A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Ati Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Replace Ti4200 with ATI 9800 Pro



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 7th 03, 02:57 PM
Skid
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Replace Ti4200 with ATI 9800 Pro

Looks like you've thought it through. I"m not familiar with the driver
cleaner you're talking about, but others have had good luck with Detonator
Destroyer. It is important to scrub out all those nasty leftovers.

When the new card is detected on reboot, don't let Windows install the
drivers. Cancel out of the wizard and run the ATI driver setup applets. Go
ahead and use Cat 3.9, you'll need the CD only if you want to install the
updated ATI DVD player, which requires the original CD for verification.

I usually do the drivers and control panel first, reboot, and then the MMC
if you want it. (The DVD player is excellent, the rest is average.)

You may want to reinstall the motherboard's AGP drivers and/or DX9 to synch
everything up. It's not necessary, but good insurance.

After that it's simply a matter of configuring everything to suit your
preferences. There is a lot of info at www.rage3d.com, including plenty of
tweaking and troubleshooting help in the forums.


"Ed" wrote in message
...
Hello,

Currently have a Ti4200 in an Asus A7N8X v2.00.(Nvidia Ultra 400),
Windows XP Pro.

I assume I go about the install this way,...

1. Uninstall Nvidia drivers, Reboot.

2. Run Driver Cleaner+Cab Cleaner?
I never used that, is it a must?

3. Shut down, pull ti4200, install ATI card.

4. Install ATI v3.9 drivers?
Is there anything on the ATI CD that I must or must not install?

5. I read something about the GART driver, when I uninstall the Ti4200
drivers does it remove that too, if so how do I fix that?

Thanks for any tips,links, help, I've had this PC for 6 months and it
has been flawless, I'd like it to stay that way.

Regards,
Ed G.



  #2  
Old November 8th 03, 12:00 AM
Ben
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

just uninstall the nvidia drivers via add/remove and reboot
shut down - swap cards - reboot
install 3.7 cats (the most stable and bug free for most ppl)
you can always try 3.9s later and if they give problems then role back to
3.7
the cats include smartgart for adjusting agp - just check the setting
matches what youve set in the bios.
enjoy

"Ed" wrote in message
...
Hello,

Currently have a Ti4200 in an Asus A7N8X v2.00.(Nvidia Ultra 400),
Windows XP Pro.

I assume I go about the install this way,...

1. Uninstall Nvidia drivers, Reboot.

2. Run Driver Cleaner+Cab Cleaner?
I never used that, is it a must?

3. Shut down, pull ti4200, install ATI card.

4. Install ATI v3.9 drivers?
Is there anything on the ATI CD that I must or must not install?

5. I read something about the GART driver, when I uninstall the Ti4200
drivers does it remove that too, if so how do I fix that?

Thanks for any tips,links, help, I've had this PC for 6 months and it
has been flawless, I'd like it to stay that way.

Regards,
Ed G.



  #3  
Old November 8th 03, 09:36 AM
Thomas
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ben wrote:
just uninstall the nvidia drivers via add/remove and reboot
shut down - swap cards - reboot
install 3.7 cats (the most stable and bug free for most ppl)
you can always try 3.9s later and if they give problems then role
back to
3.7
the cats include smartgart for adjusting agp - just check the setting
matches what youve set in the bios.
enjoy


We see many problems in this newsgroup with NVidia users that ONLY uninstall
NVidia drivers and switch to ATI cards... If i were the OP, i would indeed
use some registry cleaner... Myself, i usually reinstall windows after i
swap a MAIN component (vid card/mainboard)

THomas.


  #4  
Old November 8th 03, 09:52 AM
Andrew
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 8 Nov 2003 10:36:21 +0100, "Thomas"
wrote:

We see many problems in this newsgroup with NVidia users that ONLY uninstall
NVidia drivers and switch to ATI cards... If i were the OP, i would indeed
use some registry cleaner... Myself, i usually reinstall windows after i
swap a MAIN component (vid card/mainboard)

I just unistalled the NV drivers, replaced the card then loaded the
ATI drivers and had no problems. Reinstalling Windows for a video card
replacement is total overkill IMO.
--
Andrew. To email unscramble & remove spamtrap.
Help make Usenet a better place: English is read downwards,
please don't top post. Trim messages to quote only relevent text.
Check groups.google.com before asking a question.
  #5  
Old November 8th 03, 12:58 PM
patrickp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Andrew" [email protected] wrote in message
...
On Sat, 8 Nov 2003 10:36:21 +0100, "Thomas"
wrote:

We see many problems in this newsgroup with NVidia users that ONLY

uninstall
NVidia drivers and switch to ATI cards... If i were the OP, i would

indeed
use some registry cleaner... Myself, i usually reinstall windows after i
swap a MAIN component (vid card/mainboard)

I just unistalled the NV drivers, replaced the card then loaded the
ATI drivers and had no problems. Reinstalling Windows for a video card
replacement is total overkill IMO.
--
Andrew. To email unscramble & remove spamtrap.
Help make Usenet a better place: English is read downwards,
please don't top post. Trim messages to quote only relevent text.
Check groups.google.com before asking a question.


While reinstalling Windows may be overkill, doing more to clear out your
system than just uninstalling old drivers on a card change is not.

Anyone regularly reading posts in this ng will have frequently noticed
threads started with posts from people who've changed an ATi card for an
NVidia one, or vice versa, and are having problems. Invariably, they will
be advised to clear out the driver remnants from the card they have removed
and doing this usually sorts the problem. Look through your Windows folder
and your registry, Andrew: you'll find plenty of NVidia entries and files
still there. Perhaps your system seems Ok now, but that's not to say you
won't have trouble in the future, or that your system wouldn't be running
very much better if you cleared out those remnants.

patrickp


  #6  
Old November 8th 03, 01:21 PM
Andrew
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 8 Nov 2003 12:58:27 -0000, "patrickp"
- take five to email me wrote:

Anyone regularly reading posts in this ng will have frequently noticed
threads started with posts from people who've changed an ATi card for an
NVidia one, or vice versa, and are having problems. Invariably, they will
be advised to clear out the driver remnants from the card they have removed
and doing this usually sorts the problem. Look through your Windows folder
and your registry, Andrew: you'll find plenty of NVidia entries and files
still there. Perhaps your system seems Ok now, but that's not to say you
won't have trouble in the future, or that your system wouldn't be running
very much better if you cleared out those remnants.

It was running fine for about two months. My mobo died and I last week
had to replace it with an Nforce 2 mobo, which required a reinstall of
Windows. It works exactly the same now as it did before, with very
slightly better 3Dmark scores which is down to running dual channel
memory now.
--
Andrew. To email unscramble & remove spamtrap.
Help make Usenet a better place: English is read downwards,
please don't top post. Trim messages to quote only relevent text.
Check groups.google.com before asking a question.
  #7  
Old November 8th 03, 02:58 PM
[Q4O]Gizmo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi there

"Andrew" [email protected] wrote in message
...
On Sat, 8 Nov 2003 12:58:27 -0000, "patrickp"
- take five to email me wrote:


It was running fine for about two months. My mobo died and I last week
had to replace it with an Nforce 2 mobo, which required a reinstall of
Windows. It works exactly the same now as it did before, with very
slightly better 3Dmark scores which is down to running dual channel
memory now.
--



Not nessery, i changed a via chipset mobo to a nforce2 mobo.
first deinstall via chipset drivers then uninstall the via ide hardware.
the swap HD in the new one and youre back on track.

GIZIZ


  #8  
Old November 8th 03, 03:09 PM
Andrew
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 8 Nov 2003 15:58:13 +0100, "[Q4O]Gizmo" wrote:

Not nessery, i changed a via chipset mobo to a nforce2 mobo.
first deinstall via chipset drivers then uninstall the via ide hardware.
the swap HD in the new one and youre back on track.

It was necessary for me, Windows on my hard disk wouldn't boot!
--
Andrew. To email unscramble & remove spamtrap.
Help make Usenet a better place: English is read downwards,
please don't top post. Trim messages to quote only relevent text.
Check groups.google.com before asking a question.
  #9  
Old November 8th 03, 11:57 PM
[Q4O]Gizmo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default



"Andrew" [email protected] wrote in message
...
On Sat, 8 Nov 2003 15:58:13 +0100, "[Q4O]Gizmo" wrote:

Not nessery, i changed a via chipset mobo to a nforce2 mobo.
first deinstall via chipset drivers then uninstall the via ide hardware.
the swap HD in the new one and youre back on track.

It was necessary for me, Windows on my hard disk wouldn't boot!
--



i understand, if your window is broken...

I just mention it for the people who want to change a mobo and dont want to
install windows.

i hate (re)installing windows, my windows xp is installed on oktober
2001... never did a reinstall and its rock steady and fast,and saw
a lot of different hardware, ok you have to do some mantenance.

GIZKIZ


  #10  
Old November 25th 03, 10:31 AM
Darthy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 8 Nov 2003 10:36:21 +0100, "Thomas"
wrote:

Ben wrote:
just uninstall the nvidia drivers via add/remove and reboot
shut down - swap cards - reboot
install 3.7 cats (the most stable and bug free for most ppl)
you can always try 3.9s later and if they give problems then role
back to
3.7
the cats include smartgart for adjusting agp - just check the setting
matches what youve set in the bios.
enjoy


We see many problems in this newsgroup with NVidia users that ONLY uninstall
NVidia drivers and switch to ATI cards... If i were the OP, i would indeed
use some registry cleaner... Myself, i usually reinstall windows after i
swap a MAIN component (vid card/mainboard)


Uninstalling the NVidia drivers worked for me...

For the hell of it, I left them ON, then swapped out cards and
installed CAT3.9 - game play was JeRkY... every game played like
crap.

Uninstalled NVidia, reinstalled DX9 - everything is nice and friendly.


--
Remember when real men used Real computers!?
When 512K of video RAM was a lot!

Death to Palladium & WPA!!
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from ti4200 to 9800 pro Robert Jackson Overclocking 4 August 6th 04 12:30 PM
9800 Pro All-in-Wonder, plus a few other questions Venadium Ati Videocards 7 November 10th 03 11:42 PM
Finally got the 9800, but now have some issues... sb Ati Videocards 16 October 16th 03 11:23 PM
Radeon 9800 Pro vs AIW 9800 J.Clarke Ati Videocards 3 October 13th 03 01:00 PM
AIW 9800 Pro overvoltage issue? tempName Ati Videocards 2 September 21st 03 10:11 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.