A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Ati Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Help Needed: Identifying a card



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 24th 03, 07:01 PM
Phoenix AG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help Needed: Identifying a card

Hi,

I just got a 9600 series card. My uncle gave it to me as a gift.
The problem now is, I don't know whether its a PRO card or a non Pro.

It is a GigaCube card. Red in color.
The memory chips are by Samsung and are rectangular in color. I think
they are 4.0 ns cos it says TC40 on the chips.
128MB DDR Ram.

Powerstrip shows the internal core clock as 400 Mhz and the Memory
clock is 250Mhz.
This is surprising, as I have never seen a 9600 with a 400/500
combination.

On the card, it says GC-R9600/Pro.
In the bill, it says GC-R9600-C3.

I get around 7555 3D Marks in 3DMark2001SE.
System:
P-4 1.6 Ghz
512 MB SD Ram (133 Mhz)
etc

I figure its the CPU and the RAM which are holding the card back.

Anyway, any guesses?
In the system info it says 9600 Series card...no Pro or non-Pro.

Guess all I want to know is if I am right about everything and also,
whether this card is a PRO card or not.

Thanks for your time.

Btw, I am using Cat 3.9 with no problems.


***
....the Phoenix shall rise...
  #2  
Old November 24th 03, 08:20 PM
TMack
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Phoenix AG" wrote in message
s.com...
Hi,

I just got a 9600 series card. My uncle gave it to me as a gift.
The problem now is, I don't know whether its a PRO card or a non Pro.

It is a GigaCube card. Red in color.
The memory chips are by Samsung and are rectangular in color. I think
they are 4.0 ns cos it says TC40 on the chips.
128MB DDR Ram.

Powerstrip shows the internal core clock as 400 Mhz and the Memory
clock is 250Mhz.
This is surprising, as I have never seen a 9600 with a 400/500
combination.

On the card, it says GC-R9600/Pro.
In the bill, it says GC-R9600-C3.



Sounds like a Pro. Check it out here
http://www.gecube.com.tw/

Tony


  #3  
Old November 24th 03, 09:26 PM
Phoenix AG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 24 Nov 2003 20:20:21 -0000, "TMack"
wrote:


"Phoenix AG" wrote in message
ws.com...
Hi,

I just got a 9600 series card. My uncle gave it to me as a gift.
The problem now is, I don't know whether its a PRO card or a non Pro.

It is a GigaCube card. Red in color.
The memory chips are by Samsung and are rectangular in color. I think
they are 4.0 ns cos it says TC40 on the chips.
128MB DDR Ram.

Powerstrip shows the internal core clock as 400 Mhz and the Memory
clock is 250Mhz.
This is surprising, as I have never seen a 9600 with a 400/500
combination.

On the card, it says GC-R9600/Pro.
In the bill, it says GC-R9600-C3.



Sounds like a Pro. Check it out here
http://www.gecube.com.tw/

Tony


Thanks I checked it out.
They are not terribly helpful, as they only list the features of ALL
9600 cards on the site.
No specific features were listed, like Memory clock and core clock
etc. :-(
If anyone has any idea about it, I'd be grateful.
Otherwise, I think I should just be happy with it. It's performing
pretty decently with all the eye candy up in games.


***
....the Phoenix shall rise...
  #4  
Old November 24th 03, 09:52 PM
?uzzled
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Powerstrip shows the internal core clock as 400 Mhz and the Memory
clock is 250Mhz.
This is surprising, as I have never seen a 9600 with a 400/500
combination.

On the card, it says GC-R9600/Pro.
In the bill, it says GC-R9600-C3.



Sounds like a Pro. Check it out here
http://www.gecube.com.tw/

Tony


It's the non pro version:
http://www.gecube.com.tw/productCategory.php?proID=5. Pro cards have 600Mhz
memory.


  #5  
Old November 25th 03, 02:05 AM
TMack
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"?uzzled" wrote in message
...
Powerstrip shows the internal core clock as 400 Mhz and the Memory
clock is 250Mhz.
This is surprising, as I have never seen a 9600 with a 400/500
combination.

On the card, it says GC-R9600/Pro.
In the bill, it says GC-R9600-C3.



Sounds like a Pro. Check it out here
http://www.gecube.com.tw/

Tony


It's the non pro version:
http://www.gecube.com.tw/productCategory.php?proID=5. Pro cards have

600Mhz
memory.


OK if it has 500MHz memory it must be semi-pro ! I think that gecube are
marketing this (misleadingly perhaps) as a pro. Non-pros are usually
325/400 this is 400/500 whilst full pros are 400/600

Tony


  #6  
Old November 25th 03, 11:01 AM
Darthy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Mon, 24 Nov 2003 19:01:15 GMT, Phoenix AG
wrote:

Hi,

I just got a 9600 series card. My uncle gave it to me as a gift.
The problem now is, I don't know whether its a PRO card or a non Pro.


Download AIDA32 from www.aida32.hu - its free. Enterprise version is
best.

It will tell you EVERYTHING about your card... even if its been
circumzied!



--
Remember when real men used Real computers!?
When 512K of video RAM was a lot!

Death to Palladium & WPA!!
  #7  
Old November 25th 03, 01:20 PM
Magwheelz
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Tue, 25 Nov 2003 11:01:36 GMT, Darthy
wrote:

Download AIDA32 from www.aida32.hu - its free. Enterprise version is
best.


Now there is a useful tool... Thanks.
Gotta go,
Magwheelz

  #8  
Old November 25th 03, 01:35 PM
Phoenix AG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Tue, 25 Nov 2003 11:01:36 GMT, Darthy
wrote:

On Mon, 24 Nov 2003 19:01:15 GMT, Phoenix AG
wrote:

Hi,

I just got a 9600 series card. My uncle gave it to me as a gift.
The problem now is, I don't know whether its a PRO card or a non Pro.


Download AIDA32 from www.aida32.hu - its free. Enterprise version is
best.

It will tell you EVERYTHING about your card... even if its been
circumzied!


Thank you Darthy. Its great.


***
....the Phoenix shall rise...
  #9  
Old November 25th 03, 01:38 PM
Phoenix AG
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Tue, 25 Nov 2003 02:05:12 -0000, "TMack"
wrote:

Powerstrip shows the internal core clock as 400 Mhz and the Memory
clock is 250Mhz.
This is surprising, as I have never seen a 9600 with a 400/500
combination.

On the card, it says GC-R9600/Pro.
In the bill, it says GC-R9600-C3.


Sounds like a Pro. Check it out here
http://www.gecube.com.tw/

Tony


It's the non pro version:
http://www.gecube.com.tw/productCategory.php?proID=5. Pro cards have

600Mhz
memory.


OK if it has 500MHz memory it must be semi-pro ! I think that gecube are
marketing this (misleadingly perhaps) as a pro. Non-pros are usually
325/400 this is 400/500 whilst full pros are 400/600

Tony


I agree. That's why I got confused. I have seen 325/400s and 400/600s
but haven't seen a 400/500.
I think its ****ty marketing on the part of Gigacube cos on my card,
it even says Pro!
Hehe...even they probably didn't know what to call it, so it just says
Radeon 9600 Series in the display properties and in 3DMark. No Pro or
non-Pro.

Thanks guys! I checked the site of the place he bought it from, and
they list it as a 400/500 card.


***
....the Phoenix shall rise...
  #10  
Old November 25th 03, 10:01 PM
Darthy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Tue, 25 Nov 2003 08:20:14 -0500, Magwheelz
wrote:

On Tue, 25 Nov 2003 11:01:36 GMT, Darthy
wrote:

Download AIDA32 from www.aida32.hu - its free. Enterprise version is
best.


Now there is a useful tool... Thanks.


Spread the word on it... I only was told about it a month ago...

Notice how it tells YOU EVERYTHING about your computer, links to get
drivers for your hardware, you can even remove software with it, shows
your Windows UPdates etc. The Temp of your system, the Mhz the
products are reporting etc.

its a life saver when someone says "I don't know what I have".


--
Remember when real men used Real computers!?
When 512K of video RAM was a lot!

Death to Palladium & WPA!!
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card recommendation needed Larc Homebuilt PC's 11 August 30th 03 03:51 AM
NEEDED: Inexpensive Wireless Networking PC Card which accepts external antenna Mitchua Homebuilt PC's 0 August 8th 03 04:25 PM
Medion/ATI card ( WARNING ABOUT DABS) Dom Robinson Ati Videocards 0 July 29th 03 08:59 PM
Radeon 64ddr 4x agp card in 8x agp slot? (was: Another A7n8x-D won'tpost) Randy Asus Motherboards 3 July 24th 03 12:36 AM
ATIAIW750064A card questions... NightRunner Ati Videocards 1 July 13th 03 08:20 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.