A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

How do I get this P5W DH to turn on when power is applied without the remote control installed?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 24th 06, 06:03 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
William
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 302
Default How do I get this P5W DH to turn on when power is applied without the remote control installed?

When I first installed this P5W DH I installed everything. Then I started
to look at what I had running in the background, in the task bar, and what I
was likely to use.

So I started to disable things in the startup list, un-install things, and
turn off things in BIOS to improve the efficiency of the system, and get rid
of things I don't use.

Let me say, I really hate programs that install themselves in the auto-run
section of the registry and offer no way to turn themselves off.
Hate-hate-hate- a pox on your house. Is Easy CD/DVD creator and Nero
listening? Well, ASUS has a problem with this too.

The first time I used this remote control to setup the bios to start up when
power was applied, the program hosed my bios. I lost all video. No video
on boot up, no intro screen, nothing. However, I could hear the beeps and
sounds of Windows starting.

I had to reset the bios to regain video. Not happy. Out with the remote
control, and its programs.

Anyway, I have been unable to get this mobo to start up when power is
applied. I have set the bios for this, but nothing happens. Apparently I
must have the remote control software installed for this feature to work.
But, I don't want to install this software. What can I do?

William



  #2  
Old November 24th 06, 09:03 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
ChrisC
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 6
Default How do I get this P5W DH to turn on when power is applied without the remote control installed?

Hi, DH works fine & runs ok here, you need it to use the remote. Set your
bios back to default and try again...
ChrisC
"William" wrote in message
...
When I first installed this P5W DH I installed everything. Then I started
to look at what I had running in the background, in the task bar, and what
I was likely to use.

So I started to disable things in the startup list, un-install things, and
turn off things in BIOS to improve the efficiency of the system, and get
rid of things I don't use.

Let me say, I really hate programs that install themselves in the auto-run
section of the registry and offer no way to turn themselves off.
Hate-hate-hate- a pox on your house. Is Easy CD/DVD creator and Nero
listening? Well, ASUS has a problem with this too.

The first time I used this remote control to setup the bios to start up
when power was applied, the program hosed my bios. I lost all video. No
video on boot up, no intro screen, nothing. However, I could hear the
beeps and sounds of Windows starting.

I had to reset the bios to regain video. Not happy. Out with the remote
control, and its programs.

Anyway, I have been unable to get this mobo to start up when power is
applied. I have set the bios for this, but nothing happens. Apparently I
must have the remote control software installed for this feature to work.
But, I don't want to install this software. What can I do?

William




  #3  
Old November 24th 06, 09:50 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Mitch Crane
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 254
Default How do I get this P5W DH to turn on when power is applied without the remote control installed?

"William" wrote in
:

Anyway, I have been unable to get this mobo to start up when power
is applied. I have set the bios for this, but nothing happens.
Apparently I must have the remote control software installed for
this feature to work. But, I don't want to install this software.
What can I do?


Do you mean you want it to start up when you plug it in or flip the PSU
on/off switch? That wouldn't be related to the remote. Since you're
talking about the remote, I assume you mean when the power button on the
remote is pressed. If what you want to do is turn the computer on using
the remote then you need to plug it into the correct port.

With regard to your no-video problem, as I recall, the remote can instead
of turning your PC off put it into hibernate mode. If that's what
happened then its not an uncommon problem for the video to fail to
comeback from hibernate. I'm not sure if this would be a BIOS problem or
a driver problem or something else.


--
ybbxvatyvxrnobeantnvayvivatyvxrnurergvpyvfgravatgb neguheyrrerpbeqfznxv
atnyylbhesevraqfsrryfbthvyglnobhggurveplavpvfznaqg urerfgbsgurvetrareng
vbaabgriragurtbireazragnertbaanfgbclbhabjohgnerlbh ernqlgborurnegoebxra
  #4  
Old November 24th 06, 10:42 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
William
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 302
Default How do I get this P5W DH to turn on when power is applied without the remote control installed?


"Mitch Crane" -three wrote in message
...
"William" wrote in
:

Anyway, I have been unable to get this mobo to start up when power
is applied. I have set the bios for this, but nothing happens.
Apparently I must have the remote control software installed for
this feature to work. But, I don't want to install this software.
What can I do?


Do you mean you want it to start up when you plug it in or flip the PSU
on/off switch? That wouldn't be related to the remote. Since you're
talking about the remote, I assume you mean when the power button on the
remote is pressed. If what you want to do is turn the computer on using
the remote then you need to plug it into the correct port.

With regard to your no-video problem, as I recall, the remote can instead
of turning your PC off put it into hibernate mode. If that's what
happened then its not an uncommon problem for the video to fail to
comeback from hibernate. I'm not sure if this would be a BIOS problem or
a driver problem or something else.

Mitch:

I just want the computer to power up when I turn on the power strip that
feeds all my printers, scanner, monitors, and the computer. Nothing fancy.
Always had this before, and want it now.

Last week, I couldn't get this feature to work until after installing the
remote hardware and control software. After which each time I turned the
computer on, I would get a pop-up window informing me that I needed to setup
the remote control for start up after the restore of power. I did this and
it worked just like it should. (That is after I had to reset the bios after
loosing my video to my monitors).

It's just that I am not going to use this remote. So I would like to remove
its receiver and software and go without running it. One less TSR
(terminate and stay ready) program running in the background, freeing up
resources, one more USB port on the back of the cpu case. One less doggle
hanging off of my case.

It's beginning to look like I --HAVE TO-- use the remote control to obtain
this simple feature. But I don't want to. Kick kick, shuffle back and
fourth. Can't I just leave the remote control in the box and get my computer
to turn on after power on?

William




  #5  
Old November 24th 06, 11:24 PM posted to alt.comp.periphs.mainboard.asus
Mitch Crane
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 254
Default How do I get this P5W DH to turn on when power is applied without the remote control installed?

"William" wrote in
:

Mitch:

I just want the computer to power up when I turn on the power strip
that feeds all my printers, scanner, monitors, and the computer.
Nothing fancy. Always had this before, and want it now.


I see. There is an option in the BIOS to start the computer after power
loss, but I don't think that works if you shutdown properly, just if the
power is interrupted while the computer is running. (At least it didn't
work when I tried it.)

There was a discussion here recently about using a capacitor across the
power switch pins for this. I made one for a board I have running on a tray
with no case and it works fine.

http://img356.imageshack.us/my.php?i...pswitchmq2.jpg

That's a 1000uF cap. I'm told it may be trial and error to find one that
works for a particular board. I haven't tried that one with my P5W DH.
(BTW, if you use this approach it won't work if you switch the power off
and then quickly switch it back on. You need to let the power drain for a
few seconds first.)

--
ybbxvatyvxrnobeantnvayvivatyvxrnurergvpyvfgravatgb neguheyrrerpbeqfznxv
atnyylbhesevraqfsrryfbthvyglnobhggurveplavpvfznaqg urerfgbsgurvetrareng
vbaabgriragurtbireazragnertbaanfgbclbhabjohgnerlbh ernqlgborurnegoebxra
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF325-A7 Biostar AMD 754 Processor Power On Problem David Sontag Homebuilt PC's 4 October 28th 06 10:00 PM
GW Power Supply Feedback RDBrimmer Gateway Computers 9 October 22nd 04 07:15 PM
Happy Birthday America SST Nvidia Videocards 336 November 27th 03 07:54 PM
deskjet 845 C ink Pascal Printers 2 November 17th 03 09:16 AM
How can I make motherboard to restart after power loss automatically? Amiran General 1 September 24th 03 11:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.