A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

BEST CHOICE for ABIT BH6 -GeForce3 or Geforce4 ?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 14th 04, 10:49 PM
John F
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default BEST CHOICE for ABIT BH6 -GeForce3 or Geforce4 ?

Which card is the best performance per dollar for my Abit BH6 v1.0 ? I
believe it has AGP1x/2x at 3.3volts and I'm running a P3 processor at
~1.5Ghz. I've learned from you guys that the card has to be able to do AGP
2x to match my
motherboard. This has to be a *budget* upgrade -I don't want to spend cause
in a year or so I'm gonna have to upgrade the whole thing -motherboard &
video card, and then I'll spend.
Choices a
GeForce4 Ti4200 64Mb ~$60 on Ebay
GeForce3 ~$50 on Ebay
GeForce3 Ti200 ~$40 on Ebay (THis might be the best peformance/dollar?)
GeForce FX 5200 128Mb $55 on Pricewatch
(More?)
-AND of your choice, if you know, which brand goes down to 2x AGP? -Thanks


  #2  
Old January 15th 04, 03:12 AM
PRIVATE1964
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'd go with the 4200
  #3  
Old January 15th 04, 03:21 AM
DaveL
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have an Abit ZM6 (very similar to the bh6) with a 1 gig Celeron. I have
found that it is a good match with a GF3. But you have a 1.5 gig P3. I
think you would get better results with the GF4 ti4200. BTW, what are you
running to get 1.5 gig? Slotket? I love that generation of Abit boards.

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Which card is the best performance per dollar for my Abit BH6 v1.0 ? I
believe it has AGP1x/2x at 3.3volts and I'm running a P3 processor at
~1.5Ghz. I've learned from you guys that the card has to be able to do AGP
2x to match my
motherboard. This has to be a *budget* upgrade -I don't want to spend

cause
in a year or so I'm gonna have to upgrade the whole thing -motherboard &
video card, and then I'll spend.
Choices a
GeForce4 Ti4200 64Mb ~$60 on Ebay
GeForce3 ~$50 on Ebay
GeForce3 Ti200 ~$40 on Ebay (THis might be the best peformance/dollar?)
GeForce FX 5200 128Mb $55 on Pricewatch
(More?)
-AND of your choice, if you know, which brand goes down to 2x

AGP? -Thanks



  #4  
Old January 15th 04, 05:18 AM
John F
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yes I'm using a slotket. And actually it's a Tualatin Celeron P3 at 1.3Ghz
which I'm overclocking at 1.456Ghz. Unlike the normal Celeron's with 128MB
cache, The Tualatin has 256MB cache giving it exact specs of the P3's,
except for the Tualatin's smaller (better) core of .13 instead of
Coppermine's .18


"DaveL" wrote in message
...
I have an Abit ZM6 (very similar to the bh6) with a 1 gig Celeron. I have
found that it is a good match with a GF3. But you have a 1.5 gig P3. I
think you would get better results with the GF4 ti4200. BTW, what are you
running to get 1.5 gig? Slotket? I love that generation of Abit boards.

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Which card is the best performance per dollar for my Abit BH6 v1.0 ? I
believe it has AGP1x/2x at 3.3volts and I'm running a P3 processor at
~1.5Ghz. I've learned from you guys that the card has to be able to do

AGP
2x to match my
motherboard. This has to be a *budget* upgrade -I don't want to spend

cause
in a year or so I'm gonna have to upgrade the whole thing -motherboard &
video card, and then I'll spend.
Choices a
GeForce4 Ti4200 64Mb ~$60 on Ebay
GeForce3 ~$50 on Ebay
GeForce3 Ti200 ~$40 on Ebay (THis might be the best peformance/dollar?)
GeForce FX 5200 128Mb $55 on Pricewatch
(More?)
-AND of your choice, if you know, which brand goes down to 2x

AGP? -Thanks





  #5  
Old January 15th 04, 02:22 PM
BelaLvgosi
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

In a tb1333 from gf3ti200 (running at 175/500, since mems were 4ns) to a
4200 8x (standard 250/513) 6000 to 8000 3dmarks (2001se), but in actual
gameplay, I'm stuck with the same detail settings, it's not enough to raise
them (true reflections and full shadows), but frame rate is more constant
and better in dense zones. For the price difference, I think it's worth it.

"John F" wrote in message
...
Yes I'm using a slotket. And actually it's a Tualatin Celeron P3 at 1.3Ghz
which I'm overclocking at 1.456Ghz. Unlike the normal Celeron's with 128MB
cache, The Tualatin has 256MB cache giving it exact specs of the P3's,
except for the Tualatin's smaller (better) core of .13 instead of
Coppermine's .18


"DaveL" wrote in message
...
I have an Abit ZM6 (very similar to the bh6) with a 1 gig Celeron. I

have
found that it is a good match with a GF3. But you have a 1.5 gig P3. I
think you would get better results with the GF4 ti4200. BTW, what are

you
running to get 1.5 gig? Slotket? I love that generation of Abit

boards.

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Which card is the best performance per dollar for my Abit BH6 v1.0 ? I
believe it has AGP1x/2x at 3.3volts and I'm running a P3 processor at
~1.5Ghz. I've learned from you guys that the card has to be able to do

AGP
2x to match my
motherboard. This has to be a *budget* upgrade -I don't want to spend

cause
in a year or so I'm gonna have to upgrade the whole thing -motherboard

&
video card, and then I'll spend.
Choices a
GeForce4 Ti4200 64Mb ~$60 on Ebay
GeForce3 ~$50 on Ebay
GeForce3 Ti200 ~$40 on Ebay (THis might be the best

peformance/dollar?)
GeForce FX 5200 128Mb $55 on Pricewatch
(More?)
-AND of your choice, if you know, which brand goes down to 2x

AGP? -Thanks







  #6  
Old January 15th 04, 06:32 PM
DaveL
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Is that a Slot-T slotket?

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Yes I'm using a slotket. And actually it's a Tualatin Celeron P3 at 1.3Ghz
which I'm overclocking at 1.456Ghz. Unlike the normal Celeron's with 128MB
cache, The Tualatin has 256MB cache giving it exact specs of the P3's,
except for the Tualatin's smaller (better) core of .13 instead of
Coppermine's .18


"DaveL" wrote in message
...
I have an Abit ZM6 (very similar to the bh6) with a 1 gig Celeron. I

have
found that it is a good match with a GF3. But you have a 1.5 gig P3. I
think you would get better results with the GF4 ti4200. BTW, what are

you
running to get 1.5 gig? Slotket? I love that generation of Abit

boards.

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Which card is the best performance per dollar for my Abit BH6 v1.0 ? I
believe it has AGP1x/2x at 3.3volts and I'm running a P3 processor at
~1.5Ghz. I've learned from you guys that the card has to be able to do

AGP
2x to match my
motherboard. This has to be a *budget* upgrade -I don't want to spend

cause
in a year or so I'm gonna have to upgrade the whole thing -motherboard

&
video card, and then I'll spend.
Choices a
GeForce4 Ti4200 64Mb ~$60 on Ebay
GeForce3 ~$50 on Ebay
GeForce3 Ti200 ~$40 on Ebay (THis might be the best

peformance/dollar?)
GeForce FX 5200 128Mb $55 on Pricewatch
(More?)
-AND of your choice, if you know, which brand goes down to 2x

AGP? -Thanks






  #7  
Old January 15th 04, 09:15 PM
John F
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

yes

"DaveL" wrote in message
...
Is that a Slot-T slotket?

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Yes I'm using a slotket. And actually it's a Tualatin Celeron P3 at

1.3Ghz
which I'm overclocking at 1.456Ghz. Unlike the normal Celeron's with

128MB
cache, The Tualatin has 256MB cache giving it exact specs of the P3's,
except for the Tualatin's smaller (better) core of .13 instead of
Coppermine's .18


"DaveL" wrote in message
...
I have an Abit ZM6 (very similar to the bh6) with a 1 gig Celeron. I

have
found that it is a good match with a GF3. But you have a 1.5 gig P3.

I
think you would get better results with the GF4 ti4200. BTW, what are

you
running to get 1.5 gig? Slotket? I love that generation of Abit

boards.

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Which card is the best performance per dollar for my Abit BH6 v1.0 ?

I
believe it has AGP1x/2x at 3.3volts and I'm running a P3 processor

at
~1.5Ghz. I've learned from you guys that the card has to be able to

do
AGP
2x to match my
motherboard. This has to be a *budget* upgrade -I don't want to

spend
cause
in a year or so I'm gonna have to upgrade the whole

thing -motherboard
&
video card, and then I'll spend.
Choices a
GeForce4 Ti4200 64Mb ~$60 on Ebay
GeForce3 ~$50 on Ebay
GeForce3 Ti200 ~$40 on Ebay (THis might be the best

peformance/dollar?)
GeForce FX 5200 128Mb $55 on Pricewatch
(More?)
-AND of your choice, if you know, which brand goes down to 2x
AGP? -Thanks








  #8  
Old January 16th 04, 05:56 AM
NuT CrAcKeR
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

KB... Not MB


"John F" wrote in message
...
Yes I'm using a slotket. And actually it's a Tualatin Celeron P3 at 1.3Ghz
which I'm overclocking at 1.456Ghz. Unlike the normal Celeron's with 128MB
cache, The Tualatin has 256MB cache giving it exact specs of the P3's,
except for the Tualatin's smaller (better) core of .13 instead of
Coppermine's .18


"DaveL" wrote in message
...
I have an Abit ZM6 (very similar to the bh6) with a 1 gig Celeron. I

have
found that it is a good match with a GF3. But you have a 1.5 gig P3. I
think you would get better results with the GF4 ti4200. BTW, what are

you
running to get 1.5 gig? Slotket? I love that generation of Abit

boards.

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Which card is the best performance per dollar for my Abit BH6 v1.0 ? I
believe it has AGP1x/2x at 3.3volts and I'm running a P3 processor at
~1.5Ghz. I've learned from you guys that the card has to be able to do

AGP
2x to match my
motherboard. This has to be a *budget* upgrade -I don't want to spend

cause
in a year or so I'm gonna have to upgrade the whole thing -motherboard

&
video card, and then I'll spend.
Choices a
GeForce4 Ti4200 64Mb ~$60 on Ebay
GeForce3 ~$50 on Ebay
GeForce3 Ti200 ~$40 on Ebay (THis might be the best

peformance/dollar?)
GeForce FX 5200 128Mb $55 on Pricewatch
(More?)
-AND of your choice, if you know, which brand goes down to 2x

AGP? -Thanks







  #9  
Old January 16th 04, 09:14 AM
John F
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

oops :-)

"NuT CrAcKeR" wrote in message
...
KB... Not MB


"John F" wrote in message
...
Yes I'm using a slotket. And actually it's a Tualatin Celeron P3 at

1.3Ghz
which I'm overclocking at 1.456Ghz. Unlike the normal Celeron's with

128MB
cache, The Tualatin has 256MB cache giving it exact specs of the P3's,
except for the Tualatin's smaller (better) core of .13 instead of
Coppermine's .18


"DaveL" wrote in message
...
I have an Abit ZM6 (very similar to the bh6) with a 1 gig Celeron. I

have
found that it is a good match with a GF3. But you have a 1.5 gig P3.

I
think you would get better results with the GF4 ti4200. BTW, what are

you
running to get 1.5 gig? Slotket? I love that generation of Abit

boards.

Dave


"John F" wrote in message
...
Which card is the best performance per dollar for my Abit BH6 v1.0 ?

I
believe it has AGP1x/2x at 3.3volts and I'm running a P3 processor

at
~1.5Ghz. I've learned from you guys that the card has to be able to

do
AGP
2x to match my
motherboard. This has to be a *budget* upgrade -I don't want to

spend
cause
in a year or so I'm gonna have to upgrade the whole

thing -motherboard
&
video card, and then I'll spend.
Choices a
GeForce4 Ti4200 64Mb ~$60 on Ebay
GeForce3 ~$50 on Ebay
GeForce3 Ti200 ~$40 on Ebay (THis might be the best

peformance/dollar?)
GeForce FX 5200 128Mb $55 on Pricewatch
(More?)
-AND of your choice, if you know, which brand goes down to 2x
AGP? -Thanks









  #10  
Old January 17th 04, 12:43 AM
... et al.
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

NuT CrAcKeR wrote nothing besides:

KB... Not MB


kB ... Not KB

[ or put differently, why is it that most people use just this (binary)
prefix with a different case to the normal use of decimal prefixes as
used throughout science as per the SI Unit Prefixes endorsed by the
International System of Units ? ]

--
Please followup in newsgroup.
E-mail address is invalid due to spam-control.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GeForce4 mx 440 - vs. - GeForce3 TI200 TFM® Nvidia Videocards 1 January 3rd 04 11:56 AM
Is my Mentor GeForce4 MX440 knackered? (long) Andy Jones Nvidia Videocards 1 December 19th 03 08:51 PM
Is my Mentor GeForce4 MX440 knackered? (long) Andy Jones Nvidia Videocards 1 December 13th 03 05:02 AM
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X JD Ross Nvidia Videocards 3 December 4th 03 02:39 PM
GeForce3 ti500 vs GeForce4 MX 420 carchadon Nvidia Videocards 2 July 1st 03 10:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.