A computer components & hardware forum. HardwareBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » HardwareBanter forum » General Hardware & Peripherals » General
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

PCI RAID controller?



 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 7th 03, 07:03 AM
@drian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default PCI RAID controller?

Can anyone recommend a reliable, quick and feature-packed PCI RAID
controller for use with a pair of WD Raptor (WD360GD) drives? I cannot get
my Raptors to boot to Windows XP using a RAID 0 array with the ICH5-R on an
Intel 875PBZ motherboard.

Considering it refuses to boot the O.S., I've resorted to trying a PCI RAID
card instead. Using the M/B RAID controller, I get the message "A Disk
Error has Occurred, Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to Restart". I've tried the XP
recovery console FIXBOOT & FIXMBR, all to no avail.

Thank you.

@drian.



  #2  
Old November 7th 03, 04:06 PM
Wayne Morgan
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Try the Adaptec 1210SA or 2410SA. The 2410SA will do RAID 5 as well.

--
Wayne Morgan
Microsoft Access MVP


"@drian" wrote in message
...
Can anyone recommend a reliable, quick and feature-packed PCI RAID
controller for use with a pair of WD Raptor (WD360GD) drives? I cannot get
my Raptors to boot to Windows XP using a RAID 0 array with the ICH5-R on an
Intel 875PBZ motherboard.

Considering it refuses to boot the O.S., I've resorted to trying a PCI RAID
card instead. Using the M/B RAID controller, I get the message "A Disk
Error has Occurred, Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to Restart". I've tried the XP
recovery console FIXBOOT & FIXMBR, all to no avail.

Thank you.

@drian.





  #3  
Old November 7th 03, 08:19 PM
@drian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Wayne Morgan" wrote in message
. com...
Try the Adaptec 1210SA or 2410SA. The 2410SA will do RAID 5 as well.


Funny you mention that Wayne, I just found the Adaptec 1210SA 25 minutes
ago! I like the look of it, plus, it has Linux support if I decide to
dualboot with Red Hat.

Many thanks.

@drian.


  #4  
Old November 8th 03, 02:54 PM
Loan Shark
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You're problem is probably not the onboard RAID controller, but the XP
drivers. Check out Intel's website for XP drivers for the RAID chipset on
your motherboard. Then when booting from the XP install disk, press "F6" to
indicate that you need to install other device drivers for a SCSI or RAID
device.

"@drian" wrote in message
...
Can anyone recommend a reliable, quick and feature-packed PCI RAID
controller for use with a pair of WD Raptor (WD360GD) drives? I cannot

get
my Raptors to boot to Windows XP using a RAID 0 array with the ICH5-R on

an
Intel 875PBZ motherboard.

Considering it refuses to boot the O.S., I've resorted to trying a PCI

RAID
card instead. Using the M/B RAID controller, I get the message "A Disk
Error has Occurred, Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to Restart". I've tried the XP
recovery console FIXBOOT & FIXMBR, all to no avail.

Thank you.

@drian.





  #5  
Old November 10th 03, 12:30 AM
@drian
external usenet poster
 
Posts: n/a
Default

"Loan Shark" NOSPAM wrote in message
...
You're problem is probably not the onboard RAID controller, but the XP
drivers. Check out Intel's website for XP drivers for the RAID chipset on
your motherboard. Then when booting from the XP install disk, press "F6"

to
indicate that you need to install other device drivers for a SCSI or RAID
device.


I have pressed F6 to install the Intel RAID drivers from floppy disk.

Two items point to a problem with the Intel RAID controller, by that I mean:

(a) Tried an Adaptec PCI card in RAID 0, it worked. Using the Intel RAID
controller for RAID 0, failed. This is following the exact same procedure
for installing XP on both occasions

(b) When using the Intel RAID controller, in RAID 1 mode, I noticed that
Port 0 on the M/B reported "Error Occurrd", evet after a brief first part
install of Windows XP. Granted, this is RAID 1, but still, its an error
I've never seen before, and even after switching cables going into the M/B,
the error still exists on Port 0 on the M/B

@drian.


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding ATA 133 Controller Card Michael L. Coleman General 4 September 21st 03 07:20 AM
Exceed mobo maximum HD size with RAID? kony General 1 July 21st 03 05:32 AM
help. ga-7vrxp raid trouble, compatability and warning todd elliott General 0 July 17th 03 06:50 PM
What is a RAID controller? Rich General 3 July 16th 03 03:47 AM
Install Problems with an Adaptec 2400a RAID Controller! Starz_Kid General 1 June 24th 03 03:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2022 HardwareBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.