A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

IDE port for 3 devices



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 11th 06, 07:57 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default IDE port for 3 devices

Hi there, I just bought a Seagate IDE 400G hard drive and wanted to use

it as my second hard drive. My Dell desktop already has a SATA hard
drive. Unfortunately after I bought this hard drive, I found out that
my system board only has 1 IDE port which has already been used up for
2 device: a DVD ROM and a DVD burner. So now my question is:

1. can I use an IDE hard drive together with a SATA hard drive all
togther?
2. Can I try to get a IDE interface cable that has 3 connectors (1
master, 2 slaves) for connecting my IDE hard drive, in addition to the
2 DVD drives? I searched google, in one occasion (Years 1999 post) that

1 IDE port can only connect up to 2 devices, is that still true now? I
called DELL support, the guy said I can use this configuration, but I
am not sure if he really knows this.
3. If I can use such a cable, where can I buy it? My 2 DVD drive is on
the top on the computer, and the hard drive is at the bottom of the
computer, so I need a cable that is extened quite a bit on the 3rd
connector.
4. My system board does has a floppy drive port which looks like an IDE

port, can someone know for sure a floppy drive is an IDE port which I
can use to hook up my hard drive?


If I know this cause so many problem, I would have bought a SATA drive
instead. really ****ed off

  #2  
Old September 11th 06, 08:03 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,559
Default IDE port for 3 devices

wrote:

I just bought a Seagate IDE 400G hard drive and wanted to use


it as my second hard drive. My Dell desktop already has a SATA
hard drive. Unfortunately after I bought this hard drive, I found out that
my system board only has 1 IDE port which has already been used up
for 2 device: a DVD ROM and a DVD burner. So now my question is:


Do you really need the DVD ROM anymore ?

1. can I use an IDE hard drive together with a SATA hard drive all togther?


Yes, you can get IDE to SATA converters and put it on a SATA port.

2. Can I try to get a IDE interface cable that has 3 connectors (1 master,
2 slaves) for connecting my IDE hard drive, in addition to the 2 DVD drives?


Nope, one ribbon cable can only handle 1 or 2 drives.

I searched google, in one occasion (Years 1999 post) that 1 IDE
port can only connect up to 2 devices, is that still true now?


Yes.

I called DELL support, the guy said I can use this
configuration, but I am not sure if he really knows this.


Yeah, he didnt understand what you want to do.

3. If I can use such a cable, where can I buy it?


No such animal.

My 2 DVD drive is on the top on the computer, and the
hard drive is at the bottom of the computer, so I need
a cable that is extened quite a bit on the 3rd connector.


4. My system board does has a floppy
drive port which looks like an IDE port,


Unlikely, the ribbon cable should be narrower, less wires.

can someone know for sure a floppy drive is an
IDE port which I can use to hook up my hard drive?


Count the wires in the ribbon cable.

If I know this cause so many problem, I would
have bought a SATA drive instead. really ****ed off


Yeah, a SATA drive would have been much better.


  #3  
Old September 11th 06, 08:35 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,418
Default IDE port for 3 devices


wrote:
Hi there, I just bought a Seagate IDE 400G hard drive and wanted to use

it as my second hard drive. My Dell desktop already has a SATA hard
drive. Unfortunately after I bought this hard drive, I found out that
my system board only has 1 IDE port which has already been used up for
2 device: a DVD ROM and a DVD burner. So now my question is:

1. can I use an IDE hard drive together with a SATA hard drive all
togther?


Yes

2. Can I try to get a IDE interface cable that has 3 connectors (1
master, 2 slaves) for connecting my IDE hard drive, in addition to the
2 DVD drives? I searched google, in one occasion (Years 1999 post) that

1 IDE port can only connect up to 2 devices, is that still true now? I
called DELL support, the guy said I can use this configuration, but I
am not sure if he really knows this.


You get 1 master, and 1 slave on IDE. Thats ALL. SCSI is a different
story.

3. If I can use such a cable, where can I buy it? My 2 DVD drive is on
the top on the computer, and the hard drive is at the bottom of the
computer, so I need a cable that is extened quite a bit on the 3rd
connector.


You can make one, but it won't work. If you need more IDE devices, get
a hard drive controller that plugs into a free PCI slot. Promise makes
them.


4. My system board does has a floppy drive port which looks like an IDE

port, can someone know for sure a floppy drive is an IDE port which I
can use to hook up my hard drive?


No. It's NOT an IDE port.


If I know this cause so many problem, I would have bought a SATA drive
instead. really ****ed off


  #4  
Old September 11th 06, 08:40 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default IDE port for 3 devices


1. can I use an IDE hard drive together with a SATA hard drive all togther?


Yes, you can get IDE to SATA converters and put it on a SATA port.

Thanks for the suggestion. where can I get this converters?

  #5  
Old September 11th 06, 09:14 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
GlowingBlueMist
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 99
Default IDE port for 3 devices

wrote:
1. can I use an IDE hard drive together with a SATA hard drive all
togther?


Yes, you can get IDE to SATA converters and put it on a SATA port.

Thanks for the suggestion. where can I get this converters?


A short Google search using "ide sata adaptor" minus the quotes will give
you more than you care to read about.

Here are a couple of links, not that I have purchased anything from them.

http://froogle.google.com/froogle?q=...oogle&ct=title

http://www.coolerexpress.com/iwparatatose.html

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=SIL3611&cat=CBL

Another thought would be to purchase one of those external USB\IDE cases and
put the drive in that.

Last but not least would be a IDE interface card that would plug into an
empty slot (if any) and would drive one or two IDE devices. They can be had
for about the same price as the IDE/SATA adaptors.


  #6  
Old September 11th 06, 09:40 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,418
Default IDE port for 3 devices


wrote:
1. can I use an IDE hard drive together with a SATA hard drive all togther?


Yes, you can get IDE to SATA converters and put it on a SATA port.

Thanks for the suggestion. where can I get this converters?


If you have any free PCI slots, an IDE controllor would be better.

http://www.promise.com/product/produ...roduct_i d=87

An External USB enclosure would also work just fine, as metioned.

A SATA to IDE converter is a hit and miss kind of a deal. Since the
SATA spec does not require implementation of certian Legacy IDE
functions.

You should be able to pick up the IDE controller or usb enclosure
locally.

  #7  
Old September 11th 06, 10:01 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Rod Speed
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8,559
Default IDE port for 3 devices

wrote
wrote

1. can I use an IDE hard drive together with a SATA hard drive all togther?


Yes, you can get IDE to SATA converters and put it on a SATA port.


Thanks for the suggestion. where can I get this converters?


If you have any free PCI slots, an IDE controllor would be better.


http://www.promise.com/product/produ...roduct_i d=87

Dunno, he may not have that many PCI slots.

An External USB enclosure would also work just fine, as metioned.


Few of those have decent cooling, so its not great for the drive.

A SATA to IDE converter is a hit and miss kind of a deal. Since the SATA
spec does not require implementation of certian Legacy IDE functions.


You should be able to pick up the IDE controller or usb enclosure locally.



  #8  
Old September 12th 06, 12:52 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Noozer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 450
Default IDE port for 3 devices


wrote in message
oups.com...
Hi there, I just bought a Seagate IDE 400G hard drive and wanted to use

it as my second hard drive. My Dell desktop already has a SATA hard
drive. Unfortunately after I bought this hard drive, I found out that
my system board only has 1 IDE port which has already been used up for
2 device: a DVD ROM and a DVD burner. So now my question is:


Best solution, return the 400gig drive and get the SATA version. (assuming
you have a free SATA port) Remember that with SATA it's only one drive per
port.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS PRINTER PARTS trays fusers drums printheads -- oki fujitsu hp genicom epson ibm dec jetdirect laserjet lexnmark qms okidata ml320 mannesmann tally printonix tektronix qms toshiba zebra otc ibm lexmark intermec dec compaq montreal canada toronto o [email protected] Printers 2 May 8th 05 09:58 PM
FS PRINTER PARTS trays fusers drums printheads -- oki fujitsu hp genicom epson ibm dec jetdirect laserjet lexnmark qms okidata ml320 mannesmann tally printonix tektronix qms toshiba zebra otc ibm lexmark intermec dec compaq montreal canada toronto o [email protected] Printers 1 March 15th 05 05:50 AM
Is this decent? 1411 Homebuilt PC's 5 February 25th 05 08:19 PM
I think my FX5200 is damaged...........any way to verify? Dunny Rummy Nvidia Videocards 4 October 28th 03 04:50 PM
Can I uninstall ALL device drivers? Upgrade problem... Joanna Compaq Computers 2 September 26th 03 05:39 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.