11:36 AM
Adam
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


The 4 pin 12v connector was introduced with the P4, after your PSu was
built. BTW, AMD recommends a 300W PSU minimum for the K7 line. But I've
run a couple on 250W nits.


I was under the impression that the additional connector not only
provided more power but isolated power and ground planes for the CPU.

--adam
  #4  
Old December 15th 04, 02:35 PM
Noozer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"TJ Sackville-West" wrote in message
om...
Suggestions please to rig power for the square 4-pin 12v connection,
missing from the cabling from a CODEGEN 250X-1 250W PSU


I don't know why this ATX PSU unit which is only 4-5 years old doesn't


Mr Troll... 4-5 years makes it an antique as computer parts go.

If it is a 250watt PSU then it won't have enough juice to run the system
anyhow.

If you want a modern computer, bite the bullet and buy a modern PSU.


  #5  
Old December 15th 04, 03:03 PM
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 15 Dec 2004 11:36:06 GMT, Adam
wrote:


The 4 pin 12v connector was introduced with the P4, after your PSu was
built. BTW, AMD recommends a 300W PSU minimum for the K7 line. But I've
run a couple on 250W nits.


I was under the impression that the additional connector not only
provided more power but isolated power and ground planes for the CPU.

--adam



I don't think it isolates ground and power might depend on
the board. Some past boards would potentially run, albeit
with the potential for instability, with only the 20-pin
connector attached. Other boards won't, definitely must
have 12 in at the 4 pin connector.
  #7  
Old December 15th 04, 06:37 PM
Wes Newell
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 15 Dec 2004 11:36:06 +0000, Adam wrote:


The 4 pin 12v connector was introduced with the P4, after your PSu was
built. BTW, AMD recommends a 300W PSU minimum for the K7 line. But I've
run a couple on 250W nits.

I was under the impression that the additional connector not only
provided more power but isolated power and ground planes for the CPU.

What the board does with it depends on the board, but as far as the PSU is
concerned, it's just another 12v line coming from the same place as the
other 12v lines. Having the extra cinnector makes sure there's enough
copper for the load of the CPU.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm
  #8  
Old December 15th 04, 06:45 PM
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 15 Dec 2004 18:37:57 GMT, Wes Newell
wrote:

On Wed, 15 Dec 2004 11:36:06 +0000, Adam wrote:


The 4 pin 12v connector was introduced with the P4, after your PSu was
built. BTW, AMD recommends a 300W PSU minimum for the K7 line. But I've
run a couple on 250W nits.

I was under the impression that the additional connector not only
provided more power but isolated power and ground planes for the CPU.

What the board does with it depends on the board, but as far as the PSU is
concerned, it's just another 12v line coming from the same place as the
other 12v lines. Having the extra cinnector makes sure there's enough
copper for the load of the CPU.



True it's often just another lead from the same 12V rail
(ignoring newer split-rail designs) BUT with the switch to
ATX 2.03 some may also have shifted to more 12V current
bias. In other words, typical 200-250W PSU bought today
might be much more suitable for powering a (12V based VRM
circuit) than an old PSU.

Granted the label is "supposed" to help guide on in these
choices but then we're back to the same timless argument
about whether one can trust the label on any particular
generic power supply.
  #9  
Old December 19th 04, 11:05 PM
TJ
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the advice.I bought a 400W PSU. Started up OK first time

- Tuff Test lite shows all VGA OK - only problem is Windows 98 won't
boot from the drive I had before.

Tried another HDD and that won't boot either.

Even tried booting from the CD ROM to install Sus Linux 9 and that
seemed to go into a void too

Is there some kind of a test probgam I can download to run from either
CD or floppie to check the board in DOS?

Thanks

TJ








Wes Newell wrote:
On Wed, 15 Dec 2004 02:26:04 -0800, TJ Sackville-West wrote:

Suggestions please to rig power for the square 4-pin 12v

connection,
missing from the cabling from a CODEGEN 250X-1 250W PSU


Get an adapter cable from Molex to the 12v connector.

Have an MSI KM3M-V mATX board which has the square JPW1 (4-pin 12v)
connector to power the CPU. 2x GND & 2x 12v pins showing.

I don't know why this ATX PSU unit which is only 4-5 years old

doesn't
have the square pin for the CPU power supply. Maybe is too old and

the
new generation of CPU need direct higher power supply that the

20-pin
socket can provide, but I'm only putting on a Sempron 2400 so I

should
be able to tap off 12V from somewhere and run it in with the

correct
male fitting.

The 4 pin 12v connector was introduced with the P4, after your PSu

was
built. BTW, AMD recommends a 300W PSU minimum for the K7 line. But

I've
run a couple on 250W nits.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm


  #10  
Old December 20th 04, 01:58 AM
Trent©
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On 19 Dec 2004 15:05:31 -0800, "TJ" wrote:

Thanks for the advice.I bought a 400W PSU. Started up OK first time

- Tuff Test lite shows all VGA OK - only problem is Windows 98 won't
boot from the drive I had before.

Tried another HDD and that won't boot either.

Even tried booting from the CD ROM to install Sus Linux 9 and that
seemed to go into a void too

Is there some kind of a test probgam I can download to run from either
CD or floppie to check the board in DOS?

Thanks

TJ


Did you try booting into the BIOS?...or a 98 rescue disk? Check your
boot options in the BIOS.


Have a nice one...

Trent©

Follow Joan Rivers' example --- get pre-embalmed!
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help, please, with Compaq Presario power supply problem Jacques Clouseau General 6 June 9th 04 06:44 PM
power supply, or ...? ynotssor General 10 June 1st 04 01:19 AM
Computer doesnt start at all Robin General 6 January 11th 04 05:00 PM
How can I make motherboard to restart after power loss automatically? Amiran General 1 September 24th 03 11:35 PM
Power Supply on its way out? w_tom General 5 July 31st 03 03:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.