A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Modem or Router Issue



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old September 4th 19, 06:58 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Bill[_39_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Modem or Router Issue

Paul wrote:

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/tool...ts/router/view

If we instead use the ranker, you can look at a review
for the top rated unit.

https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wire...outer-reviewed


The top rating doesn't mean anything, unless it happens
to map to what you want to do most.

The plots on page 2 show 600-800Mbit/sec WAN/LAN routing capability,
which gives you some headroom on your 60Mbit/sec cable service.



Thank you. Those pages were interesting. --Bill
  #12  
Old September 4th 19, 09:40 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Paul[_28_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,138
Default Modem or Router Issue

Bill wrote:
VanguardLH wrote:

Their User Guide is far more extensive, and 139 pages long

Yes, I downloaded it before I swapped out the router.
The User Guide made me think, but it didn't help me as much as my common
sense. Somehow as a result of disabling "Homegroup" which I didn't
think I needed at the time, the local area connection got disabled, and
that kept me from "seeing or using" the router.
I eventually noticed that the local area connection was disabled,
immediately enabled it, and all was better. Still need to learn more
about Homegroup (and why I need it). I'll consult the manual! : )


https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16833122715

WAN Ports 1 x 10/100M

LAN Ports 4 x 10/100M

Rly??? Ugh. No GbE ?

You're relying on the wireless for performance then.

The WAN connection from the Surfboard is probably OK,
as 100BT is 60Mbit/sec. But now you don't have a lot
of room for upgrades.

CPU1: MediaTek MT7628A = a 580MHz MIPS 24KEc CPU
FLA1: 8 MiB (Brand? Model?)
RAM1: 64 MiB (Nanya NT5TU32M16EG-AC)

The same SOC is in the Netgear AC1200 (R6120), so you can
use WAN to LAN routing charts for that one to
estimate performance on the AC1000.

OK, I had to switch to Asus RT-AC1200 which uses the
same chipset.

https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport...bps_i_pay_for/

"Asus RT-AC1200 will only put out 25mbps.

I pay for 890mbps
"

That tells us your new router is a dud.

To prove me wrong,

Surfboard ---- NetgearAC1000 --- computer (browse to SpeedTest.net, flash based tester)

That benchmark will give you a test of WAN to LAN,
and see if the new router is holding you back.

Speedtest.net is failing for me right now, and I
hope the server in your area works better.

My router has "just enough" WAN to LAN for me to
bench my connection. I found a quote of how much,
before I bought it.

Paul
  #13  
Old September 4th 19, 11:31 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Bill[_39_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Modem or Router Issue

Paul wrote:
Bill wrote:
VanguardLH wrote:

Their User Guide is far more extensive, and 139 pages long

Yes, I downloaded it before I swapped out the router.
The User Guide made me think, but it didn't help me as much as
my common sense.┬* Somehow as a result of disabling "Homegroup"
which I didn't think I needed at the time, the local area
connection got disabled, and that kept me from "seeing or
using" the router.
I eventually noticed that the local area connection was
disabled, immediately enabled it, and all was better. Still
need to learn more about Homegroup (and why I need it). I'll
consult the manual! : )


https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16833122715

┬*┬* WAN Ports┬*┬* 1 x 10/100M

┬*┬* LAN Ports┬*┬* 4 x 10/100M

Rly??? Ugh. No GbE ?

You're relying on the wireless for performance then.

The WAN connection from the Surfboard is probably OK,
as 100BT is 60Mbit/sec. But now you don't have a lot
of room for upgrades.

CPU1: MediaTek MT7628A┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬*┬* = a 580MHz MIPS 24KEc CPU
FLA1: 8 MiB (Brand? Model?)
RAM1: 64 MiB (Nanya NT5TU32M16EG-AC)

The same SOC is in the Netgear AC1200 (R6120), so you can
use WAN to LAN routing charts for that one to
estimate performance on the AC1000.

OK, I had to switch to Asus RT-AC1200 which uses the
same chipset.

https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport...bps_i_pay_for/


┬*┬* "Asus RT-AC1200 will only put out 25mbps.

┬*┬*┬* I pay for 890mbps
┬*┬* "

That tells us your new router is a dud.

To prove me wrong,

┬*┬* Surfboard ---- NetgearAC1000 --- computer (browse to
SpeedTest.net, flash based tester)

That benchmark will give you a test of WAN to LAN,
and see if the new router is holding you back.

Speedtest.net is failing for me right now, and I
hope the server in your area works better.

My router has "just enough" WAN to LAN for me to
bench my connection. I found a quote of how much,
before I bought it.

┬*┬* Paul


Thanks for helping Paul.
Speedtest reported about 71 Mbps download and 6 Mbps upload.
I ran it 3 or 4 times (using different locations) and got almost
exactly the same results. I tried to determine what Comcast's
"Performance Internet" expected upload speed is supposed to be
(but was unsuccessful so far). The advertised download speed is
60 Mbps. I may not have a lot of room for upgrades, but I only
paid $59.99 too--and it seems I am utilizing all of my current
pipeline...no? FWIW, I use only the wired connection, my wife
uses the wireless (she is not particular). Thanks for teaching me
a bit! I'll look up the specs on the Cisco e-1000 and see
whether I upgraded or downgraded...

Bill

  #14  
Old September 4th 19, 05:51 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Paul[_28_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,138
Default Modem or Router Issue

Bill wrote:
Paul wrote:
Bill wrote:
VanguardLH wrote:

Their User Guide is far more extensive, and 139 pages long
Yes, I downloaded it before I swapped out the router.
The User Guide made me think, but it didn't help me as much as my
common sense. Somehow as a result of disabling "Homegroup" which I
didn't think I needed at the time, the local area connection got
disabled, and that kept me from "seeing or using" the router.
I eventually noticed that the local area connection was disabled,
immediately enabled it, and all was better. Still need to learn more
about Homegroup (and why I need it). I'll consult the manual! : )


https://www.newegg.com/p/N82E16833122715

WAN Ports 1 x 10/100M

LAN Ports 4 x 10/100M

Rly??? Ugh. No GbE ?

You're relying on the wireless for performance then.

The WAN connection from the Surfboard is probably OK,
as 100BT is 60Mbit/sec. But now you don't have a lot
of room for upgrades.

CPU1: MediaTek MT7628A = a 580MHz MIPS 24KEc CPU
FLA1: 8 MiB (Brand? Model?)
RAM1: 64 MiB (Nanya NT5TU32M16EG-AC)

The same SOC is in the Netgear AC1200 (R6120), so you can
use WAN to LAN routing charts for that one to
estimate performance on the AC1000.

OK, I had to switch to Asus RT-AC1200 which uses the
same chipset.

https://www.reddit.com/r/techsupport...bps_i_pay_for/


"Asus RT-AC1200 will only put out 25mbps.

I pay for 890mbps
"

That tells us your new router is a dud.

To prove me wrong,

Surfboard ---- NetgearAC1000 --- computer (browse to
SpeedTest.net, flash based tester)

That benchmark will give you a test of WAN to LAN,
and see if the new router is holding you back.

Speedtest.net is failing for me right now, and I
hope the server in your area works better.

My router has "just enough" WAN to LAN for me to
bench my connection. I found a quote of how much,
before I bought it.

Paul


Thanks for helping Paul.
Speedtest reported about 71 Mbps download and 6 Mbps upload.
I ran it 3 or 4 times (using different locations) and got almost exactly
the same results. I tried to determine what Comcast's "Performance
Internet" expected upload speed is supposed to be (but was unsuccessful
so far). The advertised download speed is 60 Mbps. I may not have a
lot of room for upgrades, but I only paid $59.99 too--and it seems I am
utilizing all of my current pipeline...no? FWIW, I use only the wired
connection, my wife uses the wireless (she is not particular). Thanks
for teaching me a bit! I'll look up the specs on the Cisco e-1000 and
see whether I upgraded or downgraded...

Bill


OK, so I don't understand how the other guy only got 25Mbps
from his. It sounds like it isn't holding you back, so it's
a pass.

I'd have used a Smallnetbuilder bench, if I could have found
one for that Mediatek chipset. All I could find was that one
customer comment for a similar product with the same chipset.

Mediatek started out making chips for DVD drives, and has
branched out since. They're a competitor for Broadcom,
which also makes SOCs for modem/router boxes.

Paul
  #15  
Old September 4th 19, 07:56 PM posted to alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
Bill[_39_]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 37
Default Modem or Router Issue

Paul wrote:

OK, so I don't understand how the other guy only got 25Mbps
from his. It sounds like it isn't holding you back, so it's
a pass.


Thanks Paul. It is true that the second thing the installer did
(after being unsuccessful with it's first attempt) is update the
firmware from version 38 to version 42. Who knows, the
unfortunate fellow that you refer to may have had version 5, or
something like that! : )
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About resetting a modem-router Jacko General 11 September 19th 10 05:10 PM
Need Help With Modem-Router-Switch gecko General 5 September 27th 07 01:55 AM
WTB: ADSL Modem Router Switch + Cable Router Swtich + USB Print Server PalindrÔś╗me UK Computer Vendors 6 April 17th 06 09:30 PM
Router-modem for ADSL Zotin Khuma General 1 February 13th 05 04:01 AM
Help with modem/router Alan General 3 September 22nd 04 10:15 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ę2004-2019 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.