A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

GFX card shot to hell



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 8th 03, 01:45 PM
TomG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default GFX card shot to hell

the bad caps are affecting everything from TV's and VCR's to power supplies
and motherboards. I even heard about them in microwaves!

--

Thomas Geery
Network+ certified

ftp://geerynet.d2g.com
ftp://68.98.180.8 Abit Mirror ----- Cable modem IP
This IP is dynamic so it *could* change!...
over 115,000 FTP users served!
^^^^^^^




"Khayman" wrote in message
...
This is the second time it happens to me - crappy capacitators causing big
holes in my wallet...

Yesterday, me and my she was looking at "Gone in 60 Seconds" when all of a
sudden the film disappears - and my she notices a wierd smell coming from
the computer...
Taking it out I notice that one of the caps have "popped" - that what you
get for buying cheap graphic cards I suppose...
For once I kept the receipt (company money) - and guess when I bought the
godforsaken card? August 26, 2002.
One year warranty - two weeks overtime... Would the shop replace the card
for good PR? No fscking way.

New Geforce4Ti4200 in hand and I notice that Daytona apparently changed
manufacturer of the capacitators - from unknown, ungoogable "Canicon" to
"Rubycon"..
I wonder why....

So, if you happen to have some card/device/whatever which
is about to go out of warranty, check those capacitators!!
I've heard rumors that if you give a faulty cap a little bit too much

power,
they'll pop like a small firecracker - could be good to know...

(Last year it was a MSI motherboard that went "pop"... (pictures at my
http://mypostingip/mainboard.html))

Khay.




  #2  
Old September 8th 03, 02:02 PM
chainbreaker
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Khayman wrote:

(Last year it was a MSI motherboard that went "pop"... (pictures at my
http://mypostingip/mainboard.html))

Khay.


Dead link.

--
chainbreaker

If you need to email, then chainbreaker (naturally) at comcast dot
net--that's "net" not "com"--should do it.


  #3  
Old September 8th 03, 04:25 PM
Mangyrat
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

and the year befor that it was abit be6 2 ver 2.0 boards with bad caps.
well caps can be replaced. a guy in abit new's groups will replace them for
around $50 i think his name was homie or somthing like that. cant hurt to
hunt him down and ask if he will do a video card. he was chargeing around
$50 to do a motherboard so a videocard shuld be cheaper.

--
If life is a bitch then live it like she is drunk and naked.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
FIGHT BACK AGAINST SPAM!
Download Spam Inspector, the Award Winning Anti-Spam Filter
http://mail.giantcompany.com


"chainbreaker" wrote in message
...
Khayman wrote:

(Last year it was a MSI motherboard that went "pop"... (pictures at my
http://mypostingip/mainboard.html))

Khay.


Dead link.

--
chainbreaker

If you need to email, then chainbreaker (naturally) at comcast dot
net--that's "net" not "com"--should do it.




  #4  
Old September 8th 03, 05:50 PM
TomG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


--
Homie and BigBadger repair boards and have many happy
customers:


Homie (AKA Capman), in the US, at:

http://home.att.net/~garyheadlee/


(look for posts from BigBadger if you're in the UK or try him at
with the obvious
spam protection removed...)



--

Thomas Geery
Network+ certified

ftp://geerynet.d2g.com
ftp://68.98.180.8 Abit Mirror ----- Cable modem IP
This IP is dynamic so it *could* change!...
over 115,000 FTP users served!
^^^^^^^




"Mangyrat" wrote in message
...
and the year befor that it was abit be6 2 ver 2.0 boards with bad caps.
well caps can be replaced. a guy in abit new's groups will replace them

for
around $50 i think his name was homie or somthing like that. cant hurt to
hunt him down and ask if he will do a video card. he was chargeing around
$50 to do a motherboard so a videocard shuld be cheaper.

--
If life is a bitch then live it like she is drunk and naked.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
FIGHT BACK AGAINST SPAM!
Download Spam Inspector, the Award Winning Anti-Spam Filter
http://mail.giantcompany.com


"chainbreaker" wrote in message
...
Khayman wrote:

(Last year it was a MSI motherboard that went "pop"... (pictures at my
http://mypostingip/mainboard.html))

Khay.


Dead link.

--
chainbreaker

If you need to email, then chainbreaker (naturally) at comcast dot
net--that's "net" not "com"--should do it.






  #5  
Old September 8th 03, 06:04 PM
Mangyrat
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

homie will do video cards. here is his new page link

http://www.motherboardrepair.com/ind...?sec=videocard

--
If life is a bitch then live it like she is drunk and naked.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
FIGHT BACK AGAINST SPAM!
Download Spam Inspector, the Award Winning Anti-Spam Filter
http://mail.giantcompany.com


"Khayman" wrote in message
...
This is the second time it happens to me - crappy capacitators causing big
holes in my wallet...

Yesterday, me and my she was looking at "Gone in 60 Seconds" when all of a
sudden the film disappears - and my she notices a wierd smell coming from
the computer...
Taking it out I notice that one of the caps have "popped" - that what you
get for buying cheap graphic cards I suppose...
For once I kept the receipt (company money) - and guess when I bought the
godforsaken card? August 26, 2002.
One year warranty - two weeks overtime... Would the shop replace the card
for good PR? No fscking way.

New Geforce4Ti4200 in hand and I notice that Daytona apparently changed
manufacturer of the capacitators - from unknown, ungoogable "Canicon" to
"Rubycon"..
I wonder why....

So, if you happen to have some card/device/whatever which
is about to go out of warranty, check those capacitators!!
I've heard rumors that if you give a faulty cap a little bit too much

power,
they'll pop like a small firecracker - could be good to know...

(Last year it was a MSI motherboard that went "pop"... (pictures at my
http://mypostingip/mainboard.html))

Khay.




  #6  
Old September 8th 03, 07:13 PM
Cory Dunkle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Why not try soldering a new one on? If that works (i.e. no permanent damage
to card) then you may want to replace the rest. A soldering iron and fine
tip should cost $25 or less if you don't go with ultra-high quality stuff.
Should be able to get everything you need at Radio Shack. Soldering is a
good skill to have if you enjoy computers as a hobby. Lots of fun and
practical things you can do.

You could also complain to the card manufacturer and see if they will
replace it... Worth a try, and more likely to succeed that complaining to
the store you bought it from.

Cory

"Khayman" wrote in message
...
This is the second time it happens to me - crappy capacitators causing big
holes in my wallet...

Yesterday, me and my she was looking at "Gone in 60 Seconds" when all of a
sudden the film disappears - and my she notices a wierd smell coming from
the computer...
Taking it out I notice that one of the caps have "popped" - that what you
get for buying cheap graphic cards I suppose...
For once I kept the receipt (company money) - and guess when I bought the
godforsaken card? August 26, 2002.
One year warranty - two weeks overtime... Would the shop replace the card
for good PR? No fscking way.

New Geforce4Ti4200 in hand and I notice that Daytona apparently changed
manufacturer of the capacitators - from unknown, ungoogable "Canicon" to
"Rubycon"..
I wonder why....

So, if you happen to have some card/device/whatever which
is about to go out of warranty, check those capacitators!!
I've heard rumors that if you give a faulty cap a little bit too much

power,
they'll pop like a small firecracker - could be good to know...

(Last year it was a MSI motherboard that went "pop"... (pictures at my
http://mypostingip/mainboard.html))

Khay.




  #7  
Old September 8th 03, 07:38 PM
TomG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

oh, trust me. I am more than familiar with the story. I wonder, though, if
it is only the Taiwan caps, why are Sony TV's affected? maybe those are
made in foreign locations or with foreign (to Japan) components

--

Thomas Geery
Network+ certified

ftp://geerynet.d2g.com
ftp://68.98.180.8 Abit Mirror ----- Cable modem IP
This IP is dynamic so it *could* change!...
over 115,000 FTP users served!
^^^^^^^




"Cyber Chum" wrote in message
...
On Mon, 8 Sep 2003 08:45:54 -0400, "TomG"
wrote:

the bad caps are affecting everything from TV's and VCR's to power

supplies
and motherboards. I even heard about them in microwaves!


Only the capacitors made in Taiwan though and not ones from Japan.
Look up the story as to why there are bad capacitors on the market.
Some dickhead was up to no good and got burned by it.



  #8  
Old September 8th 03, 07:50 PM
ho alexandre
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

chainbreaker wrote:
http://mypostingip/mainboard.html))


Dead link.


haha, some Dilbert humour


--
XandreX
/I'm that kind of people your parents warned you about/

  #9  
Old September 8th 03, 11:40 PM
J.Clarke
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 08 Sep 2003 10:45:58 -0700
Cyber Chum wrote:

On Mon, 8 Sep 2003 11:25:19 -0400, "Mangyrat"
wrote:

and the year befor that it was abit be6 2 ver 2.0 boards with bad
caps. well caps can be replaced. a guy in abit new's groups will
replace them for around $50 i think his name was homie or somthing
like that. cant hurt to hunt him down and ask if he will do a video
card. he was chargeing around$50 to do a motherboard so a videocard
shuld be cheaper.


Why should people have to pay for faulty capacitors? There should be a
class action lawsuit over this and anyone that has an electronics item
fail due to a faulty capacitor from Taiwan should immediately get a
refund or exchange, out of warranty or not.


Why don't you start one. Now, in what court are you going to sue and
who are you going to sue?


--
--
--John
Reply to jclarke at ae tee tee global dot net
(was jclarke at eye bee em dot net)
  #10  
Old September 9th 03, 07:32 AM
Khayman
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Mangyrat wrote:
and the year befor that it was abit be6 2 ver 2.0 boards with bad
caps. well caps can be replaced. a guy in abit new's groups will
replace them for around $50 i think his name was homie or somthing
like that. cant hurt to hunt him down and ask if he will do a video
card. he was chargeing around $50 to do a motherboard so a videocard
shuld be cheaper.


Yeah, I know about him (and others like him), however I'm in Sweden - to
ship the card, let him fix it and ship it back would be more than a new
card.. :-(
And, there is some other component next to the capacitator which seems a
little bit "scorched" - and that one has *alot* of little solderings under
it...

Khay.



 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spare SCSI card, question about compatability upgrdman Homebuilt PC's 4 October 28th 04 08:47 PM
PCI PVR card for use with Dish Network DBS? Dave C. Homebuilt PC's 4 June 21st 04 07:03 PM
Bootabe Compact Flash Card on USB ... Possible on the P4C800E-Deluxe kda Asus Motherboards 0 January 28th 04 07:06 PM
Video card for Asus CUSL2 Kamal Asus Motherboards 2 January 28th 04 06:03 PM
Is my NVIDIA video card shot - or is there hope? Need advice. Skulking Rogue Nvidia Videocards 3 June 26th 03 08:06 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.