A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Does Intel P4 2.4GHz 800 fsb HT work with Asus P4PE???



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 5th 04, 02:21 PM
Markku Lahtinen
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Does Intel P4 2.4GHz 800 fsb HT work with Asus P4PE???

Please tell me because I have serious trouble with that and I cant get
it work at all .

Make

  #2  
Old May 5th 04, 07:31 PM
Paul
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In article , Markku Lahtinen
wrote:

Please tell me because I have serious trouble with that and I cant get
it work at all .

Make


Enter "P4PE" he
http://www.asus.com.tw/support/cpusu...pusupport.aspx

There are many kinds of processors. Look on this page
for Pentium 4:
http://processorfinder.intel.com/

All these will work. The 2.4C will run with one stick of
PC3200 (DDR400) ram.

2.4/400, 2.4/533, 2.4/800 (also known popularly as 2.4C)

This one might not work. Hard to say for sure.

2.4A/533 1MB cache 90nm (Prescott)

This Asus news item lists "Prescott Ready" motherboards:

http://www.asus.com/news/2004/20040202.htm

If you bought a 2.4/800 512KB cache 0.13u processor, then
it will work, assuming the correct version of BIOS is used.

http://www.asus.com.tw/support/cpusupport/fsb800.aspx

HTH,
Paul
  #3  
Old May 5th 04, 11:27 PM
DaveW
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No. The maximum FSB speed of the P4PE is 533 MHz. Your CPU requires an 800
MHz FSB. Won't work.

--
DaveW



"Markku Lahtinen" wrote in message
...
Please tell me because I have serious trouble with that and I cant get
it work at all .

Make



  #4  
Old May 6th 04, 04:36 PM
sister
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Wed, 05 May 2004 13:21:52 GMT, Markku Lahtinen
wrote:

Please tell me because I have serious trouble with that and I cant get
it work at all .

Make


it works with a bios update and one stick of ddr400 sdram...

I have tried it and it works, but I had some problems with crackling
sound through onboard sound or add-on sound card so I believe there is
some part that cannot handle the extra fsb. The effect seems to be
noise through the pci bus...

good luck...

jt

---END---PGP---SIGNATURE---
  #5  
Old May 7th 04, 09:29 PM
Christian Merkle
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

DaveW wrote:
No. The maximum FSB speed of the P4PE is 533 MHz.


Wrong! FSB800 is working (with limitations).

http://www.asus.com/support/cpusupport/fsb800.aspx


Christian

--
Petra!
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus A7v266-e and a 266 MHz MP2800+ will this work ? We Live for the One we Die for the One Overclocking AMD Processors 1 May 24th 04 11:08 PM
Correct temps for Asus board and Intel CPU? Louise Homebuilt PC's 4 April 12th 04 03:32 AM
intel PIV 2.4GHz HT/D865GBF temperature enquiry!! duke Homebuilt PC's 7 February 1st 04 01:48 PM
Can't get sound to work on Intel board Jon Greene General 2 October 23rd 03 07:11 PM
How to make ATI Radeon 9700 Pro work with ASUS PXG8X PaShu Asus Motherboards 3 June 29th 03 03:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.