A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Ati Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

6600gt and 9800pro question.



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 2nd 04, 01:40 AM
John Smith
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default 6600gt and 9800pro question.

Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the 9800pro
does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.


  #2  
Old December 2nd 04, 02:05 AM
Rob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"John Smith" wrote in message
...
Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the 9800pro
does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance
comparativley?
TIA.


yes it does. im not sure if it needs 1 or 2 power supply connectors (i have
a 6800NU which is one, so
my GUESS is it only needs one)

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.



yes it will run better than the 9800pro, it's a much quicker card. if
you're comparing
an ATI card to the 6600GT, you should be looking at the X600 series, not the
older
9x00 generation of cards. Of course there is the problem that the X series
aren't
available in AGP, so that really leaves you with one option. Actually the
other option
is the 6800 base model card (referred to as the NU around here) which
outperforms
the 6600GT for not much more $$$.


  #3  
Old December 2nd 04, 02:09 PM
Conor
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article , John Smith
says...
Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the 9800pro
does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.

It does need a connector. In benchmarks, the 6600GT outperforms the
9800 Pro and sometimes even the 6800's.


--
Conor

Greedo shot first. Greedo ALWAYS shot first. You did not see Solo shoot
first.
It never happened. Never, ever. Not in any version. Remember: Greedo
shot first.
  #4  
Old December 2nd 04, 02:36 PM
Rob
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Perhaps the 6600GT might outperform the 6800LE in some benchmarks,
but not the 6800NU (base model) according to these benchmarks:

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...119/index.html



"Conor" wrote in message
. ..
In article , John Smith
says...
Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the 9800pro
does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance
comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.

It does need a connector. In benchmarks, the 6600GT outperforms the
9800 Pro and sometimes even the 6800's.


--
Conor

Greedo shot first. Greedo ALWAYS shot first. You did not see Solo shoot
first.
It never happened. Never, ever. Not in any version. Remember: Greedo
shot first.



  #5  
Old December 2nd 04, 07:21 PM
Dan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

The Geforece 6600 PCI-E doesn't need any additional power as it can draw
enough power from the PCI-E socket. The AGP version does require one
additional power connector.

The Geforce 6600 is not comparable to the x600 series from ATI. It's
comparable to the X700 series.

I'm totally confused on which card to get. The Geforce 6600GT or the X700pro
AGP. But I might hold out a little longer, wait til christmas and buy a
whole new rig with PCI-E.

Dan
"Rob" wrote in message news:[email protected]
Perhaps the 6600GT might outperform the 6800LE in some benchmarks,
but not the 6800NU (base model) according to these benchmarks:

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...119/index.html



"Conor" wrote in message
. ..
In article , John Smith
says...
Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the

9800pro
does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance
comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.

It does need a connector. In benchmarks, the 6600GT outperforms the
9800 Pro and sometimes even the 6800's.


--
Conor

Greedo shot first. Greedo ALWAYS shot first. You did not see Solo shoot
first.
It never happened. Never, ever. Not in any version. Remember: Greedo
shot first.





  #6  
Old February 28th 05, 08:41 PM
Lester Piglet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I bought a 6600GT as a stopgap upgrade. I sold it after 3 days and kept my
9800PRO. I didnt see any improvement at all. I think the difference will
only show above 1280x1024 res and as my tft doesnt do that I can't verify.



"Dan" wrote in message
...
The Geforece 6600 PCI-E doesn't need any additional power as it can draw
enough power from the PCI-E socket. The AGP version does require one
additional power connector.

The Geforce 6600 is not comparable to the x600 series from ATI. It's
comparable to the X700 series.

I'm totally confused on which card to get. The Geforce 6600GT or the
X700pro
AGP. But I might hold out a little longer, wait til christmas and buy a
whole new rig with PCI-E.

Dan
"Rob" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Perhaps the 6600GT might outperform the 6800LE in some benchmarks,
but not the 6800NU (base model) according to these benchmarks:

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...119/index.html



"Conor" wrote in message
. ..
In article , John Smith
says...
Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the

9800pro
does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance
comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than
the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.

It does need a connector. In benchmarks, the 6600GT outperforms the
9800 Pro and sometimes even the 6800's.


--
Conor

Greedo shot first. Greedo ALWAYS shot first. You did not see Solo shoot
first.
It never happened. Never, ever. Not in any version. Remember: Greedo
shot first.







  #7  
Old February 28th 05, 09:21 PM
farmuse
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Lester Piglet wrote:

I bought a 6600GT as a stopgap upgrade. I sold it after 3 days and kept my
9800PRO. I didnt see any improvement at all. I think the difference will
only show above 1280x1024 res and as my tft doesnt do that I can't verify.



"Dan" wrote in message
...

The Geforece 6600 PCI-E doesn't need any additional power as it can draw
enough power from the PCI-E socket. The AGP version does require one
additional power connector.

The Geforce 6600 is not comparable to the x600 series from ATI. It's
comparable to the X700 series.

I'm totally confused on which card to get. The Geforce 6600GT or the
X700pro
AGP. But I might hold out a little longer, wait til christmas and buy a
whole new rig with PCI-E.

Dan
"Rob" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

Perhaps the 6600GT might outperform the 6800LE in some benchmarks,
but not the 6800NU (base model) according to these benchmarks:

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...119/index.html



"Conor" wrote in message
om...

In article , John Smith
says...

Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the


9800pro

does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance
comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than
the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.


It does need a connector. In benchmarks, the 6600GT outperforms the
9800 Pro and sometimes even the 6800's.


--
Conor

Greedo shot first. Greedo ALWAYS shot first. You did not see Solo shoot
first.
It never happened. Never, ever. Not in any version. Remember: Greedo
shot first.





the 6600 is the faster card but the 9800 pro is fine too, matter of
personal preference it sounds like
  #8  
Old February 28th 05, 10:15 PM
Kent
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I agree, I had a 9800 pro and I got about 5500 points in 3dmark 03. Then I
bought a 6600gt for my son a month before X-mas so I used it to make sure it
was ok before the 30 day warranty ran out Anyway, I got 7k to 8k in
3dmark 03 with it. Just last week I bought a Gigabyte 6800gt to replace my
9800pro and I need all the help I can get playing Counter Strike haha and
it gets 10k to 11,700 in 3dmark 03 so far.. (don't want to kill my $400
v-card overclocking it too much) I ran the cards all at 1024x768 on my 17in
CRT in games. Only now i can run all my settings on high in CS with AA and
AF cranked up and still get a descent framerate. With the 9800 pro (default
clocking) I couldn't run any AA or AF in multiplayer without my frames
dropping below 30fps.

Pete

Sys Specs
AMD 3200+ @2250mhz SI-97 heatsink
2X 512megs Corsair ram PC3200
Gigabyte GA-7VT600 1394 mobo
Gigabyte 6800gt



"farmuse" wrote in message
...
Lester Piglet wrote:

I bought a 6600GT as a stopgap upgrade. I sold it after 3 days and kept
my 9800PRO. I didnt see any improvement at all. I think the difference
will only show above 1280x1024 res and as my tft doesnt do that I can't
verify.



"Dan" wrote in message
...

The Geforece 6600 PCI-E doesn't need any additional power as it can draw
enough power from the PCI-E socket. The AGP version does require one
additional power connector.

The Geforce 6600 is not comparable to the x600 series from ATI. It's
comparable to the X700 series.

I'm totally confused on which card to get. The Geforce 6600GT or the
X700pro
AGP. But I might hold out a little longer, wait til christmas and buy a
whole new rig with PCI-E.

Dan
"Rob" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

Perhaps the 6600GT might outperform the 6800LE in some benchmarks,
but not the 6800NU (base model) according to these benchmarks:

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...119/index.html



"Conor" wrote in message
. com...

In article , John Smith
says...

Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the

9800pro

does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance
comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than
the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.


It does need a connector. In benchmarks, the 6600GT outperforms the
9800 Pro and sometimes even the 6800's.


--
Conor

Greedo shot first. Greedo ALWAYS shot first. You did not see Solo shoot
first.
It never happened. Never, ever. Not in any version. Remember: Greedo
shot first.





the 6600 is the faster card but the 9800 pro is fine too, matter of
personal preference it sounds like



  #9  
Old March 1st 05, 02:46 AM
Paul M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default






No need to upgrade your 9800 Pro. Unless you upgrade it to a 6800 GT ?




On Mon, 28 Feb 2005 16:15:35 -0600, "Kent"
wrote:

I agree, I had a 9800 pro and I got about 5500 points in 3dmark 03. Then I
bought a 6600gt for my son a month before X-mas so I used it to make sure it
was ok before the 30 day warranty ran out Anyway, I got 7k to 8k in
3dmark 03 with it. Just last week I bought a Gigabyte 6800gt to replace my
9800pro and I need all the help I can get playing Counter Strike haha and
it gets 10k to 11,700 in 3dmark 03 so far.. (don't want to kill my $400
v-card overclocking it too much) I ran the cards all at 1024x768 on my 17in
CRT in games. Only now i can run all my settings on high in CS with AA and
AF cranked up and still get a descent framerate. With the 9800 pro (default
clocking) I couldn't run any AA or AF in multiplayer without my frames
dropping below 30fps.

Pete

Sys Specs
AMD 3200+ @2250mhz SI-97 heatsink
2X 512megs Corsair ram PC3200
Gigabyte GA-7VT600 1394 mobo
Gigabyte 6800gt



"farmuse" wrote in message
...
Lester Piglet wrote:

I bought a 6600GT as a stopgap upgrade. I sold it after 3 days and kept
my 9800PRO. I didnt see any improvement at all. I think the difference
will only show above 1280x1024 res and as my tft doesnt do that I can't
verify.



"Dan" wrote in message
...

The Geforece 6600 PCI-E doesn't need any additional power as it can draw
enough power from the PCI-E socket. The AGP version does require one
additional power connector.

The Geforce 6600 is not comparable to the x600 series from ATI. It's
comparable to the X700 series.

I'm totally confused on which card to get. The Geforce 6600GT or the
X700pro
AGP. But I might hold out a little longer, wait til christmas and buy a
whole new rig with PCI-E.

Dan
"Rob" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

Perhaps the 6600GT might outperform the 6800LE in some benchmarks,
but not the 6800NU (base model) according to these benchmarks:

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...119/index.html



"Conor" wrote in message
.com...

In article , John Smith
says...

Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the

9800pro

does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance
comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than
the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.


It does need a connector. In benchmarks, the 6600GT outperforms the
9800 Pro and sometimes even the 6800's.


--
Conor

Greedo shot first. Greedo ALWAYS shot first. You did not see Solo shoot
first.
It never happened. Never, ever. Not in any version. Remember: Greedo
shot first.





the 6600 is the faster card but the 9800 pro is fine too, matter of
personal preference it sounds like



  #10  
Old March 1st 05, 04:02 AM
John M
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That is what I did and I am very happy with it.

John



"Paul M" wrote in message
...





No need to upgrade your 9800 Pro. Unless you upgrade it to a 6800 GT ?




On Mon, 28 Feb 2005 16:15:35 -0600, "Kent"
wrote:

I agree, I had a 9800 pro and I got about 5500 points in 3dmark 03. Then I
bought a 6600gt for my son a month before X-mas so I used it to make sure
it
was ok before the 30 day warranty ran out Anyway, I got 7k to 8k in
3dmark 03 with it. Just last week I bought a Gigabyte 6800gt to replace
my
9800pro and I need all the help I can get playing Counter Strike haha and
it gets 10k to 11,700 in 3dmark 03 so far.. (don't want to kill my $400
v-card overclocking it too much) I ran the cards all at 1024x768 on my
17in
CRT in games. Only now i can run all my settings on high in CS with AA and
AF cranked up and still get a descent framerate. With the 9800 pro
(default
clocking) I couldn't run any AA or AF in multiplayer without my frames
dropping below 30fps.

Pete

Sys Specs
AMD 3200+ @2250mhz SI-97 heatsink
2X 512megs Corsair ram PC3200
Gigabyte GA-7VT600 1394 mobo
Gigabyte 6800gt



"farmuse" wrote in message
...
Lester Piglet wrote:

I bought a 6600GT as a stopgap upgrade. I sold it after 3 days and kept
my 9800PRO. I didnt see any improvement at all. I think the difference
will only show above 1280x1024 res and as my tft doesnt do that I can't
verify.



"Dan" wrote in message
...

The Geforece 6600 PCI-E doesn't need any additional power as it can
draw
enough power from the PCI-E socket. The AGP version does require one
additional power connector.

The Geforce 6600 is not comparable to the x600 series from ATI. It's
comparable to the X700 series.

I'm totally confused on which card to get. The Geforce 6600GT or the
X700pro
AGP. But I might hold out a little longer, wait til christmas and buy a
whole new rig with PCI-E.

Dan
"Rob" wrote in message
news:[email protected]

Perhaps the 6600GT might outperform the 6800LE in some benchmarks,
but not the 6800NU (base model) according to these benchmarks:

http://www20.graphics.tomshardware.c...119/index.html



"Conor" wrote in message
s.com...

In article , John Smith
says...

Does the 6600gt have to be plugged into the power supply like the

9800pro

does. If not does this make it lack in power and performance
comparativley?
TIA.

Since the 6600gt is newer do you think it would run hl2 better than
the
9800pro? Right now i have a geo 2 mx 400 :-( and need to upgrade.


It does need a connector. In benchmarks, the 6600GT outperforms the
9800 Pro and sometimes even the 6800's.


--
Conor

Greedo shot first. Greedo ALWAYS shot first. You did not see Solo
shoot
first.
It never happened. Never, ever. Not in any version. Remember: Greedo
shot first.





the 6600 is the faster card but the 9800 pro is fine too, matter of
personal preference it sounds like





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9800pro vs 6600gt? John Smith Ati Videocards 10 December 22nd 04 08:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.