A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Apple Cinema Display and BFG 6800 - minor problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 26th 04, 09:45 PM
Marton Anka
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Apple Cinema Display and BFG 6800 - minor problem

Hello,

I asked about the possibility of using a 23" cinema display with a 6800 card
a few weeks ago and got many responses. (Thanks everyone!)

I took the plunge, and bought a 23" Apple display and a BFG 6800 card (not
Ultra, not GT, just a 128MB regular one - this was all that I could find in
the area).

It's gorgeous. I love it.

However, there's one minor snag: the card has a VGA and a DVI output. The
display is hooked up to DVI, for obvious reasons. When I booted Windows, I
got the BIOS screen and the XP boot on my old VGA screen only, nothing on
the Apple. (In the office I use two identical 19" Sonys on some ATI card,
one on the VGA port and one on DVI, and both BIOS and the Windows boot
process appears on both, right until the system actually boots and
"separates" the two displays.)

So it appears that I can't really get rid of the old VGA display. Sort of a
bummer, as it's a huge 21" CRT, and I don't really have room for both of
them on my desk.

It appears that the BFG's firmware insists on using only the VGA connector
as the primary display (BIOS, etc) and only makes use of the DVI output when
a driver actually forces it to.

I tend to think that the problem is with the card - but if I got a "proper"
6800 (2 DVI outs), would that solve my problem? Anyone out there using an
Apple as the primary monitor, and seeing the BIOS screen?

Has anyone seen (and maybe solved) this? (I'm thinking maybe a firmware
update?) I'm borrowing a 19" LCD that I can hook up to the VGA port until
this is resolved... The Apple is absolutely beautiful, but without being
able to see things like a BIOS screen, a DOS floppy boot, etc - it just
cannot be my only monitor.

TIA!

-Marton


  #2  
Old August 27th 04, 06:53 AM
GTX_SlotCar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

got the BIOS screen and the XP boot on my old VGA screen only, nothing on
the Apple. (In the office I use two identical 19" Sonys on some ATI card,


Have you tried disconnecting the vga monitor altogether to see if it will
default to the dvi on boot?

Gary


--

Tweaks & Reviews
www.slottweak.com


  #3  
Old August 27th 04, 11:01 AM
Marton Anka
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes I have. Disconnected, powered down, powered up.

I'm pretty sure that the card is the culprit, but wouldn't mind getting some
confirmation on this.

-M


  #4  
Old August 27th 04, 03:38 PM
Chip
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Marton Anka" marton at 03am dot com wrote in message
...
Hello,

I asked about the possibility of using a 23" cinema display with a 6800

card
a few weeks ago and got many responses. (Thanks everyone!)

I took the plunge, and bought a 23" Apple display and a BFG 6800 card (not
Ultra, not GT, just a 128MB regular one - this was all that I could find

in
the area).

It's gorgeous. I love it.

However, there's one minor snag: the card has a VGA and a DVI output. The
display is hooked up to DVI, for obvious reasons. When I booted Windows, I
got the BIOS screen and the XP boot on my old VGA screen only, nothing on
the Apple. (In the office I use two identical 19" Sonys on some ATI card,
one on the VGA port and one on DVI, and both BIOS and the Windows boot
process appears on both, right until the system actually boots and
"separates" the two displays.)

So it appears that I can't really get rid of the old VGA display. Sort of

a
bummer, as it's a huge 21" CRT, and I don't really have room for both of
them on my desk.

It appears that the BFG's firmware insists on using only the VGA connector
as the primary display (BIOS, etc) and only makes use of the DVI output

when
a driver actually forces it to.

I tend to think that the problem is with the card - but if I got a

"proper"
6800 (2 DVI outs), would that solve my problem? Anyone out there using an
Apple as the primary monitor, and seeing the BIOS screen?

Has anyone seen (and maybe solved) this? (I'm thinking maybe a firmware
update?) I'm borrowing a 19" LCD that I can hook up to the VGA port until
this is resolved... The Apple is absolutely beautiful, but without being
able to see things like a BIOS screen, a DOS floppy boot, etc - it just
cannot be my only monitor.

TIA!

-Marton


I think this is a known problem. Not sure of any solutions however...

http://tinyurl.com/45ara

Chip


  #5  
Old August 27th 04, 09:06 PM
GTX_SlotCar
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Does the borrowed LCD monitor show boot on the dvi?

Gary

--
Tweaks & Reviews
www.slottweak.com


"Marton Anka" marton at 03am dot com wrote in message
...
Yes I have. Disconnected, powered down, powered up.

I'm pretty sure that the card is the culprit, but wouldn't mind getting

some
confirmation on this.

-M




  #6  
Old August 28th 04, 10:59 PM
Marton Anka
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"GTX_SlotCar" wrote in message
...
Does the borrowed LCD monitor show boot on the dvi?


Gary - no, it does not. So it IS the card after all.

Looks like I'm going to have to try it with an Ultra, or any card that that
has dual DVI outs, and hook the monitor up to the primary DVI connector.

-Marton


  #7  
Old August 28th 04, 11:00 PM
Marton Anka
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Chip" wrote in message
...

I think this is a known problem. Not sure of any solutions however...

http://tinyurl.com/45ara


Chip,

Thanks for the link. The guy is having the exact same problems. The solution
would be to get a card with dual DVI outs....

-Marton


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.