HardwareBanter

HardwareBanter (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/index.php)
-   Homebuilt PC's (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/forumdisplay.php?f=36)
-   -   BIOS overclock = WinXP blue screen of death. Help! (http://www.hardwarebanter.com/showthread.php?t=15286)

Mitchua August 2nd 03 08:08 AM

BIOS overclock = WinXP blue screen of death. Help!
 
When I overclock my AMD1800+XP a bit, I get the Windows XP blue screen when
I boot up. I'm pretty sure all it is detecting is a system upgrade (if I
had overclocked too much, the computer wouldn't make it that far, right?),
and wants to reinstall/repair Windows XP. Is there any way to disable this
screen so I don't have to repair my Windows installation (which would lose
my SP1 update....I think)?

Thanks for your help.
--Mitchua



rochyy August 2nd 03 01:12 PM

Instead of over clocking - why dont you buy a bigger processor????
"Mitchua" wrote in message
le.rogers.com...
When I overclock my AMD1800+XP a bit, I get the Windows XP blue screen

when
I boot up. I'm pretty sure all it is detecting is a system upgrade (if I
had overclocked too much, the computer wouldn't make it that far, right?),
and wants to reinstall/repair Windows XP. Is there any way to disable

this
screen so I don't have to repair my Windows installation (which would lose
my SP1 update....I think)?

Thanks for your help.
--Mitchua





Mitchua August 2nd 03 06:34 PM


"BUFF" wrote in message
...

"Mitchua" wrote in message
.rogers.com...
"rochyy" wrote in message
...
Instead of over clocking - why dont you buy a bigger processor????


I doubt I'd see any preformance difference between my 1800+ and a 2200+
(which I think is the fastest chip I can use on my Asus A7V266-E mobo).

If
I wanted to spend money, I'd upgrade my ATI Radeon 700 64MB to a GF4

4200ti,
that I'd notice :-)

--Mitchua


With the latest BIOS you can run an XP2600+ 266FSB chip in an A7V266-E if
you can find one.


Good to know. Thanks.

I upgraded from an XP1800+ to an XP2400+ (couldn't find an XP2600+ 266FSB
chip) & by changing multipliers it is now happily running at 2.3Ghz -
effectively something over an XP2800+.


Did you really notice that much of a difference in preformance?


Is your XP1800+ a Palomino, Thoroughbred "A" or "B"?


Palomino.

The A7V266-E is not a good FSB overclocker (usually about 145 max) but if
you have a Thoroughbred "B" you can probably adjust the multiplier (have

to
move the Palo freq jumper back to Athlon/Duron) without any surgery to the
chip. Otherwise you will have to unlock the chip.


It was booting into WinXP "stable" at 11.5 mult,148 fsb,1.85volt (~1701mhz)
but I'd be downloading something and then BANG blue screen of death. I
assume that was OC'ed too high (right?). Anyhow, I settled on 1.80volt,
11.5 mult, 138 fsh = 1621MHz and it seems to be running stable. Should I
try to OC it any more?

SNIP




BUFF August 2nd 03 06:50 PM


"Mitchua" wrote in message
e.rogers.com...


I upgraded from an XP1800+ to an XP2400+ (couldn't find an XP2600+

266FSB
chip) & by changing multipliers it is now happily running at 2.3Ghz -
effectively something over an XP2800+.


Did you really notice that much of a difference in preformance?

With a 50% jump in clockspeed -in 2D no, in games yes, but that PC runs an
unlocked ATI 9500 Pro & the CPU was the bottleneck.

Is your XP1800+ a Palomino, Thoroughbred "A" or "B"?


Palomino.


Not a lot you can do then unless you fancy some surgery.


The A7V266-E is not a good FSB overclocker (usually about 145 max) but

if
you have a Thoroughbred "B" you can probably adjust the multiplier (have

to
move the Palo freq jumper back to Athlon/Duron) without any surgery to

the
chip. Otherwise you will have to unlock the chip.


It was booting into WinXP "stable" at 11.5 mult,148 fsb,1.85volt

(~1701mhz)
but I'd be downloading something and then BANG blue screen of death. I
assume that was OC'ed too high (right?). Anyhow, I settled on 1.80volt,
11.5 mult, 138 fsh = 1621MHz and it seems to be running stable. Should I
try to OC it any more?

SNIP



As I said usually about 145 is the max so you were doing pretty well at 148.
A Palomino & an A7V266-E are just not a great overclocking platform (very
stable everyday rig though).



mchiper October 7th 03 02:21 PM


In alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt, Msg ID:
"BUFF" , wrote:

But No matter what he does,
It's winxp death.. Am I right?


"Mitchua" wrote in message
e.rogers.com...
"rochyy" wrote in message
...
Instead of over clocking - why dont you buy a bigger processor????


I doubt I'd see any preformance difference between my 1800+ and a 2200+
(which I think is the fastest chip I can use on my Asus A7V266-E mobo).

If
I wanted to spend money, I'd upgrade my ATI Radeon 700 64MB to a GF4

4200ti,
that I'd notice :-)

--Mitchua


With the latest BIOS you can run an XP2600+ 266FSB chip in an A7V266-E if
you can find one.
I upgraded from an XP1800+ to an XP2400+ (couldn't find an XP2600+ 266FSB
chip) & by changing multipliers it is now happily running at 2.3Ghz -
effectively something over an XP2800+.

Is your XP1800+ a Palomino, Thoroughbred "A" or "B"?
The A7V266-E is not a good FSB overclocker (usually about 145 max) but if
you have a Thoroughbred "B" you can probably adjust the multiplier (have to
move the Palo freq jumper back to Athlon/Duron) without any surgery to the
chip. Otherwise you will have to unlock the chip.

& PC's will boot into BIOS at speeds that they can't run Windows at so it
probably isn't just detecting the upgrade.


--
Ray


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HardwareBanter.com