A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Processors » Overclocking AMD Processors
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Athlon 2400+ and Gigabyte Triton series mobo: Overclock?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 16th 03, 03:02 AM
who be dat?
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Athlon 2400+ and Gigabyte Triton series mobo: Overclock?

I recently purchased a Gigabyte K7 Triton series mobo, model GA-7n400-L to
be specific, and an AMD 2400+ CPU, the 266 MHz FSB version.

I'm thinking about overclocking the CPU. I can't do this thru the BIOS (the
BIOS for this board sucks when it comes to overclocking...). There are dip
switches on the board. Currently, they are set to Auto for the FSB and the
CPU, it will automatically set the FSB speed and the multiplier.

I'd rather not overclocking by adjusting the FSB. Some games I play start
getting jerky when I do that (namely UT2003). However, I'm hoping to adjust
the clock multiplier by setting the switches accordingly and bump up the
speed a bit. Question: is it possible to do with this CPU or is it
"locked"? Also, with regular cooling (CPU fan, 2 fans sucking air out of
the case, 2 blowing air in), how much can I realistically expect to
overclock. If I can only bump it up to 2500+ plus level, then it quite
frankly isn't worth it to me. HOwever, if I can get a bit more...

Thanks for any thoughts and cya!!

Chris Smith


  #2  
Old November 16th 03, 12:50 PM
Aussie
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Ditch the board.U'll screw things up real bad or use it stock.I went from
7VA to 7N400Pro to A7N8X-Dlx to (which i should of done it from the start)
EPOX 8RDA+ v2.1.This board is something else believe me.My 2500+ which i
couldnt get it over 2.2 with previous boards is running @2.4GHz(Out of the
box).Cpu temp sitting on 46*C,room temp. 21*C.Fan is Volcano 11+,can play
MP2,Chrome,Freed.Fighter,UT03,CallOfDuty etc. no worries...What i mean is
dont waste ur time with that board, because what ever u do or however hard u
try u wont get anywhere , believe me i've wasted 4 months with above
mentioned freesbees.Something to think about..

Have a Nice Day From Down Under :-))))


"who be dat?" wrote in message
...
I recently purchased a Gigabyte K7 Triton series mobo, model GA-7n400-L to
be specific, and an AMD 2400+ CPU, the 266 MHz FSB version.

I'm thinking about overclocking the CPU. I can't do this thru the BIOS

(the
BIOS for this board sucks when it comes to overclocking...). There are

dip
switches on the board. Currently, they are set to Auto for the FSB and

the
CPU, it will automatically set the FSB speed and the multiplier.

I'd rather not overclocking by adjusting the FSB. Some games I play start
getting jerky when I do that (namely UT2003). However, I'm hoping to

adjust
the clock multiplier by setting the switches accordingly and bump up the
speed a bit. Question: is it possible to do with this CPU or is it
"locked"? Also, with regular cooling (CPU fan, 2 fans sucking air out of
the case, 2 blowing air in), how much can I realistically expect to
overclock. If I can only bump it up to 2500+ plus level, then it quite
frankly isn't worth it to me. HOwever, if I can get a bit more...

Thanks for any thoughts and cya!!

Chris Smith




  #3  
Old November 16th 03, 04:08 PM
CoCo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hi

what's wrong with 7n400 pro? i got the pro2 version and i have mine barton
2500 @ 2400mhz.

coco

"Aussie" skrev i meddelandet
...
Ditch the board.U'll screw things up real bad or use it stock.I went from
7VA to 7N400Pro to A7N8X-Dlx to (which i should of done it from the start)
EPOX 8RDA+ v2.1.This board is something else believe me.My 2500+ which i
couldnt get it over 2.2 with previous boards is running @2.4GHz(Out of the
box).Cpu temp sitting on 46*C,room temp. 21*C.Fan is Volcano 11+,can play
MP2,Chrome,Freed.Fighter,UT03,CallOfDuty etc. no worries...What i mean is
dont waste ur time with that board, because what ever u do or however hard

u
try u wont get anywhere , believe me i've wasted 4 months with above
mentioned freesbees.Something to think about..

Have a Nice Day From Down Under :-))))


"who be dat?" wrote in message
...
I recently purchased a Gigabyte K7 Triton series mobo, model GA-7n400-L

to
be specific, and an AMD 2400+ CPU, the 266 MHz FSB version.

I'm thinking about overclocking the CPU. I can't do this thru the BIOS

(the
BIOS for this board sucks when it comes to overclocking...). There are

dip
switches on the board. Currently, they are set to Auto for the FSB and

the
CPU, it will automatically set the FSB speed and the multiplier.

I'd rather not overclocking by adjusting the FSB. Some games I play

start
getting jerky when I do that (namely UT2003). However, I'm hoping to

adjust
the clock multiplier by setting the switches accordingly and bump up the
speed a bit. Question: is it possible to do with this CPU or is it
"locked"? Also, with regular cooling (CPU fan, 2 fans sucking air out

of
the case, 2 blowing air in), how much can I realistically expect to
overclock. If I can only bump it up to 2500+ plus level, then it quite
frankly isn't worth it to me. HOwever, if I can get a bit more...

Thanks for any thoughts and cya!!

Chris Smith






  #4  
Old November 16th 03, 04:12 PM
CoCo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

hi

you can only use the dips for changing the mult! thats one off the bad about
this board.
but you have to have an unlocked cpu.

if you're 2400 is locked then maybe a new barton 2500 (locked by now) will
do nice.
even locked it will do 200 fsb (11x 200 = 2100mhz)

coco

"who be dat?" skrev i meddelandet
...
I recently purchased a Gigabyte K7 Triton series mobo, model GA-7n400-L to
be specific, and an AMD 2400+ CPU, the 266 MHz FSB version.

I'm thinking about overclocking the CPU. I can't do this thru the BIOS

(the
BIOS for this board sucks when it comes to overclocking...). There are

dip
switches on the board. Currently, they are set to Auto for the FSB and

the
CPU, it will automatically set the FSB speed and the multiplier.

I'd rather not overclocking by adjusting the FSB. Some games I play start
getting jerky when I do that (namely UT2003). However, I'm hoping to

adjust
the clock multiplier by setting the switches accordingly and bump up the
speed a bit. Question: is it possible to do with this CPU or is it
"locked"? Also, with regular cooling (CPU fan, 2 fans sucking air out of
the case, 2 blowing air in), how much can I realistically expect to
overclock. If I can only bump it up to 2500+ plus level, then it quite
frankly isn't worth it to me. HOwever, if I can get a bit more...

Thanks for any thoughts and cya!!

Chris Smith




  #5  
Old November 16th 03, 08:35 PM
who be dat?
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yeah, I figured I would have to use the dip switches. Now then, how do I
determine if the CPU is locked? Is there the possibility I could damage
anything if I tried to change the multiplier and the CPU was locked? I
suspect no but am not sure.

Any idea how much I can overclock it? I suspect not much which makes not
want to even bother.

I'd rather not buy anything new. Thanks to a really dumb mistake on my
part, I ended up buying a new mobo and CPU. I really don't want to buy
anythign new until the new Athlon 64 FX's come out, 939 pin based. At this
point, I'll buy a brand new system from teh ground up.

C-ya!

Chris Smith


"CoCo" wrote in message
...
hi

you can only use the dips for changing the mult! thats one off the bad

about
this board.
but you have to have an unlocked cpu.

if you're 2400 is locked then maybe a new barton 2500 (locked by now) will
do nice.
even locked it will do 200 fsb (11x 200 = 2100mhz)

coco

"who be dat?" skrev i meddelandet
...
I recently purchased a Gigabyte K7 Triton series mobo, model GA-7n400-L

to
be specific, and an AMD 2400+ CPU, the 266 MHz FSB version.

I'm thinking about overclocking the CPU. I can't do this thru the BIOS

(the
BIOS for this board sucks when it comes to overclocking...). There are

dip
switches on the board. Currently, they are set to Auto for the FSB and

the
CPU, it will automatically set the FSB speed and the multiplier.

I'd rather not overclocking by adjusting the FSB. Some games I play

start
getting jerky when I do that (namely UT2003). However, I'm hoping to

adjust
the clock multiplier by setting the switches accordingly and bump up the
speed a bit. Question: is it possible to do with this CPU or is it
"locked"? Also, with regular cooling (CPU fan, 2 fans sucking air out

of
the case, 2 blowing air in), how much can I realistically expect to
overclock. If I can only bump it up to 2500+ plus level, then it quite
frankly isn't worth it to me. HOwever, if I can get a bit more...

Thanks for any thoughts and cya!!

Chris Smith






  #6  
Old November 17th 03, 06:35 AM
~misfit~
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

CoCo wrote:
hi

you can only use the dips for changing the mult! thats one off the
bad about this board.
but you have to have an unlocked cpu.

if you're 2400 is locked then maybe a new barton 2500 (locked by now)
will do nice.
even locked it will do 200 fsb (11x 200 = 2100mhz)


Dude, your math is out a little. 11x 200 = 2200MHz.
--
~misfit~


  #7  
Old November 17th 03, 10:41 AM
CoCo
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

okokok
"~misfit~" skrev i meddelandet
...
CoCo wrote:
hi

you can only use the dips for changing the mult! thats one off the
bad about this board.
but you have to have an unlocked cpu.

if you're 2400 is locked then maybe a new barton 2500 (locked by now)
will do nice.
even locked it will do 200 fsb (11x 200 = 2100mhz)


Dude, your math is out a little. 11x 200 = 2200MHz.
--
~misfit~




  #8  
Old November 20th 03, 05:52 PM
who be dat?
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well, I gave it a shot. The CPU is locked as I figured it would be. Damn.
Thanks for your thoughts fellas. C-ya!

Chris Smith

"CoCo" wrote in message
...
hi

"who be dat?" skrev i meddelandet
...
Yeah, I figured I would have to use the dip switches. Now then, how do

I
determine if the CPU is locked? Is there the possibility I could damage
anything if I tried to change the multiplier and the CPU was locked? I
suspect no but am not sure.


no problems, if locked mult/speed will not change at all.

Any idea how much I can overclock it? I suspect not much which makes

not
want to even bother.


no one knows! read:

http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...0&pagenumber=1

and


http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...0&pagenumber=1

coco

I'd rather not buy anything new. Thanks to a really dumb mistake on my
part, I ended up buying a new mobo and CPU. I really don't want to buy
anythign new until the new Athlon 64 FX's come out, 939 pin based. At

this
point, I'll buy a brand new system from teh ground up.

C-ya!

Chris Smith


"CoCo" wrote in message
...
hi

you can only use the dips for changing the mult! thats one off the bad

about
this board.
but you have to have an unlocked cpu.

if you're 2400 is locked then maybe a new barton 2500 (locked by now)

will
do nice.
even locked it will do 200 fsb (11x 200 = 2100mhz)

coco

"who be dat?" skrev i meddelandet
...
I recently purchased a Gigabyte K7 Triton series mobo, model

GA-7n400-L
to
be specific, and an AMD 2400+ CPU, the 266 MHz FSB version.

I'm thinking about overclocking the CPU. I can't do this thru the

BIOS
(the
BIOS for this board sucks when it comes to overclocking...). There

are
dip
switches on the board. Currently, they are set to Auto for the FSB

and
the
CPU, it will automatically set the FSB speed and the multiplier.

I'd rather not overclocking by adjusting the FSB. Some games I play

start
getting jerky when I do that (namely UT2003). However, I'm hoping

to
adjust
the clock multiplier by setting the switches accordingly and bump up

the
speed a bit. Question: is it possible to do with this CPU or is it
"locked"? Also, with regular cooling (CPU fan, 2 fans sucking air

out
of
the case, 2 blowing air in), how much can I realistically expect to
overclock. If I can only bump it up to 2500+ plus level, then it

quite
frankly isn't worth it to me. HOwever, if I can get a bit more...

Thanks for any thoughts and cya!!

Chris Smith










 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.