A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Replaces power supply P3BF



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 13th 06, 09:27 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Martin L
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default Replaces power supply P3BF

Hi.
I just replaced the power supply in my old P3BF Asus motherboard

Now, when I start, I get an Hardware monitor found an error, press DEL to
enter setup and check monitor status.

In the voltages section, where it should be -5V it's -6.1V in red.

I tried another power supply and get the same error.

The computer runs fine however if I ignore this error but would like to know
why I get this.

Thanks


  #2  
Old November 13th 06, 10:29 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
CBFalconer
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 919
Default Replaces power supply P3BF

Martin L wrote:

I just replaced the power supply in my old P3BF Asus motherboard

Now, when I start, I get an Hardware monitor found an error, press
DEL to enter setup and check monitor status.

In the voltages section, where it should be -5V it's -6.1V in red.

I tried another power supply and get the same error.

The computer runs fine however if I ignore this error but would
like to know why I get this.


Because the -5 line is unused, and thus unloaded.

--
Chuck F (cbfalconer at maineline dot net)
Available for consulting/temporary embedded and systems.
http://cbfalconer.home.att.net

  #3  
Old November 13th 06, 11:38 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
kony
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,416
Default Replaces power supply P3BF

On Mon, 13 Nov 2006 03:27:55 -0500, "Martin L"
wrote:

Hi.
I just replaced the power supply in my old P3BF Asus motherboard

Now, when I start, I get an Hardware monitor found an error, press DEL to
enter setup and check monitor status.


See if the board bios has an option to not halt on errors,
or only halt on selected errors instead of all of them.


In the voltages section, where it should be -5V it's -6.1V in red.


That's not a problem, most systems from the past decade or
so don't use -5V anymore so if the PSU doesnt' load that
rail internally, it may stray off the expected value but it
isnt' a problem per se.



I tried another power supply and get the same error.

The computer runs fine however if I ignore this error but would like to know
why I get this.


BIOS glitch, they didn't take into account that this -5V
might not be stable without anything using it. Some PSU
don't have this instable -5V rail but I wouldn't change the
PSU just to get one that doesn't, unless you can't disable
the BIOS setting, error message halting the system and find
it too annoying to keep pressing DEL to continue booting.
  #4  
Old November 15th 06, 02:46 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
MrB
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 8
Default Replaces power supply P3BF

Don't know about the P3b, but had the same issue with a P4b and the bios
allowed not stopping for errors.

"kony" wrote in message
...
On Mon, 13 Nov 2006 03:27:55 -0500, "Martin L"
wrote:

Hi.
I just replaced the power supply in my old P3BF Asus motherboard

Now, when I start, I get an Hardware monitor found an error, press DEL to
enter setup and check monitor status.


See if the board bios has an option to not halt on errors,
or only halt on selected errors instead of all of them.


In the voltages section, where it should be -5V it's -6.1V in red.


That's not a problem, most systems from the past decade or
so don't use -5V anymore so if the PSU doesnt' load that
rail internally, it may stray off the expected value but it
isnt' a problem per se.



I tried another power supply and get the same error.

The computer runs fine however if I ignore this error but would like to
know
why I get this.


BIOS glitch, they didn't take into account that this -5V
might not be stable without anything using it. Some PSU
don't have this instable -5V rail but I wouldn't change the
PSU just to get one that doesn't, unless you can't disable
the BIOS setting, error message halting the system and find
it too annoying to keep pressing DEL to continue booting.



  #5  
Old November 15th 06, 07:18 AM posted to alt.comp.hardware
Martin L
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2
Default Replaces power supply P3BF

In fact, I have that option in the bios to ignore the error but was curious
to know why it happend.

Thanks


"MrB" a écrit dans le message de news:
...
Don't know about the P3b, but had the same issue with a P4b and the bios
allowed not stopping for errors.

"kony" wrote in message
...
On Mon, 13 Nov 2006 03:27:55 -0500, "Martin L"
wrote:

Hi.
I just replaced the power supply in my old P3BF Asus motherboard

Now, when I start, I get an Hardware monitor found an error, press DEL to
enter setup and check monitor status.


See if the board bios has an option to not halt on errors,
or only halt on selected errors instead of all of them.


In the voltages section, where it should be -5V it's -6.1V in red.


That's not a problem, most systems from the past decade or
so don't use -5V anymore so if the PSU doesnt' load that
rail internally, it may stray off the expected value but it
isnt' a problem per se.



I tried another power supply and get the same error.

The computer runs fine however if I ignore this error but would like to
know
why I get this.


BIOS glitch, they didn't take into account that this -5V
might not be stable without anything using it. Some PSU
don't have this instable -5V rail but I wouldn't change the
PSU just to get one that doesn't, unless you can't disable
the BIOS setting, error message halting the system and find
it too annoying to keep pressing DEL to continue booting.





 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF325-A7 Biostar AMD 754 Processor Power On Problem David Sontag Homebuilt PC's 4 October 28th 06 10:00 PM
power supply damaged even with ups ??????????? Vanguard General 1 January 1st 06 03:09 AM
x800xl and Far Cry, disasterous! AAvK Ati Videocards 44 October 14th 05 01:42 PM
Maxtor 120 GB HD clicks constantly on Intel CA810EAL system when all by itself Rod Speed Storage (alternative) 1 April 5th 04 07:24 PM
PSU Fans Muttly General 16 February 13th 04 11:42 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.