A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Video Cards » Ati Videocards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Radeon 9600 overclocking question



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 10th 03, 05:17 PM
Kristijan Korazija
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default Radeon 9600 overclocking question

Well, I got this Hightech Excalibur R9600 (nonpro) and any utility I
use for OC, it has no effect on this card.

Actually, the freqs I set manually are holding only for 10 or less
seconds. WTF?

I tried Powerstrip, Rage3D Tweak, Radclocker... No use.

Is there any other way to overclock this card?

I know that Sapphire Atlantis 9600 i OC-able enough but can someone
send me BIOS image from this card? Maybe that would help, what do You
think?

--
Korky
--------------------------------
My garden is well -how is Yours?

  #2  
Old August 11th 03, 12:53 AM
PRS
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

What version of windows are you using?

Kristijan Korazija wrote:

Well, I got this Hightech Excalibur R9600 (nonpro) and any utility I
use for OC, it has no effect on this card.

Actually, the freqs I set manually are holding only for 10 or less
seconds. WTF?

I tried Powerstrip, Rage3D Tweak, Radclocker... No use.

Is there any other way to overclock this card?

I know that Sapphire Atlantis 9600 i OC-able enough but can someone
send me BIOS image from this card? Maybe that would help, what do You
think?


  #3  
Old August 11th 03, 02:25 PM
Kristijan Korazija
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Kristijan Korazija wrote:

Is there any other way to overclock this card?


Anyone? Please? :^\

--
Korky
--------------------------------
My garden is well -how is Yours?

  #4  
Old August 11th 03, 09:20 PM
Kristijan Korazija
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Kristijan Korazija wrote:

Is there any other way to overclock this card?


Anyone? Please? :^\


I can't belive it.

Am I the only person on this world who bought this Hightech
Excalibur Radeon 9600 card? :^) Actualy, the one that can't overclock
it.

--
Korky
--------------------------------
My garden is well -how is Yours?

  #5  
Old August 12th 03, 12:32 AM
patrickp
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Kristijan Korazija" wrote in message
...
Kristijan Korazija wrote:

Is there any other way to overclock this card?


Anyone? Please? :^\


I can't belive it.

Am I the only person on this world who bought this Hightech
Excalibur Radeon 9600 card? :^) Actualy, the one that can't overclock
it.

--
Korky
--------------------------------
My garden is well -how is Yours?


Korky, I haven't had any experience with your card or OEM, but, AIR from
reading through this group, cards like the 9600, which is built on the same
chip as the 9800 are likely to be fairly well protected against
overclocking, or everyone would buy them and run them as 9800s.

I'm not sure of this; but if you do some reading through the group, you may
find confirmation or otherwise.

HTH patrickp


  #6  
Old August 12th 03, 09:46 AM
Kristijan Korazija
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

patrickp wrote:

Korky, I haven't had any experience with your card or OEM, but, AIR from
reading through this group, cards like the 9600, which is built on the same
chip as the 9800 are likely to be fairly well protected against
overclocking, or everyone would buy them and run them as 9800s.


Nope, R9600 is not built on the same chip as R9800.

It's just some kind of replacement for low end cards such as R9500 &
R9500Pro and it uses a brand new 0.13 micron core with "only" 70 mil.
(or a bit more, not sure) transistors. This card can't be moded in any
of this high end models.

P.S.
How big is Redline utility from Sapphire? Is it small enough to send it
to mail? I can't find it on net.

Could someone send me this one on mail for me to try it? Address is
kristijan.korazija(at)inet.hr (please replace (at) with @).

--
Korky
--------------------------------
My garden is well -how is Yours?


  #7  
Old August 14th 03, 10:10 AM
Kristijan Korazija
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Kristijan Korazija wrote:

Is there any other way to overclock this card?


Anyone? Please? :^\


Well, if anybody wants to know, I found out that card can be
overclocked only if you use Catalyst versions lower that 3.5.

ATI has disabled OC-ing in new Catalysts for this R9600 nonpro cards.
:^( How lame.

--
Korky
--------------------------------
My garden is well -how is Yours?
  #9  
Old August 15th 03, 03:29 AM
mike
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It depends on the brand of card too. I have a connect 3d 9600 pro and
the omega drivers wouldn't work with it at all.


On Thu, 14 Aug 2003 08:20:20 -0500, "Strontium"
wrote:

Or, use the Omegas...

-
Kristijan Korazija stood up at show-n-tell, in , and said:

Kristijan Korazija wrote:

Is there any other way to overclock this card?

Anyone? Please? :^\


Well, if anybody wants to know, I found out that card can be
overclocked only if you use Catalyst versions lower that 3.5.

ATI has disabled OC-ing in new Catalysts for this R9600 nonpro
cards. :^( How lame.


  #10  
Old August 15th 03, 11:27 AM
Kristijan Korazija
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

mike wrote:

It depends on the brand of card too. I have a connect 3d 9600 pro and
the omega drivers wouldn't work with it at all.


They don't work with my card to. Hightech Excalibur Radeon 9600.

--
Korky
--------------------------------
My garden is well -how is Yours?


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon 9600 - compability issue Asus ?? Jorgen [2400/DK] Asus Motherboards 3 December 2nd 04 08:01 PM
A7V8X-Deluxe & Radeon 9600 Pro JadeTalisman Homebuilt PC's 1 July 29th 03 08:53 PM
Overclocking Radeon 9800 Pro? Ulf Stahl Ati Videocards 1 July 22nd 03 01:46 PM
Radeon 9600 Pro ruby Ati Videocards 1 June 30th 03 03:58 AM
Radeon 9600 or 9600 Pro ? Marshalls Ati Videocards 0 June 22nd 03 11:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.