A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Nvidia Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Is the Geforce 6200 256 Good for Age of Empires III?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 22nd 05, 04:05 AM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is the Geforce 6200 256 Good for Age of Empires III?

I was looking at this one from newegg.com:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150107

XFX PVT44AWAMG Geforce 6200 256MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Retail
Model #: PVT44AWAMG
Item #: N82E16814150107

I only have $100.00. I can wait and save, if I have to. I want the
best from my RTS games. Sorry, don't do a lot of FPS, so Doom and the
like do not factor in. I know that nVidia recommends the 6800, but
that is way outside my price range. Also, is the difference between
128 versus 256 discernable with the human eye? Am I just paying for a
number that I really can't tell the difference with?

Thank you for any help.

  #2  
Old October 22nd 05, 04:36 AM
Ramin
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is the Geforce 6200 256 Good for Age of Empires III?

Hello sir,

I did a quick search for you and I think you should be to enjoy the game:

http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=Njc0


Please note that, according to this article, the author was able to play
DOOM 3 just fine. But AOE III uses less resources than DOOM III and similar
games.


Hope you have a fast CPU though.

128 vs 256 when playing AOE III? Hmmm....not too sure...don't think it would
be noticeable.


Good luck



wrote in message
oups.com...
I was looking at this one from newegg.com:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150107

XFX PVT44AWAMG Geforce 6200 256MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Retail
Model #: PVT44AWAMG
Item #: N82E16814150107

I only have $100.00. I can wait and save, if I have to. I want the
best from my RTS games. Sorry, don't do a lot of FPS, so Doom and the
like do not factor in. I know that nVidia recommends the 6800, but
that is way outside my price range. Also, is the difference between
128 versus 256 discernable with the human eye? Am I just paying for a
number that I really can't tell the difference with?

Thank you for any help.



  #3  
Old October 22nd 05, 04:59 AM
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is the Geforce 6200 256 Good for Age of Empires III?

So you think the Geforce 6600 128 would be good or would that be like a
Geforce 6200 256? Thanks again.

  #4  
Old October 22nd 05, 10:07 AM
deimos
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is the Geforce 6200 256 Good for Age of Empires III?

wrote:
So you think the Geforce 6600 128 would be good or would that be like a
Geforce 6200 256? Thanks again.


Large amounts of RAM are a common marketing gimmick with low end cards.
They do not specifically benefit from it, nor will you be able to see
a difference between a 6200 128MB and 256MB version in most circumstances.

Also, the larger RAM sometimes is used to hide shortcomings with that
particular version. For example, a 64-bit bus instead of a 128, or
reduced clock speeds, or even the new "TurboCache" gimmick.

Chaintech even has a passively cooled 512MB 6200, but it has only a
64-bit bus! Completely stupid.

Further research on the XFX website shows that this particular card only
has a 64-bit bus. Here's the base model page:

http://www.xfxforce.com/web/product/...ation Id=1058

In fact in the quick search I just did, I only found one 128-bit 6200 in
your range:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127186

Now notice that you're getting to that 100.00 mark and over in order to
get a decent version of that card. So 70 for a 64-bit, 100 for a
128-bit. Not a very good deal eh? Well if you do feel like spending
roughly 100+, then you can look at 6600's which are a great value and
start at 113.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...m it=Property

Any of these will be far faster than a 6200 and are definitely worth
considering if you want a decent card. Otherwise, if you're going to
get a 64-bit, get the absolute cheapest one you can, forego the memory
size, but still ignore TurboCache.
  #5  
Old October 22nd 05, 07:23 PM
[email protected]
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is the Geforce 6200 256 Good for Age of Empires III?

Thank you. I spoke to some guy today and he said that because I had an
AMD 2500XP that I should get a 128 because my computer could not "fill
up" the 256 and it would cause my games to lag. Is that true? What is
he talking about?

Thanks again for being helpful.

  #6  
Old October 23rd 05, 01:33 AM
Alceryes
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is the Geforce 6200 256 Good for Age of Empires III?

wrote in message
ups.com...
Thank you. I spoke to some guy today and he said that because I had an
AMD 2500XP that I should get a 128 because my computer could not "fill
up" the 256 and it would cause my games to lag. Is that true? What is
he talking about?

Thanks again for being helpful.



Whether or not you will fill up your video RAM has nothing to do with what
type of processor you have. It's dependant largely on what resolution you
play at and what eye-candy settings you are using.
But to answer your question, no, your computer will not lag if it can't
"fill up" the 256. It will, however, lag if it fills up the 128 and needs
more (having to use some slower system memory). There is no downside to
getting the 256MB version (except cost).
--


"I don't cheat to survive. I cheat to LIVE!!"
- Alceryes



  #7  
Old October 23rd 05, 01:47 AM
Larry Roberts
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Is the Geforce 6200 256 Good for Age of Empires III?

On 21 Oct 2005 20:05:46 -0700, wrote:

I was looking at this one from newegg.com:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150107

XFX PVT44AWAMG Geforce 6200 256MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Retail
Model #: PVT44AWAMG
Item #: N82E16814150107

I only have $100.00. I can wait and save, if I have to. I want the
best from my RTS games. Sorry, don't do a lot of FPS, so Doom and the
like do not factor in. I know that nVidia recommends the 6800, but
that is way outside my price range. Also, is the difference between
128 versus 256 discernable with the human eye? Am I just paying for a
number that I really can't tell the difference with?

Thank you for any help.



You wanna be careful here. There are 64bit, and 128bit memory
bus versions of this card. You'll wanna stay clear of the 64bit as it
is half the performance of a full 128bit card. Of all the 128bit cards
I've seen, they usally have fans cause they would overheat running at
full speed, but there are 64bit cards with fans as well.
The only AGP 6200 with a` 128bit bus listed at Newegg is this
MSI for a $106.00.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814127186
This looks to be a 6200 based on the NV43 core which is the 6600's
core. You can unlock the 4 masked pipes, and have a 6600. Nvidia
replaced the 6200's NV43 core with an NV44A to lower the cost. Those
new cores come on 64bit memory buses, and have no masked pipes to
unlock.
However... If your gona try to unlock the extra pipes on a
NV43 based 6200 to score a 6600 like card, for $7.00 more you can get
a true 6600.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130232

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814164043

If you save an extra $50.00, you can get a 6600GT.
 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FA: ASUS Geforce 6200 128MB AGP Video Card Tarkus Nvidia Videocards 0 May 28th 05 01:31 AM
using a thermaltake crystal orb on geforce fx 5600 good idea? Ben Z Overclocking 0 July 21st 04 05:22 PM
Elsa Geforce 256 64 Megs AGP Any Good? [email protected] General 1 February 4th 04 06:06 PM
Is this a good buy? BFG GeForce FX 5900 for $175 including shipping? Atreju Homebuilt PC's 4 January 22nd 04 03:04 AM
Is GeForce FX 5600 Ultra good ? Jeffx Overclocking AMD Processors 8 July 21st 03 04:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.