A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Asus V9520 Magic



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 4th 04, 10:40 AM
Bonobo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Asus V9520 Magic


Hello all overclocking people......

I have raised the FSB from my AMD 1800+ Palomino to 140 and it´s all
running well.
Now I want to do someting at my ASUS V9520 /fx5200.

Before I overclocked my CPU, I played with the ASUS software
With the supplied software I could raise the...

Engine clock from 250 up to 265
Memory clock 400-200 to 352 ???????? (I dont understand this....yet)

I have tried with "coolbits" but this went to nowhere(installed older
versions nvidia??needed detonator or not,wasn't clear to mee)

Is there a good program to control my ASUS as good as possible??
(I don't need to squeeze the last Mhz out of his wires) Cooling of the GPU
is perfect.

Regards

Bonobo
  #2  
Old October 4th 04, 11:26 AM
BananaOfTheNight
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


Before I overclocked my CPU, I played with the ASUS software
With the supplied software I could raise the...

Engine clock from 250 up to 265
Memory clock 400-200 to 352 ???????? (I dont understand this....yet)

I have tried with "coolbits" but this went to nowhere(installed older
versions nvidia??needed detonator or not,wasn't clear to mee)

Is there a good program to control my ASUS as good as possible??
(I don't need to squeeze the last Mhz out of his wires) Cooling of the
GPU is perfect.


I used coolbits with the Detonator drivers (version 56.56 for XP, 56.72
for 98). You might have installed older drivers with the new registry
tweak, or new drivers with an old tweak, but anyway, here is the
contents of a .reg file to give coolbits for the new drivers:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NvTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:00000003
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001


The highest I got mine to was 295 MHz (clock) and 420 MHz (memory), from
250/333. Mine was cooled quite well, having a case fan blowing on it,
but not superbly.
  #3  
Old October 4th 04, 11:39 AM
Bonobo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 04 Oct 2004 11:26:48 +0100, BananaOfTheNight
wrote:


Before I overclocked my CPU, I played with the ASUS software
With the supplied software I could raise the...
Engine clock from 250 up to 265
Memory clock 400-200 to 352 ???????? (I dont understand this....yet)
I have tried with "coolbits" but this went to nowhere(installed older
versions nvidia??needed detonator or not,wasn't clear to mee)
Is there a good program to control my ASUS as good as possible??
(I don't need to squeeze the last Mhz out of his wires) Cooling of the
GPU is perfect.


I used coolbits with the Detonator drivers (version 56.56 for XP, 56.72
for 98). You might have installed older drivers with the new registry
tweak, or new drivers with an old tweak, but anyway, here is the
contents of a .reg file to give coolbits for the new drivers:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NvTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:00000003
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001


The highest I got mine to was 295 MHz (clock) and 420 MHz (memory), from
250/333. Mine was cooled quite well, having a case fan blowing on it,
but not superbly.


Thanks for the fast reply,

At this monent I use XP and my driver is: 6.14.10.5664 (according MS-XP
system info).

So I understand I have to download coolbits again(what version??) and the
detonator(version??)
After install I have to add your lines in regedit4 ???
I've never done this so checking if this monkey understands correctly.

Regards

Bonobo Netherlands
  #4  
Old October 4th 04, 12:49 PM
BananaOfTheNight
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

At this monent I use XP and my driver is: 6.14.10.5664 (according MS-XP
system info).


It looks like you are running 56.64 drivers. They should work with the
coolbits tweak.

So I understand I have to download coolbits again(what version??) and
the detonator(version??)


Coolbits as such isn't downloaded - it is built in to the detonator
drivers. To enable it, create a standard .txt file and put in the stuff
between start and end. Rename the .txt file to have a .reg
extension, then run it.

start

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NvTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:00000003
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001

end

After install I have to add your lines in regedit4 ???


The regedit4 line is a pointer for your PC - reassuring it that it is
using the correct version of the file, etc. I'm attaching the .reg file
(if I can upload it), so you can just use that if you want.

I've never done this so checking if this monkey understands correctly.


It's a relatively simple process - so don't worry too much.

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NvTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:00000003
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001
  #5  
Old October 4th 04, 01:39 PM
Bonobo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 04 Oct 2004 12:49:37 +0100, BananaOfTheNight
wrote:

At this monent I use XP and my driver is: 6.14.10.5664 (according MS-XP
system info).


It looks like you are running 56.64 drivers. They should work with the
coolbits tweak.

So I understand I have to download coolbits again(what version??) and
the detonator(version??)


Coolbits as such isn't downloaded - it is built in to the detonator
drivers. To enable it, create a standard .txt file and put in the stuff
between start and end. Rename the .txt file to have a .reg
extension, then run it.

start

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\NVIDIA Corporation\Global\NvTweak]
"CoolBits"=dword:00000003
"NvCplEnableHardwarePage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAGPSettingsPage" = dword:00000001
"NvCplEnableAdditionalInfoPage"=dword:00000001

end

After install I have to add your lines in regedit4 ???


The regedit4 line is a pointer for your PC - reassuring it that it is
using the correct version of the file, etc. I'm attaching the .reg file
(if I can upload it), so you can just use that if you want.

I've never done this so checking if this monkey understands correctly.


It's a relatively simple process - so don't worry too much.


Oke, let's see if we can get the monkey out of the tree....

Thanks bananaOfTheNight

Bonobo
  #6  
Old October 7th 04, 05:35 AM
Bronney Hui
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Try this:

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163

RivaTuner. It's great!

"Bonobo" news.wanadoo.nl bl news

Is there a good program to control my ASUS as good as possible??
(I don't need to squeeze the last Mhz out of his wires) Cooling of the GPU
is perfect.

Regards

Bonobo



  #7  
Old October 8th 04, 09:02 AM
Bonobo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Thu, 7 Oct 2004 12:35:57 +0800, Bronney Hui
wrote:

Try this:

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163

RivaTuner. It's great!


Looks very nice indeed!! The limits are quite high(even out of specs if I
dare...)
The cooling of my GPU is good (selfmade water block 28C). Do you think I
can cross the border of the core clock??
Standard is 250 and the 1st border of Riva is on 315 (thats what I use
now).




"Bonobo" news.wanadoo.nl ¦b¶l¥ó news

Is there a good program to control my ASUS as good as possible??
(I don't need to squeeze the last Mhz out of his wires) Cooling of the
GPU
is perfect.

Regards

Bonobo






--
DutchDareDevil
  #8  
Old October 8th 04, 02:53 PM
BananaOfTheNight
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Looks very nice indeed!! The limits are quite high(even out of specs if
I dare...)
The cooling of my GPU is good (selfmade water block 28C). Do you think
I can cross the border of the core clock??
Standard is 250 and the 1st border of Riva is on 315 (thats what I use
now).


There's a way of testing: bring one of the clocks up in an increment of
10 MHz and then run a 3DMark program (any is good, so long as it
stresses your system. I used 03). Let it go through the benchmark (not
letting your attention wander from the screen) and if you see any
glitches then stop the benchmark immediately and put the clock back.

It's hard to define what I mean by 'glitch' - it is a kind of texture
anomaly that can either place polygons at random in the screen (easily
visible) or corrupt textures (they appear in strange colours). I can't
really explain their appearance well, but you'll know it when you see
it. Some tests show them up better than others - the Nature test from 03
is a good one to look for errors on (plus the graphics card should have
heated up somewhat by then).
  #9  
Old October 8th 04, 03:11 PM
Bonobo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Fri, 08 Oct 2004 14:53:19 +0100, BananaOfTheNight
wrote:

Looks very nice indeed!! The limits are quite high(even out of specs
if I dare...)
The cooling of my GPU is good (selfmade water block 28C). Do you think
I can cross the border of the core clock??
Standard is 250 and the 1st border of Riva is on 315 (thats what I use
now).


There's a way of testing: bring one of the clocks up in an increment of
10 MHz and then run a 3DMark program (any is good, so long as it
stresses your system. I used 03). Let it go through the benchmark (not
letting your attention wander from the screen) and if you see any
glitches then stop the benchmark immediately and put the clock back.

It's hard to define what I mean by 'glitch' - it is a kind of texture
anomaly that can either place polygons at random in the screen (easily
visible) or corrupt textures (they appear in strange colours). I can't
really explain their appearance well, but you'll know it when you see
it. Some tests show them up better than others - the Nature test from 03
is a good one to look for errors on (plus the graphics card should have
heated up somewhat by then).


I think I know what you mean. before this Asus I had a "point of view"
fx5200.
This card gave strange multi-coloured rectangles' and all kinds of
coloured "carpets" on hills in my Battlefied 1942 game. Not on every map
but some maps where unplayable for my card. Finely the fan of this card
broke down and the shop gave me the ASUS that only had a heatsink.
I didn't trust the heat dissipation when playing Battlefield and placed a
temp sensor.
In Idle around 33C but when playing Battlefield OVER 70C!!! Thats when I
decided to takeaway the heatsink place a selfmade waterblock. Temperature
now in Idle 27C and when playing Battlefied +1 or +2.

Question: Can this test or raised clock destroy my card or is it just in
indicator that I went to high??

Regards,

Bonobo
DutchDareDevil
  #10  
Old October 8th 04, 03:24 PM
Lech Staniewicz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I think I know what you mean. before this Asus I had a "point of view"
fx5200.
This card gave strange multi-coloured rectangles' and all kinds of
coloured "carpets" on hills in my Battlefied 1942 game.


This is exactly what I mean.

Question: Can this test or raised clock destroy my card or is it just
in indicator that I went to high??


The glitches just give you an indication of when you have passed a
particular point in temperature (and so you need to turn it down). Also,
as far as I know, overclocking any electical components so that they
heat up will shorten their life (but it will not kill them immediately).
You might knock about 5 years off the life of your card with a decent
overclock, but seeing as these things can last for 15 years or more and
given the pace of technology, it isn't that serious.

The next limit you will hit is the voltage limit - above a certain clock
speed, it will be unstable regardless of cooling because there isn't
enough voltage across the chips. Voltmods seem rather complex to me and
it may be cheaper to get a new card (the FX 5900 range is dropping in
price quite well - my FX 5900 XT is 4 times as fast as my old 5200, but
for only 2.5 times the price).
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sudden incompatibility between Asus Motherboard p4s3 and Asus v7700 video card Wil General 0 November 25th 04 12:38 PM
ASUS K8V Deluxe - Motherboard Andre General 2 October 13th 04 01:46 AM
Asus K8V SE Deluxe Question and Advice Requested AU AMD x86-64 Processors 5 May 2nd 04 04:04 PM
Problem with ASUS V9570 NVidia 5700 card and ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Motherboard MarkW General 3 February 11th 04 09:04 AM
Asus Gf4 4200ti vs. generic vs. Asus fx5200 Bob Knowlden General 8 August 9th 03 04:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.