HardwareBanter

HardwareBanter (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/index.php)
-   Nvidia Videocards (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Inno3D fx5200 not impressing me. Problem? (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/showthread.php?t=49766)

Ben Brandwood July 16th 03 10:39 PM

Inno3D fx5200 not impressing me. Problem?
 
I decided that seeing as I was getting the upgrade to Neverwinter nights,
I may as well upgrade my vid card. So I binned my GeForce2 MX400 (32mb)
and replaced it with a GeForce FX 5200 (128mb).

However NWN sucks badly now. I'm stuck in 800x600 with no AA on if I want
anything close to 25fps. If I wanted a compromise, of say 1024x768 and
2bit AA, then the game slows down to about 6 - 9 fps, that's with
settings on Medium.
So to be fair, I'm running at exactly the same settings as I did with my
GF2MX400

I really think it should be able to handle more, maybe a OpenGL issue?
I'm using the latest drivers 44.03, and the newest VIA 4-in-1 as well..

Oh and the benchmark on 3DMark03 is 948, while online tests suggest I
should be getting about 1300..

http://www.ivmm.com/inno3d/geforcefx...0_systems.html
seems to suggest that it has the 128bit bus, and not the 64bit.

Any ideas?



Ben
--
Spec:
Abit KT7A 4x AGP
Athlon 1600+
384mb ram
Inno3D GeForce Tornado FX 5200
60Gb HD
20 GB HD
DVD Rom
WinXP/SP1 (all critical updates)
Soundblaster Live!

FX July 17th 03 12:03 AM

On 16 Jul 2003 21:39:47 GMT, Ben Brandwood wrote:

-I decided that seeing as I was getting the upgrade to Neverwinter nights,
-I may as well upgrade my vid card. So I binned my GeForce2 MX400 (32mb)
-and replaced it with a GeForce FX 5200 (128mb).
-
-However NWN sucks badly now. I'm stuck in 800x600 with no AA on if I want
-anything close to 25fps. If I wanted a compromise, of say 1024x768 and
-2bit AA, then the game slows down to about 6 - 9 fps, that's with
-settings on Medium.
-So to be fair, I'm running at exactly the same settings as I did with my
-GF2MX400
-
-I really think it should be able to handle more, maybe a OpenGL issue?
-I'm using the latest drivers 44.03, and the newest VIA 4-in-1 as well..
-
-Oh and the benchmark on 3DMark03 is 948, while online tests suggest I
-should be getting about 1300..
-
-http://www.ivmm.com/inno3d/geforcefx/products_gf_fx_5200_systems.html
-seems to suggest that it has the 128bit bus, and not the 64bit.
-
-Any ideas?
-
-
-
-Ben


hi, i see that your video card as a ramdac of 350mghz vs other fx5200 that
possed 400mghz.

But it should'nt be the reason of your low performence in the game, maybe
it just with this game NWN that your VC performe badly ex: GTA vice city
add some video rendering issue. now with the new diver it seem to be an
old problem.

plus getting almost 1000 at 3dmark 03 is good, why i'm i thinking that...
i get around 700 + with mind and all my game run smooooothly.

Larry Roberts July 17th 03 01:20 AM

On 16 Jul 2003 21:39:47 GMT, Ben Brandwood wrote:

I decided that seeing as I was getting the upgrade to Neverwinter nights,
I may as well upgrade my vid card. So I binned my GeForce2 MX400 (32mb)
and replaced it with a GeForce FX 5200 (128mb).

However NWN sucks badly now. I'm stuck in 800x600 with no AA on if I want
anything close to 25fps. If I wanted a compromise, of say 1024x768 and
2bit AA, then the game slows down to about 6 - 9 fps, that's with
settings on Medium.
So to be fair, I'm running at exactly the same settings as I did with my
GF2MX400

I really think it should be able to handle more, maybe a OpenGL issue?
I'm using the latest drivers 44.03, and the newest VIA 4-in-1 as well..

Oh and the benchmark on 3DMark03 is 948, while online tests suggest I
should be getting about 1300..

http://www.ivmm.com/inno3d/geforcefx...0_systems.html
seems to suggest that it has the 128bit bus, and not the 64bit.

Any ideas?



Ben


Do you have a 128bit memory bus version, or the crappy 64bit
version (not talking about amount of video memory here)? The card
should perform as well as a stock GF3 Ti200 as long as it has the
128bit memory bus. I have a GF3 Ti200 on an Athlon XP 1900+ system,
and get 922 in 3DMark 03. Not sure if the GF3 would be penalized for
non DX9 support, so maybe the FX5200 should have a higher score than
this.


Ben Brandwood July 17th 03 01:22 AM

Cheers for that..

I think it could be a problem with NWN, as things like Serious Sam, and
Commanche 4, don't seem to be struggling all that much at 1024 with full
detail etc. Infact they cope quite well..

Hmmm, back to bioware I suppose..

As for the 350mhz rather than the 400mhz ramdac, is that indicative of
the smaller bandwith (though I'm not sure it is), and is that likely to
dent my performance that badly? Hey I'm only on 4x AGP anyway. so

Ben


FX wrote in
:



hi, i see that your video card as a ramdac of 350mghz vs other fx5200
that possed 400mghz.

But it should'nt be the reason of your low performence in the game,
maybe it just with this game NWN that your VC performe badly ex: GTA
vice city add some video rendering issue. now with the new diver it
seem to be an old problem.

plus getting almost 1000 at 3dmark 03 is good, why i'm i thinking
that... i get around 700 + with mind and all my game run smooooothly.



Bratboy July 17th 03 01:49 PM


"Larry Roberts" wrote in message
...

Do you have a 128bit memory bus version, or the crappy 64bit
version (not talking about amount of video memory here)? The card
should perform as well as a stock GF3 Ti200 as long as it has the
128bit memory bus. I have a GF3 Ti200 on an Athlon XP 1900+ system,
and get 922 in 3DMark 03. Not sure if the GF3 would be penalized for
non DX9 support, so maybe the FX5200 should have a higher score than
this.


That was my thought as well. Try to confirm which mem control its using. If
its the 64 bit you should take it back and insert it sideways into the
salesperson who sold it to you as its about the only real statisfation you
will get from a fx5200 with 64bit path.



Dave July 17th 03 05:26 PM

The reduced ramdac speed only affects 2D. Should have no bearing on game
speed. For 3D speed look at number of pipes, gpu core clock and video ram
clock.
Dave

"Ben Brandwood" wrote in message
...
Cheers for that..

I think it could be a problem with NWN, as things like Serious Sam, and
Commanche 4, don't seem to be struggling all that much at 1024 with full
detail etc. Infact they cope quite well..

Hmmm, back to bioware I suppose..

As for the 350mhz rather than the 400mhz ramdac, is that indicative of
the smaller bandwith (though I'm not sure it is), and is that likely to
dent my performance that badly? Hey I'm only on 4x AGP anyway. so

Ben


FX wrote in
:



hi, i see that your video card as a ramdac of 350mghz vs other fx5200
that possed 400mghz.

But it should'nt be the reason of your low performence in the game,
maybe it just with this game NWN that your VC performe badly ex: GTA
vice city add some video rendering issue. now with the new diver it
seem to be an old problem.

plus getting almost 1000 at 3dmark 03 is good, why i'm i thinking
that... i get around 700 + with mind and all my game run smooooothly.





Slipstream3D July 17th 03 11:52 PM

Your RAMDAC is for converting the digital signal back to analogue for your
monitor, so it works in 2d and 3d... it just affects the resolutions and
refresh rates the video card is capable of outputting.

"Dave" wrote in message
...
The reduced ramdac speed only affects 2D. Should have no bearing on game
speed. For 3D speed look at number of pipes, gpu core clock and video

ram
clock.
Dave

"Ben Brandwood" wrote in message
...
Cheers for that..

I think it could be a problem with NWN, as things like Serious Sam, and
Commanche 4, don't seem to be struggling all that much at 1024 with full
detail etc. Infact they cope quite well..

Hmmm, back to bioware I suppose..

As for the 350mhz rather than the 400mhz ramdac, is that indicative of
the smaller bandwith (though I'm not sure it is), and is that likely to
dent my performance that badly? Hey I'm only on 4x AGP anyway. so

Ben


FX wrote in
:



hi, i see that your video card as a ramdac of 350mghz vs other fx5200
that possed 400mghz.

But it should'nt be the reason of your low performence in the game,
maybe it just with this game NWN that your VC performe badly ex: GTA
vice city add some video rendering issue. now with the new diver it
seem to be an old problem.

plus getting almost 1000 at 3dmark 03 is good, why i'm i thinking
that... i get around 700 + with mind and all my game run smooooothly.







FX July 18th 03 12:02 AM

On 16 Jul 2003 21:39:47 GMT, Ben Brandwood wrote:

-I decided that seeing as I was getting the upgrade to Neverwinter nights,
-I may as well upgrade my vid card. So I binned my GeForce2 MX400 (32mb)
-and replaced it with a GeForce FX 5200 (128mb).


-Oh and the benchmark on 3DMark03 is 948, while online tests suggest I
-should be getting about 1300..
-
-http://www.ivmm.com/inno3d/geforcefx/products_gf_fx_5200_systems.html

I did some research on the 3dmark01 result and it show that score depend
on what mobo your are running your VC. most of the bench you will found on
futuremark web site will be score with VC overclocked, plus be carefull
when jugging your score with authers because most of the high score like
9000 and plus on 3dmark01 as only a few test run ( like the 5 first demo)
the rest it not shown so i figure that those videocard have been damage
and can't no longer do all the test.

Get your self a good mobo specialise in media and it should do the thing.



http://www.ivmm.com/review/inno3d/bo...fx_5200_6.html
http://www.ivmm.com/review/inno3d/pc...fx_5200_4.html
http://www.ivmm.com/review/inno3d/ha...fx_5200_1.html
http://www.ivmm.com/review/inno3d/ov...fx_5200_3.html maybe
this one goes to 1460 at 3dmark03 but like i said it depend on the mobo.
http://www.ivmm.com/review/inno3d/ha...fx_5200_3.html


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HardwareBanter.com