A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » System Manufacturers & Vendors » Compaq Servers
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

proliant 2500 and ATX psu



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 17th 04, 05:33 PM
Christer Solskogen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default proliant 2500 and ATX psu

I`ve got a proliant 2500, and it makes to much noise. Only ATX Psu is for
sale now. is there some kind of a hack that could be used to the proliant
will power on with a atx psu?


--
Med vennlig hilsen / Best regards
Christer Solskogen
http://dtz.cjb.net - http://carebears.mine.nu

"Cheap, but not as cheap as your girlfriend!"
-Spider Jerusalem


  #2  
Old January 17th 04, 10:52 PM
nut cracker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I wouldnt chance it...

Watch ebay.... they have lots of stuff for the old proliants.

LC

"Christer Solskogen" wrote in message
news[email protected] online.no...
I`ve got a proliant 2500, and it makes to much noise. Only ATX Psu is for
sale now. is there some kind of a hack that could be used to the proliant
will power on with a atx psu?


--
Med vennlig hilsen / Best regards
Christer Solskogen
http://dtz.cjb.net - http://carebears.mine.nu

"Cheap, but not as cheap as your girlfriend!"
-Spider Jerusalem




  #3  
Old January 18th 04, 11:23 AM
Christer Solskogen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 17 Jan 2004 16:52:43 -0600, nut cracker wrote:

I wouldnt chance it...

Watch ebay.... they have lots of stuff for the old proliants.


Got any tips, then? Like, how to get my proliant to not make so much fsck
noise?

--
Med Vennlig Hilsen / Best regards
Christer Solskogen
http://carebears.mine.nu/~solskogen

When you're up to your nose in ****,
be sure to keep your mouth shut.

  #4  
Old January 18th 04, 11:33 AM
Tony Bennett
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 17 Jan 2004 18:33:14 +0100, Christer Solskogen wrote:

I`ve got a proliant 2500, and it makes to much noise. Only ATX Psu is for
sale now. is there some kind of a hack that could be used to the proliant
will power on with a atx psu?

Theres a PSU fab and an internal fan. Get the specs of the fans and
replace with top quality silent ones- PABST? - again try EBAY

Tony
  #5  
Old January 18th 04, 05:36 PM
NuT CrAcKeR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

nawwww, thats a feature. if you cant hear it... you know it isnt working.

look for a "3-banger" RPS PSU for the 2500/1600 models. they are nice, and
should run you about $35 ~ 50 US on ebay.

Bear in mind, this auction is mislabled. This unit will not work in an
1850... (the actual pluggable modules will.. .but not the whole thing)....

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tegory=56 105
Buy it now for $40...

LC

"Christer Solskogen" wrote in message
news[email protected] online.no...
On Sat, 17 Jan 2004 16:52:43 -0600, nut cracker wrote:

I wouldnt chance it...

Watch ebay.... they have lots of stuff for the old proliants.


Got any tips, then? Like, how to get my proliant to not make so much fsck
noise?

--
Med Vennlig Hilsen / Best regards
Christer Solskogen
http://carebears.mine.nu/~solskogen

When you're up to your nose in ****,
be sure to keep your mouth shut.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.