A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Chaintech Ti4200 and D3D Problem



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 1st 03, 07:52 PM
Rev. Tim McIntire
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Chaintech Ti4200 and D3D Problem

Hey, all...

I've been Googling all day to find a solution (or at least a reason) for
my problem, which is that I just finished putting together a new machine,
and everything's great except I'm experiencing some D3D errors with my
Chaintech Ti4200 64MB vid card.

My setup:

AMD Athlon XP+ 2600
512 MB DDR400
Aopen AK77-400N motherboard
Chaintech Ti4200 64 MB video card
Win98SE (for games)

I've tried old and new drivers for the card, DirectX 8 and Direct X 9,
stepping the card down to 4X AGP, but so far, every time I run dxdiag, I
fail all the D3D tests.

I'd be very grateful for any ideas anyone can throw my way. I was hoping
to spend a lazy Saturday watching my old games suddenly look better, and
instead, I'm looking at UT in windowed mode and failing dxdiag tests.

Thanks a million!

--
Rev. Tim McIntire
http://www.reverendtim.com
  #2  
Old November 1st 03, 08:22 PM
phobos
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Rev. Tim McIntire wrote:

Hey, all...

I've been Googling all day to find a solution (or at least a reason) for
my problem, which is that I just finished putting together a new machine,
and everything's great except I'm experiencing some D3D errors with my
Chaintech Ti4200 64MB vid card.

My setup:

AMD Athlon XP+ 2600
512 MB DDR400
Aopen AK77-400N motherboard
Chaintech Ti4200 64 MB video card
Win98SE (for games)

I've tried old and new drivers for the card, DirectX 8 and Direct X 9,
stepping the card down to 4X AGP, but so far, every time I run dxdiag, I
fail all the D3D tests.

I'd be very grateful for any ideas anyone can throw my way. I was hoping
to spend a lazy Saturday watching my old games suddenly look better, and
instead, I'm looking at UT in windowed mode and failing dxdiag tests.

Thanks a million!

--
Rev. Tim McIntire
http://www.reverendtim.com


Had the same problem on a recent rebuild with a old KT133a board.
Sometimes there's a PCI latency bug with certain boards. Check with
amdmb.com forums and see if there was an old "MWQ bug" or "pci latency
fix/filter patch" for your board in previous chipset drivers.

Also, disable fastwrites and sideband addressing in the bios. Then if
all that fails, check for a card bios update. I've seen several people
cure infinite loop and 'no acceleration' problems by updating buggy bioses.

  #3  
Old November 1st 03, 11:05 PM
Sept1967
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Do you have the newest VIA Hyperion (4in1) drivers? And try older
Detonators.


"Rev. Tim McIntire" wrote in message
news
Hey, all...

I've been Googling all day to find a solution (or at least a reason) for
my problem, which is that I just finished putting together a new machine,
and everything's great except I'm experiencing some D3D errors with my
Chaintech Ti4200 64MB vid card.

My setup:

AMD Athlon XP+ 2600
512 MB DDR400
Aopen AK77-400N motherboard
Chaintech Ti4200 64 MB video card
Win98SE (for games)

I've tried old and new drivers for the card, DirectX 8 and Direct X 9,
stepping the card down to 4X AGP, but so far, every time I run dxdiag, I
fail all the D3D tests.

I'd be very grateful for any ideas anyone can throw my way. I was hoping
to spend a lazy Saturday watching my old games suddenly look better, and
instead, I'm looking at UT in windowed mode and failing dxdiag tests.

Thanks a million!

--
Rev. Tim McIntire
http://www.reverendtim.com



  #4  
Old November 2nd 03, 04:04 AM
Rev. Tim McIntire
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 01 Nov 2003 15:05:14 -0800, Sept1967 wrote:

Do you have the newest VIA Hyperion (4in1) drivers? And try older
Detonators.


I believe I have the newest VIA drivers, but I'll double-check. How far
back do you recommend I go on the Detonators?

--
Rev. Tim
http://www.reverendtim.com

  #5  
Old November 2nd 03, 04:53 AM
Sept1967
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Try the late 33.xx series up to early 44 series. I use 44.03 on mine.

"Rev. Tim McIntire" wrote in message
news
On Sat, 01 Nov 2003 15:05:14 -0800, Sept1967 wrote:

Do you have the newest VIA Hyperion (4in1) drivers? And try older
Detonators.


I believe I have the newest VIA drivers, but I'll double-check. How far
back do you recommend I go on the Detonators?

--
Rev. Tim
http://www.reverendtim.com



  #6  
Old November 2nd 03, 05:08 AM
Rev. Tim McIntire
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

On Sat, 01 Nov 2003 20:53:29 -0800, Sept1967 wrote:

Try the late 33.xx series up to early 44 series. I use 44.03 on mine.


Brother man, I do believe you solved my problem! I downloaded the latest
Hyperion drivers, installed 'em. Then I uninstalled my nVidia 45.23 (I
think, it's late, and I'm not too bright) and loaded 40.something. Reboot,
and UT ran as it should for about five minutes, then it froze hard. I
rebooted and ran Ghost Recon, and it ran for about five minutes, and IT
froze hard. So I uninstalled the older nVidia drivers and reinstalled the
newest, rebooted, and so far, everything *seems* to be working okay.
Maybe it WAS the VIA drivers that were the problem.

Should I get the hard freeze again (and the pessimist in me assumes I
will), is that a more accurate symptom of something, do y'all think?
Either way, I'm going to bed relieved instead of angry at the technology
gods, so thanks for EVERYTHING.

--
Rev. Tim
http://www.reverendtim.com
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.