A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Ati Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Digital Cable setup?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 2nd 04, 10:48 PM
Shelley
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Digital Cable setup?

I'm having trouble configuring my ATI All in Wonder card w/ my digital
cable box. I got the card to work with the cable straight from the
wall, but I didn't get all of the channels. I'm using the trial of
SnapStream (since the ATI software will only allow 125 channels). I
even looked through old newsgroup postings to see if I could find the
right config. Here's what I have:

ATI video card:
Standard Cable input
S-Video Input

Motorola Digital Cable Box:
Standard Cable input & output
Composite output

I've tried the following:
1) Standard cable input to cable box. Standard cable output to video
card. No dice.
2) standard cable input to cable box. Composite output to video card
adapter, S-video to video card. No dice again.

Pardon me for being a newbie, but the cable from the wall is supposed
to go to the cable in on the cable box, correct? Then the line out
should go to the video card? I don't know if I'm missing something
here, the diagrams looked pretty simple before I started messing with
this.

Thanks!
Shelley
  #2  
Old April 2nd 04, 11:01 PM
Andrew Rossmann
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article ,
says...
I'm having trouble configuring my ATI All in Wonder card w/ my digital
cable box. I got the card to work with the cable straight from the
wall, but I didn't get all of the channels. I'm using the trial of
SnapStream (since the ATI software will only allow 125 channels). I
even looked through old newsgroup postings to see if I could find the
right config. Here's what I have:

ATI video card:
Standard Cable input
S-Video Input

Motorola Digital Cable Box:
Standard Cable input & output
Composite output

I've tried the following:
1) Standard cable input to cable box. Standard cable output to video
card. No dice.
2) standard cable input to cable box. Composite output to video card
adapter, S-video to video card. No dice again.

Pardon me for being a newbie, but the cable from the wall is supposed
to go to the cable in on the cable box, correct? Then the line out
should go to the video card? I don't know if I'm missing something
here, the diagrams looked pretty simple before I started messing with
this.


The only way to receive digital and/or scrambled channels is through the
digital box. Using S-Video is best, followed by composite, then RF.
Because of this, you cannot use the tuner on your card. The tuning will
have to be done at the digital box.

--
If there is a no_junk in my address, please REMOVE it before replying!
All junk mail senders will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the
law!!
http://home.att.net/~andyross
  #3  
Old April 3rd 04, 06:05 AM
Gordon Scott
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Shelley wrote:

I'm having trouble configuring my ATI All in Wonder card w/ my digital
cable box. I got the card to work with the cable straight from the
wall, but I didn't get all of the channels. I'm using the trial of
SnapStream (since the ATI software will only allow 125 channels). I
even looked through old newsgroup postings to see if I could find the
right config. Here's what I have:

ATI video card:
Standard Cable input
S-Video Input

Motorola Digital Cable Box:
Standard Cable input & output
Composite output

I've tried the following:
1) Standard cable input to cable box. Standard cable output to video
card. No dice.
2) standard cable input to cable box. Composite output to video card
adapter, S-video to video card. No dice again.

Pardon me for being a newbie, but the cable from the wall is supposed
to go to the cable in on the cable box, correct? Then the line out
should go to the video card? I don't know if I'm missing something
here, the diagrams looked pretty simple before I started messing with
this.

Thanks!
Shelley


myself, I split the cable from the wall, 1 to the digi box the other to
the AIW, then use the svideo/composite line out from the digi to the AIW
for digital channels.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE ribbon cable connectors orientation Art Homebuilt PC's 4 April 25th 04 11:17 PM
How Move OS XP from Old to New HD? Nehmo Sergheyev Homebuilt PC's 80 January 12th 04 05:10 PM
Split Cable Modem Line For TV Tuner? *Vanguard* General 3 November 23rd 03 11:14 PM
ATI All-In-Wonder and Digital Cable Without the Cable Box New Question Ati Videocards 0 August 16th 03 09:17 PM
autimatically change channels on digital cable box cc Ati Videocards 1 July 8th 03 05:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.