A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Difference between Intel CPUs



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 11th 04, 05:05 AM
Bad Bubba
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Difference between Intel CPUs

I finally setteled on an ASUS motherboard with an Intel chipset and now
I'm trying to figure out which CPU to get.

I already have four 512MB PC3200 DDR chips for two gigs of RAM which I
believe will work with the ASUS motherboard:

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...eluxe&langs=01

So, should I get a 533Mhz CPU to match the memory speed? How exactly do
you match memory with an Intel CPU?

Thanks for any insight.

  #2  
Old October 11th 04, 07:59 AM
BigJIm
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

well that is 400 mhz ram so the you could get a 800 mhz chip
the question is what board did you purchase?

"Bad Bubba" wrote in message
. com...
I finally setteled on an ASUS motherboard with an Intel chipset and now
I'm trying to figure out which CPU to get.

I already have four 512MB PC3200 DDR chips for two gigs of RAM which I
believe will work with the ASUS motherboard:

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...eluxe&langs=01

So, should I get a 533Mhz CPU to match the memory speed? How exactly do
you match memory with an Intel CPU?

Thanks for any insight.



  #4  
Old October 12th 04, 05:21 AM
BigJIm
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yea that memory will work with that board using a 800 mhz chip
check out the pricing here www.pricewatch.com

"Bad Bubba" wrote in message
. com...
I finally setteled on an ASUS motherboard with an Intel chipset and now
I'm trying to figure out which CPU to get.

I already have four 512MB PC3200 DDR chips for two gigs of RAM which I
believe will work with the ASUS motherboard:

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...eluxe&langs=01

So, should I get a 533Mhz CPU to match the memory speed? How exactly do
you match memory with an Intel CPU?

Thanks for any insight.



  #5  
Old October 12th 04, 01:39 PM
Mike Kirkland
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 11 Oct 2004 06:59:03 GMT, "BigJIm"
wrote:

well that is 400 mhz ram so the you could get a 800 mhz chip
the question is what board did you purchase?


Actually, it is 200mhz ram double pumped and the cpu is 200mhz quad
pumped. ;-)

  #6  
Old October 12th 04, 01:46 PM
JK
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Forget about Intel. Buy an Athlon 64 instead. Many of those who buy a
32 bit processor in '04 will probably in '05 regret that they didn't buy
a 64 bit processor instead when great 64 bit software is released.

Bad Bubba wrote:

I finally setteled on an ASUS motherboard with an Intel chipset and now
I'm trying to figure out which CPU to get.

I already have four 512MB PC3200 DDR chips for two gigs of RAM which I
believe will work with the ASUS motherboard:

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...eluxe&langs=01

So, should I get a 533Mhz CPU to match the memory speed? How exactly do
you match memory with an Intel CPU?

Thanks for any insight.


  #7  
Old October 12th 04, 02:24 PM
Bad Bubba
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am doing Video processing and I had an opportunity to test a friends
Athlon 64 3200+ against a P4 2.8GHz and doing MPG2 encoding the P4 won
hands down.

I've always been an AMD guy and I'll continue to use them in my other
computers, but for my video editing machine, it looks like P4 is the
best way to go.

In article , says...
Forget about Intel. Buy an Athlon 64 instead. Many of those who buy a
32 bit processor in '04 will probably in '05 regret that they didn't buy
a 64 bit processor instead when great 64 bit software is released.

Bad Bubba wrote:

I finally setteled on an ASUS motherboard with an Intel chipset and now
I'm trying to figure out which CPU to get.

I already have four 512MB PC3200 DDR chips for two gigs of RAM which I
believe will work with the ASUS motherboard:

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...eluxe&langs=01

So, should I get a 533Mhz CPU to match the memory speed? How exactly do
you match memory with an Intel CPU?

Thanks for any insight.


  #8  
Old October 12th 04, 02:34 PM
Bad Bubba
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks. Using Pricewatch, I found:

http://www.starmicro.net/detail.aspx?ID=511

They've got 75% positive feedback which I read through. Has anyone here
dealt with them?

Is this the right CPU? It's in my price range.


In article [email protected]_s01,
says...
yea that memory will work with that board using a 800 mhz chip
check out the pricing here
www.pricewatch.com

"Bad Bubba" wrote in message
. com...
I finally setteled on an ASUS motherboard with an Intel chipset and now
I'm trying to figure out which CPU to get.

I already have four 512MB PC3200 DDR chips for two gigs of RAM which I
believe will work with the ASUS motherboard:

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...eluxe&langs=01

So, should I get a 533Mhz CPU to match the memory speed? How exactly do
you match memory with an Intel CPU?

Thanks for any insight.


  #9  
Old October 12th 04, 03:41 PM
JK
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



Bad Bubba wrote:

I am doing Video processing and I had an opportunity to test a friends
Athlon 64 3200+ against a P4 2.8GHz and doing MPG2 encoding the P4 won
hands down.


I guess you didn't use 64 bit software on the Athlon 64?



I've always been an AMD guy and I'll continue to use them in my other
computers, but for my video editing machine, it looks like P4 is the
best way to go.


Probably not if 64 bit software is used on an Athlon 64.



In article , says...
Forget about Intel. Buy an Athlon 64 instead. Many of those who buy a
32 bit processor in '04 will probably in '05 regret that they didn't buy
a 64 bit processor instead when great 64 bit software is released.

Bad Bubba wrote:

I finally setteled on an ASUS motherboard with an Intel chipset and now
I'm trying to figure out which CPU to get.

I already have four 512MB PC3200 DDR chips for two gigs of RAM which I
believe will work with the ASUS motherboard:

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...eluxe&langs=01

So, should I get a 533Mhz CPU to match the memory speed? How exactly do
you match memory with an Intel CPU?

Thanks for any insight.


  #10  
Old October 12th 04, 05:38 PM
Bad Bubba
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Do you work for AMD or something?

The amount of available 64-bit software is next to nothing comparitively
speaking. And I am using off-the-shelf Adobe, Ulead and Pinnacle
software.

I am not interested in buying a chip that would require me to buy
"special software" just to use it. I want something that works with all
of my existing software.

I'm not saying the Athlon 64 is bad, but it just does not provide enough
performance for my needs with my EXISTING software. I'm sure that will
change in a year or two.

In article , says...


Bad Bubba wrote:

I am doing Video processing and I had an opportunity to test a friends
Athlon 64 3200+ against a P4 2.8GHz and doing MPG2 encoding the P4 won
hands down.


I guess you didn't use 64 bit software on the Athlon 64?



I've always been an AMD guy and I'll continue to use them in my other
computers, but for my video editing machine, it looks like P4 is the
best way to go.


Probably not if 64 bit software is used on an Athlon 64.



In article ,
says...
Forget about Intel. Buy an Athlon 64 instead. Many of those who buy a
32 bit processor in '04 will probably in '05 regret that they didn't buy
a 64 bit processor instead when great 64 bit software is released.

Bad Bubba wrote:

I finally setteled on an ASUS motherboard with an Intel chipset and now
I'm trying to figure out which CPU to get.

I already have four 512MB PC3200 DDR chips for two gigs of RAM which I
believe will work with the ASUS motherboard:

http://www.asus.com/prog/spec.asp?m=...eluxe&langs=01

So, should I get a 533Mhz CPU to match the memory speed? How exactly do
you match memory with an Intel CPU?

Thanks for any insight.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ghost speed differerent in AMD & Intel Zotin Khuma General 7 November 17th 04 07:56 AM
400FSB Intel CPUs Malcolm Homebuilt PC's 1 July 24th 04 07:00 PM
Re : Is there really a difference in Intel and AMD approved power supplies larrymoencurly Homebuilt PC's 0 May 29th 04 04:13 AM
Which is better: AMD Athlon XP 1800+ or Intel Pentium 2 GHz? Pccomputerdr Homebuilt PC's 7 October 5th 03 05:46 PM
Do you happen to know Intel roadmap for CPUs? online General 3 July 10th 03 01:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.