A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » Motherboards » Asus Motherboards
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

A8N-SLI and BFG GF 6800 GT OC -NVIDIA System Sentinel power warning



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 31st 05, 01:07 PM
n0sp4m
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default A8N-SLI and BFG GF 6800 GT OC -NVIDIA System Sentinel power warning

Hello,

I have just built a new system using the following new parts:

Asus A8N-SLI (PCIe) [BIOS 1003]
BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC PCIe (NVIDIA GE 6800 Series GPU driver 6.6.9.3)
1gb Corsair RAM
Ultra X-Connect 500w PS (12vdc - 34amps)
2 - Sata hdd (Samsung, 160gb ea)
1 - Pioneer DVD Writer drive

I am getting a message (attached) that the "..NVIDIA System Sentinel is
reporting that the NVIDIA-powered graphics card is not receiving sufficient
power". I know that is not true unless the dongle or its recepticle is
faulty (I already swapped PS). Do you have a command line method to read the
voltage being supplied to the video card?

I have built many PC's so I think I need help with this one. I am going to
see if there are newer NVIDIA drivers on your site. Have you heard of this
message and power NOT being the cause?

Thank you,
David


  #2  
Old January 31st 05, 01:31 PM
BananaOfTheNight
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I am getting a message (attached) that the "..NVIDIA System Sentinel is
reporting that the NVIDIA-powered graphics card is not receiving sufficient
power". I know that is not true unless the dongle or its recepticle is
faulty (I already swapped PS). Do you have a command line method to read the
voltage being supplied to the video card?


Ugh... I had this with my Asus FX 5900XT. I use a huge-arse Antec
TruePower 550W (though I do have to use Y-splitters as there are just
not enough plugs...), so the supplied power is probably not the problem.
I think that I burned out my graphics card in overclocking it, as if I
stick it just 1 MHz above factory, then I get this message too.

As for monitoring the voltage, get RivaTuner at
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163 and have a little play
around. In the 'main' tab, click on the button below the first drop-down
box and click the icon that is a microchip with a magnifying glass held
over it (called 'hardware monitoring'). Voila.
  #3  
Old January 31st 05, 03:16 PM
no0ne
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No OC on mine, straight out of the box and I have this issue. I have
seperate power runs to the two connectors on the video card dongle. I'll try
the utility you mentioned after I check continuity of the power dongle and
video card pins.

Thanks,
David

"BananaOfTheNight" wrote in
message ...
I am getting a message (attached) that the "..NVIDIA System Sentinel is
reporting that the NVIDIA-powered graphics card is not receiving
sufficient power". I know that is not true unless the dongle or its
recepticle is faulty (I already swapped PS). Do you have a command line
method to read the voltage being supplied to the video card?


Ugh... I had this with my Asus FX 5900XT. I use a huge-arse Antec
TruePower 550W (though I do have to use Y-splitters as there are just not
enough plugs...), so the supplied power is probably not the problem. I
think that I burned out my graphics card in overclocking it, as if I stick
it just 1 MHz above factory, then I get this message too.

As for monitoring the voltage, get RivaTuner at
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=163 and have a little play
around. In the 'main' tab, click on the button below the first drop-down
box and click the icon that is a microchip with a magnifying glass held
over it (called 'hardware monitoring'). Voila.



  #4  
Old February 1st 05, 03:10 AM
n0sp4m
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It was a bad dongle.

David

"n0sp4m" wrote in message
news:[email protected]
Hello,

I have just built a new system using the following new parts:

Asus A8N-SLI (PCIe) [BIOS 1003]
BFG GeForce 6800 GT OC PCIe (NVIDIA GE 6800 Series GPU driver 6.6.9.3)
1gb Corsair RAM
Ultra X-Connect 500w PS (12vdc - 34amps)
2 - Sata hdd (Samsung, 160gb ea)
1 - Pioneer DVD Writer drive

I am getting a message (attached) that the "..NVIDIA System Sentinel is
reporting that the NVIDIA-powered graphics card is not receiving
sufficient power". I know that is not true unless the dongle or its
recepticle is faulty (I already swapped PS). Do you have a command line
method to read the voltage being supplied to the video card?

I have built many PC's so I think I need help with this one. I am going to
see if there are newer NVIDIA drivers on your site. Have you heard of this
message and power NOT being the cause?

Thank you,
David



  #5  
Old February 3rd 05, 03:04 AM
Dark Helmet
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It was a bad dongle.

David


Yeah, the older you get, the more often that happens :-)

Dark Helmet


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.