A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

FX5200 AGP compatability



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 2nd 05, 09:10 PM
/mel/
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default FX5200 AGP compatability

Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell me if
this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a friend
whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card with the
FX5200. It doesn't work (at all), but I don't know if there's a fault
elsewhere or if the AGP spec of the motherboard is too old for the video
card. Gah, dontcha love remote diagnosis?

--

/mel/

np: silence


  #2  
Old August 2nd 05, 11:26 PM
Augustus
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"/mel/" wrote in message
...
Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell me
if this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a
friend whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card
with the FX5200. It doesn't work (at all), but I don't know if there's a
fault elsewhere or if the AGP spec of the motherboard is too old for the
video card. Gah, dontcha love remote diagnosis?


It would probably help if you posted what m/b make and model she's using.


  #3  
Old August 3rd 05, 04:15 AM
Phil Weldon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

'/mel/' wrote:
| Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell me
if
| this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a
friend
| whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card with the
| FX5200. It doesn't work (at all)...

Remote diagnosis is pretty tedious is a lot like denistry. Getting
sufficient information about the problem is like pulling teeth.

What does 'It doesn't work (at all)' mean?
Motherboard make and model?
Why did system fail?
Why was the display adapter replaced?

Add additional information; you are sure to forget something important, and
drag out the process.

The FX5200 display adapter will ceratinly work in an AGP X4 slot/

Be precise if you want a helpful answer.

Phil Weldon

"/mel/" wrote in message
...
Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell me
if this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a
friend whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card
with the FX5200. It doesn't work (at all), but I don't know if there's a
fault elsewhere or if the AGP spec of the motherboard is too old for the
video card. Gah, dontcha love remote diagnosis?

--

/mel/

np: silence




  #4  
Old August 3rd 05, 07:13 AM
/mel/
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Augustus" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

"/mel/" wrote in message
...
Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell me
if this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a
friend whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card
with the FX5200. It doesn't work (at all), but I don't know if there's a
fault elsewhere or if the AGP spec of the motherboard is too old for the
video card. Gah, dontcha love remote diagnosis?


It would probably help if you posted what m/b make and model she's using.


I've no idea, other than it's a Viglen and it has ISA slots - therefore it
is most likely the original AGP spec.



  #5  
Old August 3rd 05, 07:15 AM
/mel/
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Phil Weldon" wrote in message
nk.net...
'/mel/' wrote:
| Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell me
if
| this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a
friend
| whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card with the
| FX5200. It doesn't work (at all)...

Remote diagnosis is pretty tedious is a lot like denistry. Getting
sufficient information about the problem is like pulling teeth.

What does 'It doesn't work (at all)' mean?
Motherboard make and model?
Why did system fail?
Why was the display adapter replaced?

Add additional information; you are sure to forget something important,
and drag out the process.

The FX5200 display adapter will ceratinly work in an AGP X4 slot/

Be precise if you want a helpful answer.


I can see where you're [both] coming from, but I can't be precise. Actually,
I'd have thought that the above was precise enough, but perhaps if I'd said
"is this card compatible with AGP x1?" that would have been better. Of
course there was actually no such thing as 'AGP x1', only 'AGP', being
pedantic.

/mel/


  #6  
Old August 3rd 05, 10:23 AM
Phil Weldon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well, no. There are motherboards with AGP + ISA slots that are AGP X 1, AGP
X 2, and AGP X 4 ( and perhaps even AGP X 8.)

Phil Weldon

"/mel/" wrote in message
...
"Augustus" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

"/mel/" wrote in message
...
Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell me
if this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a
friend whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card
with the FX5200. It doesn't work (at all), but I don't know if there's a
fault elsewhere or if the AGP spec of the motherboard is too old for the
video card. Gah, dontcha love remote diagnosis?


It would probably help if you posted what m/b make and model she's using.


I've no idea, other than it's a Viglen and it has ISA slots - therefore it
is most likely the original AGP spec.





  #7  
Old August 3rd 05, 10:24 AM
Phil Weldon
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Like I posted, it's like pulling teeth.
Try posting an answer to the questions.
If you can't be more forthcomming, then expected only random answers.

Phil Weldon

"/mel/" wrote in message
...
"Phil Weldon" wrote in message
nk.net...
'/mel/' wrote:
| Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell
me if
| this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a
friend
| whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card with
the
| FX5200. It doesn't work (at all)...

Remote diagnosis is pretty tedious is a lot like denistry. Getting
sufficient information about the problem is like pulling teeth.

What does 'It doesn't work (at all)' mean?
Motherboard make and model?
Why did system fail?
Why was the display adapter replaced?

Add additional information; you are sure to forget something important,
and drag out the process.

The FX5200 display adapter will ceratinly work in an AGP X4 slot/

Be precise if you want a helpful answer.


I can see where you're [both] coming from, but I can't be precise.
Actually, I'd have thought that the above was precise enough, but perhaps
if I'd said "is this card compatible with AGP x1?" that would have been
better. Of course there was actually no such thing as 'AGP x1', only
'AGP', being pedantic.

/mel/



  #8  
Old August 3rd 05, 12:24 PM
Shane
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm using the same card with AOpen's AX63 Pro motherboard with users VIA's
693A(Northbridge-chipset) and the (Southbridge-596B chipset) it's official
name is
VIA Apollo PRO133 series and this motherboard is old it's AGP controller
version is 1.00 which supports AGP speeds of 1x, 2x and I'm running in 2x
speed. This board is so old it has 1-AGP Slot, 5-PCI Slot's and 2-ISA Slots
and my CPU is Intel's Pentium IIIE 650 which is overclocked to 780Mhz and
it's stable.
Three PCI slot's are in use with the SBLive soundcard,
3Com 3C905C-TX network card, and I'm also running a TV Tuner card(V-Gear's
MyTV 2).
I have 512MB of ram and my GeForce FX5200(ST Labs) has 128MB DDRAM and it
supports AGP 2x, 4x and 8x speeds, since my motherboard only supports AGP 2x
that's the max speed for me until I buy a new motherboard. Overall this
board is very stable using it's default settings and also in overclocking
mode but of course you have to know what you are doing when overclocking.
So in answer to your question is yes but consider the following factors: The
OS, GPU and motherboard chipset. If the motherboard is using a VIA chipset
then install the latest VIA's 4in1 chipset drivers.

Regards,
Shane Hempseed


"/mel/" wrote in message
...
Nvidia site unhelpful and mentions only AGP 8x - can anyone here tell me
if this card is backwards compatible with earlier AGP revisions - I've a
friend whose old machine just failed and she's replaced the video card
with the FX5200. It doesn't work (at all), but I don't know if there's a
fault elsewhere or if the AGP spec of the motherboard is too old for the
video card. Gah, dontcha love remote diagnosis?

--

/mel/

np: silence




  #9  
Old August 3rd 05, 05:44 PM
/mel/
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Phil Weldon" wrote in message
t...
Like I posted, it's like pulling teeth.
Try posting an answer to the questions.


Try posting an answer to the question - well, yes, exactly.

I appreciate that folks were/are trying to help, but there was only the one
question that I needed answering - I wasn't actually looking for help in
diagnosing the original problem, I added that only as background.

Funny thing, usenet, folks are either too helpful, or too abusive, and no
one ever really reads what a post says.

Anyway, the issue is now resolved, and as it happened it wasn't anything to
do with the video card. It appears that whatever revision of AGP the board
has, the FX5200 is compatible with it.

/mel/



  #10  
Old August 3rd 05, 05:49 PM
/mel/
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Shane" wrote in message
...
I'm using the same card with AOpen's AX63 Pro motherboard with users VIA's
693A(Northbridge-chipset) and the (Southbridge-596B chipset) it's
official name is
VIA Apollo PRO133 series and this motherboard is old it's AGP controller
version is 1.00 which supports AGP speeds of 1x, 2x and I'm running in 2x
speed. This board is so old it has 1-AGP Slot, 5-PCI Slot's and 2-ISA
Slots and my CPU is Intel's Pentium IIIE 650 which is overclocked to
780Mhz and it's stable.


snip

Thanks for the info. I'd thought that anything with ISA slots would have AGP
or AGP 2x, and I wasn't sure that the FX5200 would work (the specs mention
only 4x and 8x). I didn't want for the person I was helping to have added a
second problem on top of the one she already had - as it happened it turns
out that the original problem is resolved, and the FX5200 does work in the
board.

Funny thing is though - the problem was actually a USB printer. Unplug it,
and the system fires up. I've never seen that before, as the system was not
showing even the video BIOS signature. I can only assume some sort of power
problem.... except that USB is supposedly current-limited. Ah, well, I get
to see the thing first hand tomorrow so I'll see if I can sort it out.

/mel/


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FX5200 Problem khurram-s Nvidia Videocards 2 August 1st 05 04:16 AM
FX5200 - Radeon 9200? Augustus Nvidia Videocards 9 August 16th 04 09:04 AM
warnign about geforce fx5200 128MB Augustus Nvidia Videocards 5 June 24th 04 12:05 AM
P3 450 & FX5200?? Dodge Tom Nvidia Videocards 8 May 20th 04 08:10 PM
FX5200 reviews needed. yeeyoh Nvidia Videocards 17 October 20th 03 08:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.