A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Refresh Rate problem when in some "OpenGL" Game!! Please help...



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 11th 03, 02:07 PM
TORN
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Refresh Rate problem when in some "OpenGL" Game!! Please help...

Hi all,
why when i play some OpenGL game , (Like Quake3, Star Wars Jedi Knight -
Jedi Academy,Call of Duty Single Player Demo,) the Refresh Rate will no stay
at "85hertz" ( look like 60or 70, because the display only look best at 85
due to my setting on the monitor. and when go in to the game, the picture
can't display all in the view area!!) even i set all res to 85 in the nvidia
"Refresh Rate override" the problem still there.
any there are not any Refresh Rate problem when play any "D3d" game like:
Enclav,SplinterCell, MidNightClub2,NFS-HP,MM9,TRON2.0,Diablo2....)
please help...thanks..

my system :
AMD T-b 2400+ 133*15
Abit KR7A-Raid Bios CX
768 mbDDR333( 512+256)
Leadtek Winfast FX 5900 THD MyVIVO 128mb
WinXP pro SP1
Philips 107P @ 1024x768 x32bx85hertz
Maxtor 80G 7200rpm 2mb
Detonator FX v44.03
Via 3in1 4.48
Audigy2


  #2  
Old September 11th 03, 08:14 PM
B
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You are correct. If you are running Windows XP your refresh rate will stay
at 60 hertz for Open GL games. This will also occur with Direct X games if
you do not have Direct X 9.0 and SP1 installed. Using the tool on this
webpage should help you to resolve the Open GL refresh rate problem in
Windows XP.

http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/

regards

B
"TORN" wrote in message
...
Hi all,
why when i play some OpenGL game , (Like Quake3, Star Wars Jedi Knight -
Jedi Academy,Call of Duty Single Player Demo,) the Refresh Rate will no

stay
at "85hertz" ( look like 60or 70, because the display only look best at 85
due to my setting on the monitor. and when go in to the game, the picture
can't display all in the view area!!) even i set all res to 85 in the

nvidia
"Refresh Rate override" the problem still there.
any there are not any Refresh Rate problem when play any "D3d" game like:
Enclav,SplinterCell, MidNightClub2,NFS-HP,MM9,TRON2.0,Diablo2....)
please help...thanks..

my system :
AMD T-b 2400+ 133*15
Abit KR7A-Raid Bios CX
768 mbDDR333( 512+256)
Leadtek Winfast FX 5900 THD MyVIVO 128mb
WinXP pro SP1
Philips 107P @ 1024x768 x32bx85hertz
Maxtor 80G 7200rpm 2mb
Detonator FX v44.03
Via 3in1 4.48
Audigy2




  #3  
Old September 11th 03, 10:01 PM
Shep©
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 11 Sep 2003 21:07:08 +0800, In this world we created "TORN"
wrote :

Hi all,
why when i play some OpenGL game , (Like Quake3, Star Wars Jedi Knight -
Jedi Academy,Call of Duty Single Player Demo,) the Refresh Rate will no stay
at "85hertz" ( look like 60or 70, because the display only look best at 85
due to my setting on the monitor. and when go in to the game, the picture
can't display all in the view area!!) even i set all res to 85 in the nvidia
"Refresh Rate override" the problem still there.
any there are not any Refresh Rate problem when play any "D3d" game like:
Enclav,SplinterCell, MidNightClub2,NFS-HP,MM9,TRON2.0,Diablo2....)
please help...thanks..

my system :
AMD T-b 2400+ 133*15
Abit KR7A-Raid Bios CX
768 mbDDR333( 512+256)
Leadtek Winfast FX 5900 THD MyVIVO 128mb
WinXP pro SP1
Philips 107P @ 1024x768 x32bx85hertz
Maxtor 80G 7200rpm 2mb
Detonator FX v44.03
Via 3in1 4.48
Audigy2


Rivatuner,
http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner/
has a built in 60 Hz XP fix and can set custom refresh rates.
Power user Tab/Refresh rates
and info here,
http://www.sharkyextreme.com/guides/...709_1463741__8
HTH



--
Free Windows/PC help,
http://www.geocities.com/sheppola/trouble.html
Free songs download,
http://artists.mp3s.com/artists/17/sheppard.html
  #4  
Old September 11th 03, 11:23 PM
Baron Von Black
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi all,
why when i play some OpenGL game , (Like Quake3, Star Wars Jedi Knight -
Jedi Academy,Call of Duty Single Player Demo,) the Refresh Rate will no

stay
at "85hertz" ( look like 60or 70, because the display only look best at

85
due to my setting on the monitor. and when go in to the game, the picture
can't display all in the view area!!) even i set all res to 85 in the

nvidia
"Refresh Rate override" the problem still there.
any there are not any Refresh Rate problem when play any "D3d" game like:
Enclav,SplinterCell, MidNightClub2,NFS-HP,MM9,TRON2.0,Diablo2....)
please help...thanks..



regards OpenGL & D3D games under XP I found if you goto the Monitor tab
of your display properties and manually set the refresh rate there I get the
correct
refresh rates in my games.

Just been playing both Star Wars Jedi Knight - Jedi Academy and Call of Duty
Single Player Demo's
@ 100Hz on my iiyama monitor.

NO powerstrip or other refresh fix software installed.


  #5  
Old September 12th 03, 03:18 PM
TORN
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks...

problem is the Rage3d"B" wrote in message
...
You are correct. If you are running Windows XP your refresh rate will stay
at 60 hertz for Open GL games. This will also occur with Direct X games if
you do not have Direct X 9.0 and SP1 installed. Using the tool on this
webpage should help you to resolve the Open GL refresh rate problem in
Windows XP.

http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/

regards

B
"TORN" wrote in message
...
Hi all,
why when i play some OpenGL game , (Like Quake3, Star Wars Jedi Knight -
Jedi Academy,Call of Duty Single Player Demo,) the Refresh Rate will no

stay
at "85hertz" ( look like 60or 70, because the display only look best at

85
due to my setting on the monitor. and when go in to the game, the

picture
can't display all in the view area!!) even i set all res to 85 in the

nvidia
"Refresh Rate override" the problem still there.
any there are not any Refresh Rate problem when play any "D3d" game

like:
Enclav,SplinterCell, MidNightClub2,NFS-HP,MM9,TRON2.0,Diablo2....)
please help...thanks..

my system :
AMD T-b 2400+ 133*15
Abit KR7A-Raid Bios CX
768 mbDDR333( 512+256)
Leadtek Winfast FX 5900 THD MyVIVO 128mb
WinXP pro SP1
Philips 107P @ 1024x768 x32bx85hertz
Maxtor 80G 7200rpm 2mb
Detonator FX v44.03
Via 3in1 4.48
Audigy2






  #6  
Old September 13th 03, 01:06 AM
Ricky
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I had no idea.
Thanks for the link.
Worked great.

Ricky

"B" wrote in message
...
You are correct. If you are running Windows XP your refresh rate will stay
at 60 hertz for Open GL games. This will also occur with Direct X games if
you do not have Direct X 9.0 and SP1 installed. Using the tool on this
webpage should help you to resolve the Open GL refresh rate problem in
Windows XP.

http://www.pagehosting.co.uk/rf/

regards

B
"TORN" wrote in message
...
Hi all,
why when i play some OpenGL game , (Like Quake3, Star Wars Jedi Knight -
Jedi Academy,Call of Duty Single Player Demo,) the Refresh Rate will no

stay
at "85hertz" ( look like 60or 70, because the display only look best at

85
due to my setting on the monitor. and when go in to the game, the

picture
can't display all in the view area!!) even i set all res to 85 in the

nvidia
"Refresh Rate override" the problem still there.
any there are not any Refresh Rate problem when play any "D3d" game

like:
Enclav,SplinterCell, MidNightClub2,NFS-HP,MM9,TRON2.0,Diablo2....)
please help...thanks..

my system :
AMD T-b 2400+ 133*15
Abit KR7A-Raid Bios CX
768 mbDDR333( 512+256)
Leadtek Winfast FX 5900 THD MyVIVO 128mb
WinXP pro SP1
Philips 107P @ 1024x768 x32bx85hertz
Maxtor 80G 7200rpm 2mb
Detonator FX v44.03
Via 3in1 4.48
Audigy2






 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
my new mobo o/c's great rockerrock Overclocking AMD Processors 9 June 30th 04 08:17 PM
Refresh problem with R9600Pro ElfGuy Ati Videocards 3 April 18th 04 03:11 PM
Catalyst 3.8 and Battlefield 1942 The White Werewolf Ati Videocards 10 October 23rd 03 05:25 PM
Refresh rate question zlo Ati Videocards 10 October 22nd 03 01:12 PM
Refresh Rate Overrides for OpenGL? \(\) \(\) Nvidia Videocards 8 July 7th 03 10:42 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.