A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » Homebuilt PC's
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

BIOS overclock = WinXP blue screen of death. Help!



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 2nd 03, 08:08 AM
Mitchua
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default BIOS overclock = WinXP blue screen of death. Help!

When I overclock my AMD1800+XP a bit, I get the Windows XP blue screen when
I boot up. I'm pretty sure all it is detecting is a system upgrade (if I
had overclocked too much, the computer wouldn't make it that far, right?),
and wants to reinstall/repair Windows XP. Is there any way to disable this
screen so I don't have to repair my Windows installation (which would lose
my SP1 update....I think)?

Thanks for your help.
--Mitchua


  #2  
Old August 2nd 03, 01:12 PM
rochyy
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Instead of over clocking - why dont you buy a bigger processor????
"Mitchua" wrote in message
le.rogers.com...
When I overclock my AMD1800+XP a bit, I get the Windows XP blue screen

when
I boot up. I'm pretty sure all it is detecting is a system upgrade (if I
had overclocked too much, the computer wouldn't make it that far, right?),
and wants to reinstall/repair Windows XP. Is there any way to disable

this
screen so I don't have to repair my Windows installation (which would lose
my SP1 update....I think)?

Thanks for your help.
--Mitchua




  #3  
Old August 2nd 03, 06:34 PM
Mitchua
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"BUFF" wrote in message
...

"Mitchua" wrote in message
.rogers.com...
"rochyy" wrote in message
...
Instead of over clocking - why dont you buy a bigger processor????


I doubt I'd see any preformance difference between my 1800+ and a 2200+
(which I think is the fastest chip I can use on my Asus A7V266-E mobo).

If
I wanted to spend money, I'd upgrade my ATI Radeon 700 64MB to a GF4

4200ti,
that I'd notice :-)

--Mitchua


With the latest BIOS you can run an XP2600+ 266FSB chip in an A7V266-E if
you can find one.


Good to know. Thanks.

I upgraded from an XP1800+ to an XP2400+ (couldn't find an XP2600+ 266FSB
chip) & by changing multipliers it is now happily running at 2.3Ghz -
effectively something over an XP2800+.


Did you really notice that much of a difference in preformance?


Is your XP1800+ a Palomino, Thoroughbred "A" or "B"?


Palomino.

The A7V266-E is not a good FSB overclocker (usually about 145 max) but if
you have a Thoroughbred "B" you can probably adjust the multiplier (have

to
move the Palo freq jumper back to Athlon/Duron) without any surgery to the
chip. Otherwise you will have to unlock the chip.


It was booting into WinXP "stable" at 11.5 mult,148 fsb,1.85volt (~1701mhz)
but I'd be downloading something and then BANG blue screen of death. I
assume that was OC'ed too high (right?). Anyhow, I settled on 1.80volt,
11.5 mult, 138 fsh = 1621MHz and it seems to be running stable. Should I
try to OC it any more?

SNIP



  #4  
Old August 2nd 03, 06:50 PM
BUFF
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


"Mitchua" wrote in message
e.rogers.com...


I upgraded from an XP1800+ to an XP2400+ (couldn't find an XP2600+

266FSB
chip) & by changing multipliers it is now happily running at 2.3Ghz -
effectively something over an XP2800+.


Did you really notice that much of a difference in preformance?

With a 50% jump in clockspeed -in 2D no, in games yes, but that PC runs an
unlocked ATI 9500 Pro & the CPU was the bottleneck.

Is your XP1800+ a Palomino, Thoroughbred "A" or "B"?


Palomino.


Not a lot you can do then unless you fancy some surgery.


The A7V266-E is not a good FSB overclocker (usually about 145 max) but

if
you have a Thoroughbred "B" you can probably adjust the multiplier (have

to
move the Palo freq jumper back to Athlon/Duron) without any surgery to

the
chip. Otherwise you will have to unlock the chip.


It was booting into WinXP "stable" at 11.5 mult,148 fsb,1.85volt

(~1701mhz)
but I'd be downloading something and then BANG blue screen of death. I
assume that was OC'ed too high (right?). Anyhow, I settled on 1.80volt,
11.5 mult, 138 fsh = 1621MHz and it seems to be running stable. Should I
try to OC it any more?

SNIP



As I said usually about 145 is the max so you were doing pretty well at 148.
A Palomino & an A7V266-E are just not a great overclocking platform (very
stable everyday rig though).


  #5  
Old October 7th 03, 02:21 PM
mchiper
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default


In alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt, Msg ID:
"BUFF" , wrote:

But No matter what he does,
It's winxp death.. Am I right?


"Mitchua" wrote in message
e.rogers.com...
"rochyy" wrote in message
...
Instead of over clocking - why dont you buy a bigger processor????


I doubt I'd see any preformance difference between my 1800+ and a 2200+
(which I think is the fastest chip I can use on my Asus A7V266-E mobo).

If
I wanted to spend money, I'd upgrade my ATI Radeon 700 64MB to a GF4

4200ti,
that I'd notice :-)

--Mitchua


With the latest BIOS you can run an XP2600+ 266FSB chip in an A7V266-E if
you can find one.
I upgraded from an XP1800+ to an XP2400+ (couldn't find an XP2600+ 266FSB
chip) & by changing multipliers it is now happily running at 2.3Ghz -
effectively something over an XP2800+.

Is your XP1800+ a Palomino, Thoroughbred "A" or "B"?
The A7V266-E is not a good FSB overclocker (usually about 145 max) but if
you have a Thoroughbred "B" you can probably adjust the multiplier (have to
move the Palo freq jumper back to Athlon/Duron) without any surgery to the
chip. Otherwise you will have to unlock the chip.

& PC's will boot into BIOS at speeds that they can't run Windows at so it
probably isn't just detecting the upgrade.


--
Ray
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue screen playing games Where's Wally General 11 January 19th 07 06:17 PM
Downgrading the BIOS of my p4p800-vm...possible? KILOWATT General 3 January 2nd 04 09:37 PM
Soltek SL-75FRN2-L BIOS flashing problem Ante Lazarusic General 4 October 23rd 03 02:22 PM
BIOS Gricalus General 3 July 13th 03 12:07 PM
bios hung while flashing mdp General 1 June 23rd 03 11:18 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.